Black basalt uncovered by the low pressure trough

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

An accidental cracking of my little toe on the wooden leg of my bed yesterday has laid me out. How silly was I, the toe is sorely bruised. Such bad timing given that today is Mr Nice Guy @tattoodjay's Wednesday walk and try as I might my foot hurts too much in my laced up shoes. I just cannot walk the beach today fellow Hivians, and yes I am excited to say another fabulous picturesque post presented a little differently.

new_note.jpeg

But, since I am a half filled cup girl all is not lost and definitely not one to call it quits there is always a solution no matter what. Maybe it has something to do with years of never giving up.

Where there is a will there is a way and so I decided to share a post for #Wednesdaywalk made up from a few walks I took on the beach last month, after the wild wind and trenching brought on by the low water trough last month.

I want to share photos of the exposure of black rock uncovered by the erosion of a couple of weeks of strong wind and very rough surf.
The black rock is called basalt, which is volcanic molten lava usually hidden away from human eyes under the sand at the water's edge of my beach, that is until lots of rough wind and trenching rain slowly uncovers masses of it.

During this last never ending bad wet weather I must admit I was not surprised to see the black basalt rock slowly appearing, which it did bit by bit over several weeks.

Here is my first photo taken of the black rock appearing in a beautiful light of a late afternoon beach.

The second photo was taken a little bit further along the beach when more rock had been uncovered. I took this shot attracted to this scene of the beach goers positioned in the background and walking up the beach in light of the fading day. I think the black rock in the foreground adds to the wholeness of this scene.

new_note.jpeg

new_note.jpeg

The third photo on the same day was taken a little after the first shot and I snapped it too as I really liked the different textures and patterns in the sand created by the tide going in and out.

new_note.jpeg

Several days after initially seeing the basalt appearing large clumps of rocks were taking shape at the end of the beach more and more. I must say I have not had the privilege of seeing so much of it and I have been walking this beach for 7 years now.

On some days I saw children and adults giving the rock a good inspection. I completely understand why the inquisitiveness as it is usually hidden under the sand away from our sight. Anyway I am guilty of close up inspections as well.

Here is a young lad I saw from a distance kneeling down over the rock.

new_note.jpeg

Here is a close up of this inquisitive boy.

new_note.jpeg

I took this shot as I liked the effect of the bright light in the background, the darken sand and the flowing water of the tide going back out to the ocean.
.
new_note.jpeg

To finish off I am sharing a photo I took a couple of weeks ago during one of my sneaky walks to the beach during my hubby's infected covid time. The scene shows a beach without any basalt at all, it has now all been covered up again by the strong in and out tide of the ocean. It shows how amazing nature is, how it slowly over time fixes up any damage caused by extreme rough wind and torrents of rain.

new_note.jpeg

So ends my little slide show of beach photos I have had sitting in my library on the Mac waiting for the right time to share them. While I am not trying to blow my own horn, I think photos 1,2,3 and 6 would make attractive framed photos in a den, lounge room or front entry etc. Or perhaps I am a little too biased!

Regards to all my fellow Wednesday walkers around the world.

.................................................................

88a2eaba_aba8_45d3_946a_695a8b78903c.png
Regards @adalger and thank you for bringing the Amazing Nature Community to Hive

ecc271f6_e973_4747_bc60_452edf6eba13_1_201_a.jpeg

4c17922b_ba18_4654_a2e2_c96cdaae83d1.png

Sort:  

Ouch, glad your were sensible and didnt try to put shoes on, do as I say and not as I do and take it easy and give it time to heal

love the photos of the beach from previous walks so beautiful and calming

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Hi and you would walk with a foot injury? Mind you I was tempted to put roomy pair of shoes but then I thought that would do more damage.
I had some fun reminiscing on my walks instead. Thank you for your nice words and sending the best of wishes.

Not anymore with age I have somehow found common sense

Back when I was younger and foolish I broke my ankle and just thought it was strained taped it up and walked on it even climbed a 300 foot telecoms tower for work and only after 4 days did I get it checked and found it was broken

The things we do when we are young, everything is doable! I remember so well.
Any lasting niggly pain with the ankle?

Well yes my ankle sometimes twinges but my knees which I smashed when I was 19 bother me more especially in winter so I barely notice my ankle lol

If only our bodies could recover from our adventurous youthful years - damn it!

OHh yeah,from Rugby, Motocross and other crazy activities when I was younger, I feel it all over some days, especially in winter

First of all you are not being biased Angie, these pics would look great framed!
How far is the beach from you, mine is a seven minute walk but not as pretty as yours!
Rocks and waves always make for interesting pictures. Does the basalt get covered up again or is this a new phenomena it being exposed this much.

Oh my @tengolotodo, I can't believe that all this time has passed and I have only read your words.😊
This beach is only a few minutes walk from my place, it is practically in my front yard and I have to say I am always very grateful to be so close. Hence I am walking this beach almost everyday - sometimes life gets in the way.

hehe that is okay Angie!
Well I managed to get to our beach yesterday, not quite as close as yours, takes me about ten minutes but always fun to visit, even if it is cold !

Hey Angie, cool beach pics. Ive been meaning to catch you and say whats up, been a while. Besides the Toe, hope you been good. Keep rockin.