Customer can be annoying but never wrong

in Hive Learnerslast year

I have been working in Customer Service department for past six years and as far as I remember, yes, I have definitely met some horrible, angry and annoyed customers but still I believe that customer can never be wrong. The phrase is rightly said and made to have a strong business approach that customer is always right.

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Myself as a customer, I always prefer and recommend those products and services where I get more customization and privileges, where importance is given to the customers. In this era, most of the business focus on customer satisfaction and providing their best through customer services. I would like to share one story of mine as a customer. Me and my father were in a big department store to buy groceries and essentials for the whole month. It was all crowded and we were unable to handle the trolley so we took 2 baskets. You can say that whole trolley material was divided into two baskets. Our baskets were full loaded. Now, we headed to the checkout counter.

Image by Richard Duijnstee from Pixabay

I saw a separate counter for basket people. One of their representative told me to go to basket counter as it was not much crowded. When our turn came, the counter person make faces and said this much stuff is of trolley and you should be in trolley counter. I politely said that we were asked to check out here by one of your representative. He then rudely started talking and said they do not know this counter is limited for 10 items per basket only. Now, I was out of my mind and my patience level was over. I started yelling and said where is that written? How could you talk to a customer like that? I am paying you but begging for these items. I was like out of control just because of that behavior from counter guy. He started taking my stuff but I was not OK with that. I asked for the floor manager. The guard also rush to me as if I am a thief there. I told the whole story to the floor manager and asked to train these guys or else they will ruin your business. At least they do know how to talk to the customers. Even if I am wrong, they need to talk politely and with lots of patience. Floor manager acknowledged and asked me to calm down. I told them to make sure he didn’t get terminated but instead make him understand the basic knowledge of handling customers. I also told them to make a notice of 10 items per basket so that customers can clearly see the message and act accordingly.

Image by Burhan Khawaja from Pixabay

In this situation, counter guy could be right but as a customer, I am always right. This needs to understand by the front team that customer is never wrong, they are just unaware of the policies, terms and conditions of the products or services they bought so, it’s the responsibility of front end team or after sales i.e. customer service department to handle them properly and answer their questions even if they look dumb, annoying or foolish questions. It’s their right to get satisfied after buying or paying for the services. Or even if they didn’t buy anything, they have right to ask and get satisfied before buying.

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

I have handled so many cases and so many angry customers but I won’t say they were wrong, there were people who were stubborn and not ready to listen but the back story makes them act like this. As the one offering the services, we should always be patient enough to deal any type of customer in a polite way. To put customer on a right direction, it is necessary to have full product knowledge and people who are on front and do not have full product knowledge used to blame customers and say they are wrong. Whatever I have said and shared in this post is based on my experience and my personal views and opinions regarding customer satisfaction which could differ from others. I hope i was clear in sharing my views. Cheers!!!

Sort:  
 last year (edited) 

@rosecane , reading your blog has calmed my anger. This morning at the office I had a discussion with my boss about some of the same clients and I was adamant that not every customer is right. But reading your blog makes me feel that we should find a way to deal with difficult customers.

 last year  

hahaha I always feel pleasure in handling such customers which others say they are difficult to handle because they make me feel good to know that I have so much knowledge of my product, and ability to make others understand the way we work or how business is done in my field. Customer is unaware of insiders so it is our responsibility to make him understand accordingly.
Thank you BHAIJAN for reading my article!!!

 last year  

I don't know how to deal with snarky customers who criticize unnecessarily. You have this quality of excellence that I don't have at all.

 last year  

it is just about building some listening skills, criticizing won't stop until you gave them satisfying answer and in order to do so, you just need to reach to that actual pain point of customer. In fact, just think of yourself as a customer on his position and act accordingly. I am sure you can handle any customer with your words and smile :) you do have some extra invisible powers hahahaha

 last year  

One of the hardest parts of my job is dealing with customers who criticize unnecessarily. Its frustrating, and it make me feel like there is nothing I can do to make the customer happy. But you taught me today, like many other things in life, there are ways to get better at handling criticism from customers.

 last year  

Hmm... This is actually enlightening. Looking at it from your point of view, it makes sense. Customers must of the time have no ideas about policies, and it is up to the staff to tell them. It is just not right to assume the customer will know everything, or even all customers will be smart and think the same way.

The customer might be right in this scenario.

Thank you for sharing this with us.

 last year  

@bruno-kema Thank you for reading my article!!!