You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wednesday Walk - Frozen Lake

in Wednesday Walklast year

What a lovely collection of photos. I like the bullrushes.

I've never had rose hips tea before but I've heard of them. Can you eat them off the vine or do they taste terrible like that?

Had a laugh at the geese and them being the naughty culprits. They're very pretty when up close.

Sort:  

Aha so that's what those fluffy things are called, thanks for the ID. For the rose hips I just pull them off the stem and boil them as a tea. By themselves they taste a bit tangy because they have lots of vitamin c, but if you add some herbal tea with them and some honey they taste amazing. As for the geese I wonder if one of them could work as a Thanksgiving turkey lol.

You're welcome. Thanks for teaching me about rose hips, I'll be keeping a look out to see if I can find them here. I probably have walked past them before not recognising them.

Oh for sure, I'm sure that a Thanksgiving goose would hit the spot nicely. I don't know how much difference there would be in taste, think they may even taste better than turkey does.