You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am Alive and Technology Doesn't Like Me

in We Are Alive Tribe2 months ago

Tell me about it, my robot vacuum always tries to run me over..
With marketing nowadays, the base product almost seems like the scarcity. I noticed it with all the alternatives there are in the supermarket to just plain water.

!ALIVE

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

@phoenixwren! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ rarej. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Yeah, they don't care about our needs being met or even our preferences, only getting everyone to buy the expensive shit that has a bigger profit margin. Pods for both laundry and dishwasher are everywhere, but not only is it plastic inside plastic, it's insanely marked up from just buying a powder or liquid.
Oh bit it's 🎶 convenient🎶
Can people not measure out a little soap?
I admit there are going to be exceptions, of course - various disabilities where people struggle with hand dexterity or lifting even a few pounds, or as my mom mentioned, when someone in the house has dementia (my dad) and he would use WAY too much soap otherwise. But the companies push them to everyone because it's less product for more money.

You mention a very important factor in all of this. Convenience. A lot of people would rather pay 3 times as much for vegetables that are pre-cut than cutting it themselve. I know marketing and advertising play a role, and that there are exceptions to the rule, but the majority of people are still (subconsciously) giving power to these companies where it isn't necessary.