My Favorite Sport; The Relay Race.

in Hive Learners2 years ago

img_0.7868554634093347.jpg

Source

... ... ... ... ... ... ...

Hello everyone! How's your weekend been so far? Mine has been awesome though ☺️.
I decided to take part in the contest and I'll be telling you all about my favorite sport which is the Relay Race.


While growing up, I was always a fan of athletics. I could spend hours in front of the screen watching various forms of athletic events going on around the world.
I was mostly interested in the track events which included all kinds of races - the sprints, middle distance races, e.t.c - racing was it for me at that age.

I'm mostly into the Relay Race because it's the only event in athletics that requires teamwork and it usually comes last in an athletics meeting because it's the most interesting.
It is in a team race in which the effort of each player has to complement the other in order for the team to win. Without cooperation and coordination, the team won't go forward.
The spirit of sportsmanship is also acquired.

I'll tell you all about how my favorite sport is played.


A relay race is run by four runners :
– The first runner - First leg.
– The second runner - Second leg.
– The third runner - Third leg.
– The fourth runner - Anchor leg.

Each runner covers a specific distance.
My favorite part is the passing on of the baton. The race starts and ends with the baton. The baton is passed from one runner to the other within the change over zone.
One can say the baton is a symbol of trust among team members because each the team member running with the baton to the change over zone entrusts the fate of the team's success into the hands of another - so to speak - and one can say it's a leap of fate too because without that trust, the team won't win.

The Relay Race has three types :
–The Shuttle relay - this is run on straight lines and take off is by the touch of hands.
– The Medley relay - this is run on both straight and curved lines with batons. Runners run different distances in this relay race.
– The Circular relay - this is also run on straight and curved lines with batons. Runners run equal distances. In this case, the first runner starts with the baton, and the anchor leg must finish the race with that same baton.

There are types of baton transfer too :

  • The downward swing,
  • The upward swing.

It all depends on the manner of transfer a team decides to adopt for the race.

Athletes can get disqualified from a race if found guilty of pushing or assisting another athlete during a take over.
Throwing of the baton at a teammate is considered a big no no and invites immediate disqualification. The baton is meant to be passed not thrown.

Two false starts can get a runner disqualified too. In this case, adequate amount of patience is needed.

Also, picking of a dropped baton by another athlete other than the athlete that dropped said baton is prohibited.

Lastly, passing the baton outside the change over zone is also a disqualifier. The baton must always be passed in the specified change over zone.

There's this great feeling I get when watching or participating in a relay race. The suspense, the effort, the teamwork, the speed and most especially the cheering of the crowd is absolutely wonderful. It makes the race worth it.

I'm glad I could share this with everyone.

Thank you very much for reading.
Have a wonderful week ahead ☺️.

Sort:  

Congratulations @stellageorge! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Happy 6th Birthday to the Hive Community
Introducing NFT for Peace
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Relay race is my favorite sport forever 😀 I played the game countless times during my high school. You just dissected the mode of playing the game, good job dear.

 2 years ago  

Thank you for reading. ☺️

Teamwork makes the dream work indeed, when everyone is in cohesion, then winning would be so much easier.
This is a detailed analysis of the game.
Thank you for sharing this with us.

 2 years ago  

Thank you for reading. 😊

 2 years ago  

When we were in elementary school, we participated in this sport, that moment I will never forget.😊

 2 years ago  

I can understand the feeling.
Thank you for reading. 😊

 2 years ago  

You'r welcome

 2 years ago  

Every good and compact team work will definitely get maximum results

 2 years ago  

In Relay Race, teamwork is key.
Thank you for reading.

 2 years ago  

The hard work of all the players on the team for any game makes that team strong and thank you so much for your opinion.

 2 years ago  

Exactly. Thank you for reading. 😊

 2 years ago  

Same to you

 2 years ago  

Really it is very good sport and it is very good for our health. I love to watch this game on TV

 2 years ago  

Watching it as a child was an untold joy.
Thank you for reading.

 2 years ago  

Who's in for the relay Race?
I'm fully ready to run so I can burn all the fat in my body. I so much love this game because I once participated in a relay Race before.

Though you need enough energy to do that.

 2 years ago  

Haha. I'm in.
I'll run faster too. LOL.
Yeah, you need energy and stamina for a race like that.

 2 years ago  

Yeah

 2 years ago  

I like relay race and if I ever get to participate I wound choose the circular relay race so I get to give the baton and rest.

 2 years ago  

LOL. I understand your point. 😂

 2 years ago  

Relay race is the best race so far as it is the only race everyone would love to watch.

 2 years ago  

Yeah. It is. Thank you for reading. 😊

 2 years ago  

Run as fast as you can, hahaha. good teamwork will get good results, that's how I think this sport is played

 2 years ago  

You have no choice than to run as fast as you can. Lol.

 2 years ago  

Throwing of the baton at a teammate is considered a big no no and invites immediate disqualification. The baton is meant to be passed not thrown.

👍

 2 years ago  

Thank you for reading. ✌️

 2 years ago  

I enjoyed playing the relay race game those days in secondary school. It really involves a whole lot of teamwork which is the more reason why I love it.

 2 years ago  

Teamwork is the best in a race like this.

 2 years ago  

Yea! That's true!