Refocusing my efforts.

This post is an entry into the #iamalivechallenge. It's a simple challenge. It's hosted by @flaxz, and supported by the #iamalivechallenge community. I love the simplicity of the challenge. Lately I find myself seeking out simplicity. There's a longing in my spirit for simplicity. I find that there's a sense of mental clarity that seems to accompany simplicity.

IMG_20200702_144736.jpg

Simplicity by its very nature is simple. It does, or doesn't. It is, or it isn't. An apple tree doesn't try to be an apple tree. It starts off as a seed, and it slowly becomes an apple tree. Once it becomes an apple tree. It doesn't try to bear fruit. It just does.

IMG_20200702_131207.jpg

Lately I find that I've spent too much time trying. Trying to figure this out. Trying to get that done. Trying to be disciplined. Trying to find balance. When it comes to multitasking. I'd say I'm pretty good. Yet if I'm honest. I put in a lot of effort, but my results pale in comparison to the effort.

2020 brought with it many things. One of those things for me, has been a new discernment towards what is and isn't worthy of my effort. Simply put. Many of the important things in my life, are actually pretty simple. They don't really demand my attention, like so many of the other non-essential things. Being human I find that I can overcomplicate the most simplest tasks.

I've accomplished an innumerable amount of task up to now. Too few of them worthy of being considered important. Yet I am alive today. This means I can refocus my efforts. I can prioritize the simply important, and procrastinate the non-essential. I can choose what truly is essential to me, and turn a death ear to the screaming of the non-essential. Though society will continue to urge me towards the non-essential. I will turn my efforts towards loving the simply important. Here's to living a life worth living.

Thank you for taking the time to share with me.

Feel free to visit my resent entry into the #freewrite challenge hosted by @mariannewest and supported by the #freewriters community. It's called Just when I thought I had a dead battery
https://hive.blog/hive-161155/@dreamingirwin/just-when-i-though-i-had-a-dead-battery

God Bless.