Circus Again

in Wednesday Walk2 months ago (edited)

Back to the circus... but it's not what it seems. It's not a circus show.

The circus is perceived as a traveling show that usually happens in a tent. A big tent. A tent tall enough for the acrobats to perform in.

The circus I'm talking about now is a building. The Bucharest Metropolitan Circus. A building declared a historical monument built more than 60 years ago.

IMG_0469.jpg

The building has an interesting architecture. In my opinion, it resembles a flying saucer as described by those who have claimed to have seen them.

I don't like circus shows anymore but as a child, I did and still remember being in this building shortly after it was built.

It's not the circus I want to talk about now, on my day of walking. I want to tell you about a recent walk in the park at the edge of which the circus building stands. The park is called the Circus Park and is located somewhere in the middle of Bucharest.

IMG_0348.jpg

This is a relatively small park in a former brick factory pit. A place with springs. A place where a pond appeared. Around the pond, the park grew.

IMG_0360.jpg

This park is so well located that all the inhabitants of the neighborhood can relax I like to walk and I do this about once a month. So rarely because I live far from this place.

IMG_0435.jpg

There are two things of interest here and both are related to pond. The first, and most interesting, is the presence of rare flowers unusual to the climate here. Egyptian lotuses. They only bloom in midsummer, so you can't see them now.

The second would be the presence of birds that have chosen to winter here. Again something unusual. The presence of birds that normally shouldn't be here.

IMG_0359.jpg

It has been a mild winter, which has been very fortunate for the smaller or larger flyers. Some of them used to migrate in winter to warmer countries, generally to the Nile Delta.

However, winter is winter, even if there are fewer snows. It's hard for the birds to find something to eat.

That's where the help of people feeding the birds came in and they got used to it. That's why all the birds gather when they see people at the edge of the pond.

IMG_0391.jpg

The warm days of early spring have made the birds' enthusiasm grow. The pond has become the birds' playground. My walk was shorter this time. Most of the time I just sat and watched these birds and their joy at surviving the winter.

BeFunky-collage (1).jpg

Wild ducks are the most interesting birds that have chosen this pond as their home. In the middle of a crowded city. Watching them move and gather, mostly in pairs. A very nice colorful boy and a curious girl, less colorful but much more similar to her environment and therefore more protected.

BeFunky-collage (2).jpg

The park is bordered by blocks of flats where thousands of people live. The pond, and the little creatures that populate it, make it look like a miniature delta. These people are very lucky to live so close to such a wonderful piece of nature!

IMG_0465.jpg

Before the end of my walk, near the exit of the park, I saw an old man taking his walk. He impressed me a lot. It was like seeing a picture of myself, not too many years from now if I'm lucky enough to walk it...

IMG_0523.jpg

IMG_0525.jpg

IMG_0527.jpg

The walk in the Circus Park always ends at a flower shop opposite. A flower shop I love and I almost always go home with at least one flower for my little garden.

IMG_0532.jpg

I greet you from behind a photo full of reflections. I love these reflections that bring together a lot of images that intertwine, blend, and bring a little mystery. Thank you!


This whole story might not interest anyone but I hope you find something interesting in the photos. Because, after all, photos are what it's all about.


Make a point of looking around and up and see what you can find to get shots of that otherwise you may miss.

This is one of the recommendations made by @tattoodjay for those who prefer walking and are used to sharing impressions and photos in his community, Wednesday Walk, every Wednesday, like this one today.

BeFunky-collage(5)5.jpg

BeFunky-design (2).jpg

every_picture.jpg

Sort:  

It is an ideal place for a walk and I was surprised by the circus, seeing it from afar and its structure is very beautiful. But what I liked the most were the trees and their dry winter branches and the bright colours of the ducks. They are beautiful! Thank you for this Wednesday walk!😃

Thanks for taking a walk with me!

Thank you to you!!

I to am not fond of circuses anymore,
thats a beautiful park

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)
Have a great day :)

Thanks. Wish you the same!