Saturday Sanitation

in Hive Learners2 years ago

photo-1569437061238-3cf61084f487.jpeg
Unsplash

So it was another Saturday morning and the guys were out of their rooms trying to clean the whole environment, every Saturday was for sanitation and seeing how I was recently appointed the head of sanitation at the hostel where I live, I had to oversee the whole thing personally.

At my hostel, we have this rule where the ladies get to sweep the whole place while the guys have to carry all of the dirt to a faraway dump site to dump it there. We were on our way to the dump site when one of guys asked a question that obviously has been bothering him.

He wanted to know why the ladies were given the easy task of just sweeping and we the guys had to go through all the trouble of walking the long distance just to throw the dirt away. "If everyone believed in equality, then why are the ladies not there with them" He had asked. The conversation as expected was a one sided one as everyone there was a guy and no one was obviously going to take sides with the girls.

But the whole conversation really got me wondering, do girls really want hundred percent equality or they only want to be favoured in some cases. Because I really don't see things working out real fine for them if we all decided to go with the whole equality thing. But then again, this is a one sided view and someone out there might have a completely different opinion which is understandable, I honestly would love to hear those opinions below.

Sort:  

Hello, we have chosen this post to be curated by MCGI Cares(Hive) community. We are inviting you to join our community that study the words of God.

BES-MCGI-Cares-Banner-Web-ver01-1024x827-1.jpg

 2 years ago  

When I started reading your post what came to my mind was that, the boys are always lucky they don't have to do the hard part of the work, but when I read to the part when your friend was complaining, I was like whaaat?😳😳

Well firstly I believe that sweeping is a ladies job.

And secondly if I give your friend a broom to sweep, I am 99% sure that he will not last 10mint in it, I believe that he can not bend for a long time to sweep a large compound like the school doom he will definitely prefer to go dump the trash.

I also see no hard thing in walking a long distance when you are with a group of friends, because you won't even feel a thing, you will be gisting and before you know it you are already done with your work.
So I still think that in this case the guys were given the easiest part.