Cost of living is costing the life of the living.

in Hive Learners27 days ago

In recent years we have seen a rise of #Minimlism lifestyle. People are conteding themselves to basic needs and ignoring unwanted things in life. ***Minimalism is a life philosophy, it is kind of movement that involves living a simple life with fewer but carefully selected things, fewer commitments. While many considered it as a newer fashionable and sustainable approach to lifestyle, but I belive the choice is associated with meeting the rising inflation. Many people are turning minimalist to cut off their expenses and lead a simple life. The #inflation and rising cost of living is certainly causing people to lookout to to alternate way of lifestyle to meet the daily basic needs.

20240406_081337.jpg
(own edited image)

Cost of Living Index.

Every human needs a basic minimum requirement to live a meaningful life. The basic needs includes Housing, Food, Transportation, Health care, Education, and Utilities. The amount of money needed to cover these basic necessities in a specific area or region over a certain time period is known as Cost of living. The cost of living in different cities in India varies due to factors. Like we do not get similar facilities and civic ameneties such as housing, transportation, food, utilities, education, healthcare, at every area. I have experince the changes in "cost of living" when I opted to shift back to my village. There is drastic change in my expenses. While I do not need to pay any rental expenses, because of my self owned home. There is some major changes as far as foods and vegetable are concerned. Those were available at much cheaper rate then those were available in metropolitan cities of New Delhi.

If we take another example of rental expenses then there is a big difference in different regions. For example,

in New Delhi, the capital city of India, a one bedroom apartment may cost between INR 10,000 to 20,000, while the same apartment in a city near to the capital like Meerut or Faridabad, may cost between INR 7,000 to 15,000. In contrast, owning a home in a capital city can be expensive due to high real estate prices, while owning a home in a non-metropolitan city may be more affordable.

There are few other expenses like Entertainment, or taxes too to consider before comparing the cost of living index between different states within India. I am yet to visit any foreign land to estimate the cost of living of that country. So I find it feasible to compare the difference within India. We always see a major differences between two cities in the same country.

1000050825.jpg
(own edited image)

Relocation Considerstion.

Cost of living information can be useful when comparing cities or when considering relocating. I know many instances during my working days when I was getting a lessor pay packages just to relocate to a non metropolitan cities. As I was based out in New Delhi, relocating to Kolkatta or Hyderabad may fetch me lesor packages while, cities like Bangalore or Mumbai may get me a hefty rise in pay packages. These differences is because of the cost of living index at these placss. A cost of living index can compare the cost of living in a major city to a corresponding metropolitan area. This index incorporates the expense of various living expenses creating an aggregate measure that workforce entrants can use as a benchmark.

When I made the decision to shift to my native place, I was pretty sure, that even earning a minimum amount may help me in sustaining a mindful life. The lifestyle in remote areas are not so expensive as compaired to cities. When I was working and getting a good pay, I was felling short of income. But once I shifted back to village, I find a drastic reduction in my expenses and also sharp fall in consumption of foods and vegetable. The life style is much simple as compaired to cities which allows me sustain easily. It was important factor to consider before I made rhe switch and now living with minimum basic needs.

When we have a limited source of income and multiple source to spend to meet the basic needs , it is better to opt out for a proper planning and cut out on unwanted expenses. We can easily cope up with the rising cost of living at any place.

Peace!!

Namaste @steemflow

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 27 days ago  

Village life is so peaceful. There is plenty to do and explore in a village or small town. While in cities, our small apartments keep us isolated and stuck. There is nothing much to do in highly populated cities. !PIZZA

 27 days ago  

Yes life behind the closed doors and between the 4 walla always constrained to live free at the end, people goes out tonpubs and hotels...leading to more expenses...but not in village the vast grounds and fields are enough to do anything of own.

 27 days ago  

Gaav ke life badiya hai sir ji, abhe mere gaav Mai road nahi aaye hai. Mai bhe soch raha hu kuch salo baad gaav he chla jaau. Waha ke life style alag he hai.

 27 days ago  

Mat puch bhai....it is trully fantastic...no lavish lofe but still full.of fun and freshness..

 27 days ago  

Sahe kaha, sir simplicity is the key.

I like the idea of not needing so much to live at least the physical life but I am very interested in not being a minimalist when it comes to the intellectual and spiritual aspect. Spiritual is not the same as religious.... to think.

 27 days ago  

I never heard of being minimalist in spiritual or religious aspect.....for me I never wanted to be bind myself for such things... but those things never ask for expenditure...inrferred minimalist when it comes to spending.

Well it could be.... some people don't care about those issues, I do.

 27 days ago  

You are out of this world....alien

I know!!! and I don't care!

 27 days ago  

But I do.....I need to be in that zone...and learn some abracadabra

That can be learned hahaha little by little... first I got rid of false beliefs and then I learned new things.

 27 days ago  

You have said rightly. It is better to compare some location within the country you live before making a decision to relocate or not. There are some parts that are cheaper than other part of the country.

 27 days ago  

That's fore sure a wise move to compare everything before getting into any conclusion....After all at the end of the dsy money matters.

Ganv ki life me alag hi sukun h ... simplicity, efforable and peace 🤍

 27 days ago  

Ha...g bilkul today struggle to Hai...but better than city rush.

https://inleo.io/threads/steemflow/re-steemflow-2h7wrahmq
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( steemflow ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@vikbuddy(1/10) tipped @steemflow

 27 days ago  

True that some part of the country are cheaper than other sides.

Like in Nigeria cost of living is cheaper in the north than south east and west.

 26 days ago  

The living cost is comparatively less in villages. I also have similar experience.

 25 days ago  

Village life is awesome....simple and best

Cost of living is a real thing and it changes drastically for different towns. I have seen a lot of people going to Bangalore for a higher CTC only to realise that their CTV increases 1.5 x while the cost of living increases by 10x