A short walk around Takapuna, Auckland, New Zealand

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

Hi everyone,

I hope you have a great week so far. Mine is great and I am enjoying it so much. Today I am going to share with you one of the places that I visited recently in New Zealand. It is called Takapuna.

Takapuna is one of the best areas to live in Auckland city. Located in the North of Auckland, it is considered as a good neighbourhood with beautiful beaches and walking tracks so residents can enjoy amazing nature despite living in a big city. I used to live in Takapuna for around one year in 2018 while I was studying Digital Marketing and was so lucky to meet a wonderful friend. She is a person I respect, love, and think as my second family in NZ. So, on my stop over for a connect flight to Argentina, I had a chance to meet her and then spend couples of hours to walk around.

It was a beautiful winter day, a bit cold but gorgeous sunshine. After having breakfast and coffee with my friend, my partner and I headed to a park near the place we used to live. It is a big park, but we didn’t have a lot of time, we just went to see a mangrove forest and small stream where it is easy to spot ducks, pukeko and eels. This place was my go-to place when I was preparing for my term-end assignments. Whenever I got stress and feel pressured, I would take my time to walk around and enjoy a bit of nature to calm myself down and remind me about the real purpose of living.

Beautiful looking view to the center of Auckland

Ducks are enjoying their day, don’t know if the recognise me but they did fly straight to my direction after I took that photo

Spotted a pukeko in the spot that I always saw pukeko before

A flock of small birds enjoying the sun in this beach

I am so glad that after 3 years the neighbourhood hasn’t changed much. Everything looks the same as when I left. This is great as I don’t like the fast development of some areas without doing proper planning and consideration, giving me a feeling of lost when I couldn’t recognise the place in my mind.

This street doesn’t change at all, still the same as 3 years ago

And last but not least, the Takapuna beach, a famous beach for tourists, is where people can walk along the coast when the tide is low and explore wildlife or just take a short stroll with your loved ones on a beautiful day. In summer time on a good day, there are many people go for a swim or sunbathing.

Although it was a short visit, it is enough for me to catch up with my friend and visit ‘our places’. Both my partner and I were so glad we decided to do this. It was good for us as we were waiting for a long-haul flight ahead so spending a half of a day walking around and see friends were a big help.

divider.png

Thank you for stopping and reading my post. Have a lovely one and see you next time. Cheers, Dora.

Hive viet badge (1).png

Designed with Canva

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @trangbaby ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I think Takapuna is my favorite Suburb in Auckland a a beautiful walked you shared with us, how cool you saw a Pukeko

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Agree. I love Takapuna as well. Yes I am so stoked to see the Pukeko in its usual spot, it might have been waiting for me there haha. Thank you for stopping by.

Maybe it likes seeing you as much as you like seeing it ;)

have a good day

Nice landscape

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1665.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Hey i love Auckland and i wanted to visit here badly and you took Great photos.

Thanks. Have you been to Auckland before?

Nope not now but this is a part of my dream list and I'm just 18 now i have not anything but soon I'll..✌️😊

Awesome. I am sure you will be able to see this beautiful country in the future. All the best.

Thank you for your blessings 😇♥️

New Zealand seems to be a beautiful place to visit

And to live as well. Have a lovely day.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I love the pic of the birds enjoying the sun and beach. Such a life haha. I can feel Takapuna is peaceful and beautiful from your pictures. I'd like to visit here next time I have a chance to come back NZ :). I'm glad you had a great catchup with friend and visited your second home after 3 years. :)

Hope you're having fun in Argentina and can't wait to hear all stories :)

Thank you my dear. Yes, it is my favourite suburb in Auckland.

I am enjoying my time in Buenos Aires so much. Love all the warm welcome from family and friends here. A bit sad as I have to leave this beautiful country soon but I know I will be back one day.

Congratulations @dora381! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 16000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day