How it all Started

in Hive Learners2 years ago

They say the journey of a thousand miles begins with a step and that was exactly the same thing that happened to me when I became a writer.

unsplash_526360a842e20_1.jpeg
Unsplash

You see the whole thing started when I registered on Nairaland (a platform for writers). I had registered not because I had any intentions to write but because I wanted to be able to make comments after reading some very good stories.

One of my favorite writers then was a guy known as Larrysun because of his very good suspenseful stories. Larry was so good that he was given the title of a legend on the platform. One day, I was trying to check if Larry had added any updates on his latest story when I saw a post from him. Larry had asked us to write down our whatsapp numbers if we were Interested in joining his whatsapp group and I did.

Again, when I wrote down my number, I had no intentions of becoming a writer, I just wanted to be close to my favorite writer and also I felt becoming a member of his personal whatsapp group would give me more access to more of his stories and it did, but it did more than that.

As time went on, Larry started encouraging everyone to write by adding cash prizes to any writing competition he hosted on the group and if there was something that would make me want to try something new, it's money. So I started writing, even though most of the things I wrote were trash. I remember back then I was finding it really hard to differentiate between "being and been" the group had helped me solved that mystery.

Fast forward to about a year later, one of the members of that group read about hive (then Steem) online and had come to Larry's group to ask if we knew anything about it, that's right, my journey here probably wouldn't have been possible if I hadn't joined Larry's group. We all told him that this was the first time we were hearing of something like this and just like money motivated me to start writing, the same money motivated me to join hive and trust me when I say this, it was one of the best decisions I made back then.

Sort:  

Very interesting start of you as a writer. Thanks for sharing with community.

 2 years ago  

Thank you for reading.

 2 years ago  

Cheers chief..you write beautifully and that's great

 2 years ago  

Thanks man.

Congratulations @prayzz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

just curious
Did u ever win any of the prices from the group ?☺️