You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I WAS NEVER PROMISED A ROSE GARDEN, BUT I HAVE ONE NOW!

in Always a Flower โ€ข 2 years ago

๐ŸŒน๐Ÿƒโ™ฅ๏ธ๐ŸŒน๐Ÿ•Š๐ŸŒนโ™ฅ๏ธ๐Ÿƒ๐ŸŒน

Gorgeous! @farm-mom
And that is one very dreamy looking long stemmed white rose to have as your first!

Congratulations on your newest project.
Every year Mom and I always have issues with aphids eating our gorgeous blooming roses and leaves starting at this time of summer. Rost dust helps but has to be reapplied frequently. Ladybugs are the best natural deterent as they happily eat the pests. Maybe you can buy some; ๐Ÿž ideally you won't have the same problem!

๐ŸŒน๐Ÿƒโ™ฅ๏ธ๐ŸŒน๐Ÿ•Š๐ŸŒนโ™ฅ๏ธ๐Ÿƒ๐ŸŒน

Sort: ย 

Hello there @ninahaskin, nice to hear from you. I know about using the rose dust, so far I haven't noticed too much damage from those buggers, but I am going to pick up some dust today, thanks for the reminder.
Lady Bugs huh? I wonder how I can catch some, I don't see many here, maybe I CAN buy some. Ok, now my wheels are turning.๐Ÿ˜

Remember to take time for yourself and smell the roses, they really are a work of art. Have a great weekend my friend!

Always fun to drop by and see what you and @thebigsweed are up to!

I know of no way to capture wild ladybugs. Fortunately there are many places you can purchase lady bugs online and have them delivered directly to your house.

Interestingly, one half pint โ€” 4,500 ladybugs โ€” treats an average size garden ๐Ÿž๐Ÿž๐ŸŒฟ๐Ÿž๐Ÿž

"...ladybugs eat aphids, chinch bugs, asparagus beetle larvae, alfalfa weevils, bean thrips, grape root worm, Colorado potato beetles larvae, spider mites, whiteflies, mealybugs, among other insects." source Hungry multitaskers!

I think I will give internet bought ladybugs a try this year. Thanks for the reminder!

Have a wonderful weekend! @farm-mom๐ŸŒน