You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Passion of Perfect Purple Power

Haa you know it's funny that you say that too.
When I grew up in the 70s and 80's in a small country town an artist was someone who could paint, draw or sculpt and I am absolutely hopeless at all of those -didn't matter how much I tried (I can see it all in my head, but could just not get it out of my hands...)
Anyway, it wasn't until one night in San Fransisco back in the late 90's that a group of us were talking about art and I said that I wish I was an artist and they all said but you are! And I'm like how? And they all said just look at the meals that you cook and those cocktails that you make! That is art. I had never thought about art in that way- as creating -just anything...🙃

Thank you to those people- who were from all over the world as this happened at the Green Tortoise Backpackers.

I just like pretty colours (well all colours are pretty except for grey. Grey is my arch enemy...😬)

And I like making tasty, colourful things. Glad that you like them. 🙏
I look forward to seeing more of yours! 😀

Sort:  

Maybe it could be just a coincidence, or maybe you were in a moment of loss of faith and this is a signal for you to continue.

I believe an artist is just a creator. Back in the days they create using classic materials like painting, sculpturing, composing music, etc. Now days, there are much more options to choose, like video, digital photography, computer animation and graphics, etc. And what they all have in common is they are creators.

I like more abstract things that have a hidden meaning. That's why I found interesting your work 😁

Well thank you very much @rafaeleff15, you are absolutely right, where there is an imagination and the pro-active attitude, people will find whatever they can to create....I painted a cardboard egg box once.....(and that's not the only things....lol...🤣0

You're welcome. It's my honest vision as a designer. That's also what we learned at university.

A famous quote: "God wants, man dreams, work is born"

It's just creations as dreams. It doesn't need to be super fine art to be at the museum. (also that could be questioned... What art need to have to be at museum...)

Bottom line is continue doing what makes you happy and the rest will come 🙂

Hi there @rafaeleff15,
I like that you also question art in museums and galleries too!

I question the opinion of 'society' after all, who is 'society' and who says that it's only their opinion that matters!

We all have different visions, perceptions, interpretations, imaginations, thoughts and dreams, so I have always believed that beauty really is in the eye of the beholder.

DOWN THE GARDEN PATH.png

I think museum art is more than art... It’s a business, like stocks and crypto currencies. It’s based on speculation mainly. I think it is difficult to put a price on art like that, like 1M dollars… I think the value is what the investors think art worth. Like the bitcoin, the price is set by or imagination.

Also, thinking more about it, it’s like money itself. Money doesn’t exist, the value of euro or dollar is set by humans. It’s kind of imagination. It’s an extreme and maybe anarchist point of view I know 😂

But I think if we think of the root of it, it makes total sense. And it’s the rules of the “game” we live.

Yes you are absolute right once again. Museum art really is a product and its a business that sells it....for the cost of tickets in the door or the cost of the art to take home.
Great point R! 😀

Thank you 🙂
That's questions sometimes I wonder about in my free time.