A PLACE CALLED BARBARIGA

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

This time I drove about 20 - 25 kilometers to the small seaside village called Barbariga ...

(Enlargeable)

... and did my usual midweek walk there.

(Enlargeable)

It started here, about a kilometer from the village, among the buildings with apartments for summer rental. This is is the only part of Barbariga that I visited before.

(Enlargeable)

From here onward things were new and exciting.

(Enlargeable)

I parked in front of a closed grocery store. The glass walls were carpeted with a series of beer adverts. Since every poster was exactly the same, the thing looked like Warhol's lost masterpiece.

(Enlargeable)

After taking another shot from the parking place, I walked to the old village.

img_2163_malo.jpg

Here you can see the first house. The village is situated about fifty meters from the end of the asphalt road.

(Enlargeable)

It has only one narrow street, a couple of houses on each side of that street ...

(Enlargeable)

... and that's it. The whole village looks like the main square of a typical village in this area if that main square was somehow teleported in the middle of green fields and has remained like that, weirdly isolated from the rest. The only person around was this little girl, and her new colorful dress looked great and kind of surreal among the old, washed-out stuff of the village. It was a perfect photographic moment that lasted only a couple of seconds because the girl was on her way home. Soon entered one of the two renovated houses with fresh facades and disappeared like some ghostly apparition.

img_2175_malo.jpg

While rambling around ...

img_2174_malo.jpg

... I encountered some cats too. I always encounter some cats on my ramblings around small towns and villages in Istra, the peninsula on which I live. This time I had some cat food cans with me because I visited the supermarket in the city before continuing towards Barbariga, so I opened one can and fed these two feline Barbarigians.

img_2170_malo.jpg

The place was named after a noble Venetian family Barbarigo who had properties here, in the centuries when this coast was dominated by the Venetian Republic.

(Enlargeable)

This is the biggest building in the village. It looks like a pretty old villa, but I can't tell you when was built. Didn't find any information about it. It's difficult to photograph because the surrounding vegetation grew very close to the building.

img_2178_malo.jpg

It's much easier to get the details ...

img_2177_malo.jpg

... then the thing its entirety.

img_2165_malo.jpg

Here you can see the first-floor entry of one of the smaller old houses of Barbariga.

img_2169_malo.jpg

Here you can take a look at the rear facade of the neighboring house.

img_2167_malo.jpg

This is the same thing, the same house, but I was focused only on lower windows for this shot.

img_2166_malo.jpg

This is the window on the rear facade of the next house in that row of houses.

img_2179_malo.jpg

This is a look through the passageway that leads out of the village.

img_2171_malo.jpg

This is some old, decaying building not far from the village. About fifty meters from there. Only the top is visible, the rest is hidden by dense, thorny vegetation, blackberry shrubs, and wild roses mostly. After taking this photograph ...

img_2240_malo.jpg

... I walked to the sea ...

(Enlargeable)

... but before arriving there and photographing these open vistas ...

(Enlargeable)

... I had to pass through a stretch of pine forest.

img_2230_malo.jpg

I found some mushrooms there ...

img_2228_malo.jpg

... but that's another story - more about these mushrooms in the upcoming Fungi Friday post. Not far from the mushrooms ...

img_2182_malo.jpg

... there was an old, abandoned fortress.

img_2189_malo.jpg

This is just a small part of the much larger defensive complex built around the year 1900 by the Austro - Hungarian empire to protect one of its most important naval bases in the city of Pula.

img_2184_malo.jpg

Here you can take a look through the small window shown in the previous photograph.

img_2191_malo.jpg

Here you can see one of the larger windows of the fortress and in the following photograph ...

img_2190_malo.jpg

... you can take another look inside. After taking these photographs ...

img_2192_malo.jpg

... I walked to the main entrance ...

img_2193_malo.jpg

... and entered the dark, decaying interior. In this photograph the space in the right corner of the picture is completely black, the dark is impenetrable, but ...

(Enlargeable)

... but I took also this long exposure shot that shows some reflection in the shallow water and a bit of garbage hidden in that dark corner.

