A Reminder That Good Things Can Happen

in Hive Learners18 days ago

So I have come to tell you all about an event two days ago. I have been thinking about how I would structure the post to tell you all what happened, which was a little surprising but before going straight into the main gist, let me build up the story for you guys.

reminder.jpg

As you all know, the apartment I stayed in has been very problematic, and if you are just knowing or it is your first time, you really do not know how much frustration I have received from my apartment. I have bartered so many times about leaving my place to a new place but I have not left. In fact, I had already paid for two different apartments before collecting my money back because I was too afraid of leaving this place to see another set of shege (challenges) in those places. At the end, I ended up spending the money I planned to use on moving to a new apartment.

Recently, the problem I have been facing is the issue of electricity. While everyone has light, there is no electricity at my place. So I have been running on gas very well, even with how expensive gas is at the moment.

But recently I have been broke very rich to afford to power my generator with gas so I started thinking of places I could visit that have lights so that I would be able to charge my phones and, most especially, do some work that needs to be done on my laptop.

So I went to visit my friend, who lived two estates away. Before leaving, I confirmed if there was light and he told me yes, but when I got there, there was no electricity and I asked what happened. He told me that they took the light immediately after we made the call. It was so painful, as I had already planned what I would do with the electricity.

That was the moment I received a call from a friend that visited me that there was light in my hostel and the general hostel generator was ON. I felt like going back home at that moment but I had already told my friend I would be staying the night at his place. I didn't want it to feel as if I only visited him because I was interested in the electricity alone.


My visit ended up being fun...


Although my friend was preparing for exams the next day, we had some time talking about how things have been with us because it had been a little while we talked, so we used the opportunity to catch up, then I left him to prepare for the exams after we had chatted for a while.

I was able to enjoy my stay at his place as he served me "jollof rice and egg" for dinner and I bought Chivita active to step it down. The next thing I did was take a nap, as I was tired of waiting for electricity to be brought back.

Luckily, they brought the light but it was already mid-night because of the numerous things I had to do. I stayed up till 3am before going to bed.


The next morning, something surprising happened...


When I woke up and was ready to leave for my place, I was surprised by the fact that I was served "corn flakes" to eat before leaving. The surprising thing was that I had not eaten cornflakes in almost 2 years or more and it was the first time in a very long, non-existing time that a student offered me corn flakes to eat instead of the regular garri.

Garri is the only cereal that I know most student always have in their house, and most of the friends I have, including me have no other cereal at home except garri. I was so happy to see that I was eating corn flakes even though I always preferred golden morn (I have not eaten both in a while now).

I even took some pictures.

IMG_20240412_112137956.jpg

IMG_20240412_112441225.jpgIMG_20240412_112151754.jpg
IMG_20240412_112446048.jpgIMG_20240412_112130640.jpg

I was even surprised when I figured that he had 3 cartons of Corn Flakes at home. I started calling my friend "My role Model". It is surprising enough to have one corn flake in your house, not to talk about having three of them.

To conclude my story, I was able to make use of my time spent at his place and even enjoyed myself to the fullest.

Sort:  
 18 days ago  

Hahaha, crushyy, you had a great time with your friend. Should I also buy cornflakes or golden morn for myself like this? I am jealous of you... Hehehe.

I hope some of the challenges you are facing in your compound will reduce, because it seems you like the compound.

But you could move to another compound and it becomes the best decision of your life. You never know until you try.

Please buy golden morn and cornflakes for me. Your crush would be really happy about it.

Yeah, some of the challenges I face at my apartment have reduced a lot. It is not that I like the compound; oh, if I had the opportunity to leave for a much better place, I would do so without hesitating.

About moving, I would still move, but I want to finish with my final programs then I would leave the student environment.

 18 days ago  

Lolz, you made me laugh and I just remembered that there is something call cornflakes oooo. The sapa in the country wouldn't even make me try eating cornflakes because I can finish that pack at one since I eat a lot.

I thought you have left the apartment after that house hunting you did with pearl the other time... Happy weekend bro.

Cornflakes are not much yet they are quite expensive.

I was very close to leaving my apartment for real. In fact, I had paid for two apartments and requested back my money because I was scared about moving to meet a worse scenario.

 18 days ago  

One of the things that can be frustrating is when others have light and you don’t have. It is shege pro max. Anyway, I’m glad you enjoyed that cornflakes. I’ve got five boxes of Nasco cornflakes though😂. Please don’t call me a rich woman like you did on my previous comment😂😂😂

smiles, I don't need to even call you before you know what you are. Odogwress.

Lol quite an interesting one you put up here. Do you know also that I am in your shoe, for the past years, I haven't actually tasted cornflakes

I was in that shoe but I have left it. Now I have tasted cornflakes 😂😂😂

I started calling my friend "My role Model".

This got me laughing 😀
You know, before I got there I was like "you friend must be rich oo" Three pack of cornflakes? You dey wine me? That guy get doings 😂

I can't remember the last I ate cornflakes either because of sapa😀

Anyways, glad you enjoyed your stay with him

"you friend must be rich oo" Three pack of cornflakes? You dey wine me? That guy get doings 😂

Lol. The guy is a rich guy but if I tell it to his face, he would deny it without thinking.