Customs and Traditions

in Hive Learners2 years ago

13E53A0A-AB71-42DD-BA2E-04347B70C73E.jpeg
Unsplash

Earlier today, I had gone to get some groceries when I noticed some people running towards my direction, I had no idea what was chasing them or what they were running from but one look towards the direction they were coming from and I knew what it was, they were being chased by masquerades.

Customs and Traditions they say play a huge role in the life of an average Nigerian man but I feel some of this customs and traditions shouldn’t even be in existence in a modern world like this. The reason why the people were running was because the masquerade had a whip with him that he uses to flog anyone close to him and there was nothing anyone could do about it.

The thought of that made me wonder how the idea of “whatever is done under the guise of custom and tradition is right” was sold to us and we just bought it.

I had once talked about how a king had died in an area where I once lived and my dad, along with other parents had to go pick up their kids from school before closing hours just because they were told that seven heads were needed to bury the king due to the customs and traditions of that land. Not even one of the parents opposed them, they just made sure that their families were saved while they cared less about whoever it was that was going to be killed to bury the king.

Another bizarre custom and tradition is the washing of a dead woman’s husband body and giving it to the woman to drink, all in a bid to prove that she had nothing to do with her husbands death. I had thought this only happened in Nigerian movies but as I grew, I came to understand that this also happens in real life and no one (not even the government) was doing anything about it.

Things like this should not even be heard of and the government along with everyone of us has to put an end to it.

Sort:  

I don't know why people follow those custom and traditions which have no logic. They don't understand why they are performing these things. They only know that this thing is doing from long time.
We should only follow logical thing which are in favor of human beings.
Stay blessed.

 2 years ago  

True. Most of them only do this things because they met people before them (their forefathers) doing it.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hi, my post has not been verified. is there an error with my post