(Enlargeable)

Here I'm entering another room, deeper in the building. I passed through that room and then through a broken wall ...

img_2205_malo.jpg

... I entered this pretty large place.

img_2203_malo.jpg

A friend was there with me. You can see her standing by the barred window in this photograph. Like a prisoner in some very shity, rundown prison or a person lost in Silent Hill or some other creepy place. The doorway in the right corner of the picture ...

img_2207_samo_malo.jpg

... was leading to the space shown in one of the first photographs from this series of shots dedicated to the fortress.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can take a look at both shots simultaneously.

img_2209_samo_malo.jpg

I came across some lovely fragments of light ...

img_2215_malo.jpg

... in the darkness of this part of the old fort.

img_2213_malo.jpg

I took most of these photographs using only the ambient light, but for the following shot ...

img_2211_malo.jpg

... I used the flash of my camera to make visible the small fragment of the outside landscape that can be seen through the narrow embrasure.

img_2214_malo.jpg

In 2005 I bought a video game called Uru: Ages Beyond Myst. Ages in Myst, the long series of adventure games, are interesting, surreal, and often breathtakingly beautiful fictional realms for the player to explore while progressing through a series of pretty difficult puzzles. One of the ages in Uru is called Gahreesen - the fortress age.

img_2218_samomalo.jpg

At moments I felt trapped inside that video game while standing here in the real-life fortress. All those quadrangles, holes, and rays of sunlight looked like parts of some complex puzzle.

img_2217_malo.jpg

Fortunately, I could leave the place without solving the thing. I'm pretty slow and inept when it comes to solving puzzles. It took me ages to pass through all those ages in Myst.

img_2206_malo.jpg

On the way back ...

img_2220_malo.jpg

... out of the fortress and to into the light of the day...

(Enlargeable)

... I took three more shots with the camera pointed towards the entrance.

img_2253_malo.jpg

Some minutes later ...

img_2250_malo.jpg

... I reached the sea.

(Enlargeable)

Boats and buoys were floating in the inlet.

img_2238_malo.jpg

Some rare and precious winter tourists were enjoying the partially sunny afternoon.

img_2241_malo.jpg

They spoke Italian.

img_2244_malo.jpg

This is a detail from the dock. One of those things that serve to tie bigger boats.

img_2237_samomalo.jpg

Here I zoomed pretty far. On the town called Vodnjan and its monumental church.

img_2252_malo.jpg

After photographing this isolated house by the sea it was time to go home.

AS ALWAYS IN THESE WALKS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK - THE END.

Sort:  

This beautiful essay of yours and excellent photographs interested me to such an extent that I even looked for this place on the Internet. I found out that Barbarìga is a tourist village in Istria, Croatia, got acquainted with the ancient history of this interesting place and was glad that you introduced me to it. Thank you!

This is waooo ..firstly the name of the village sound like one of the northern part in Nigeria

I can see some ancient build that are older than my great grand father and there are still look beautiful

Can u share with us the secret behind this... 😂

Warhol has finished his work ... but this is a masterpiece ... I have heard a lot about Myst and its successors, but if it is ANYTHING like this, I may allow it to suck in some of my recreation time. Get them to pay you on Myst for making their game seem appetizing to the masses, because this post was IT.

Follow you on an interesting adventure.
Have a !PIZZA !LOLZ

My father wants me to study law and be a good lawyer
He needs me to get him out of jail.

Credit: vaipraonde
@borjan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @brianhuang
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (6/6)

What an amazing place fir a.walk I do love that shit if the little girl in the bright dress it really stands out
But that said loved the photo tour such an interesting village feels like you went back in time

And those bunkers and buildings are so cool to see

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I saw this fortress, it was very scary. It must be a lot of strange things happening.

Nice mixture of old and new. On one side there are many old and abandoned buildings, but on other side new buildings are being built.

fun sightseeing activities, with historical places, enjoying sea views as well as ancient buildings.

Nice post. The cat scares me

🙂 Yes, it's a bit scary🐈.

I really want to live in a village like this, it seems the air is fresh

awesome, i love the boat part, good job @borjan

Quite a day you must have had navigating around this village. Trust you had a great time in this adventure. Nice shots by the way, has it gives a good picture of the whole experience

It really is a village that looks pleasant to visit, moreover the village is located on the beach, and also many historical sites in the village are still preserved.

I really like the two barbarian cats, really funny and cute. Nice job @borjan

It is quite sure you hard and amazing walk

Some very interesting pictures, in your every trip I am always amazed for your blog almost everything I see this.

Thank you sir

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@brianhuang(5/5) tipped @borjan (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!