THE LONG WALL ON THE ROAD TO GAJANA

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

Today I drove 20 - 25 kilometers and then walked a kilometer or two for this post ...

(Enlargeable)

... along the pretty long drystone wall ...

img_2838_malo.jpg

... on the road that leads to the small settlement called Gajana.

img_2861_malo.jpg

Gajana is just a cluster of houses with some small farms at the edges. No church, no compact old center, nothing iconic that villages in this area usually have.

img_2862_malo.jpg

But that doesn't make this place uninteresting. Not completely, at least.

(Enlargeable)

I started this walk a couple of kilometers from the houses of Gajana.

img_2851_malo.jpg

My car was parked by the road, and this wall, the main protagonist of the post, was the first interesting thing I encountered.

(Enlargeable)

A beautiful oak tree was embedded in the wall about two hundred meters further.

img_2868_samomalo.jpg

The ground under the tree was partially covered with fallen leaves ...

img_2867_samo_malo.jpg

... and carpeted with the dense growth of some gray lichens.

img_2840_malo.jpg

About halfway to the small village, I came across this large opening in the wall. It was an entrance that leads to the fields, and there, at the entrance ...

img_2845_malo.jpg

... I came across this big, rusty piece of something. I don't know what is this exactly. It looks like a part of some big machine.

img_2849_malo.jpg

Here you can take a look at the rusty interior.

(Enlargeable)

A bit further, in the wall ...

img_2853_malo.jpg

... I found some strange mummified thing, well camouflaged among the stones.

(Enlargeable)

These are the dead & dry remains of a tree that was part of the wall some years ago.

img_2856_malo.jpg

After some more walking, the wall ended.

img_2824_samomalo.jpg

I was standing by the first house of Gajana, in from of another wall. This one had a small shrine embedded in it.

(Enlargeable)

On the large lawn behind the wall ...

img_2829_malo.jpg

... I saw two goats ...

(Enlargeable)

... and a bunch of chickens.

(Enlargeable)

The day was sunny, but I saw a snowflake floating in the air above the narrow country lane at the entrance of Gajana. There was only one snowflake but it was a big, trophy snowflake.

img_2826_malo.jpg

At one point the goats walked across the lawn ...

(Enlargeable)

... towards the pretty large house ...

img_2830_malo.jpg

... with goat hides hanging on the balcony.

(Enlargeable)

After taking this photograph ...

(Enlargeable)

... I was walking towards the car ...

img_2870_samomalo.jpg

... and everything looked the same.

(Enlargeable)

The same road.

(Enlargeable)

The same wall.

AS ALWAYS IN THESE WALKS ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK - THE END.

Sort:  

Beautiful scenery along the way but that wall is so cool, I love old stone fences like that, and that shrine is something different

Cool how that tree had grown through the fence

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Every place can be interesting if you look further than most… you suddenly see details.
I like the stone walls. First time I saw walls like that was when I visited England in 2016. And later in Malta. Used as barriers from land plots.
The goat hides on the balcony are quite something… and the living goats running underneath.
But the snowflake made me smile… all alone on this bright blue day 😉

🙂 True, there is always something interesting if you are in that state of mind that can see it ore create it through a story.

The oak tree does't care of the wall ;)
Great pics.

Thanks 🙂

Do you use Nikon?

No. I have the Canon PowerShot SX60 HS.

I carefully examined the mummified thing in the stone fence, for this I even enlarged your picture.
But he managed to understand what it could be ... A cow's skull without horns? A piece of a tree trunk?

Other photos show goats and their skins. Maybe the clue is related to goats?

Fabulous as always 🤩👍

Thank you 🙂 Glad you like this walk.

Looks like a very calm and peaceful walk, my kind of walk.
Love the tree in the wall. So neat.

it turns out that you really like driving a car and walking, you are willing to sweat for the sake of a post, that's if my guess is not wrong.

This area is completely different. You will see such places in some ghost movies. All in all the place is beautiful and the photography is very nice

Every time you travel you always give a special impression in it, and that is one of the things I like. It's amazing how much your journey can tell about the photos.
I hope your days are always pleasant. 🤗🤗

The stone walls are very neatly arranged, in your country every corner looks so precious.

You've taken great pictures and recorded the details. Every picture is unique. You are a good photographer. Be happy and give happiness

Lovely as always