Without hesitation

in Wednesday Walk10 months ago

_MG_5783.jpg

I walked up the stairs with the sun nudging me from the side. The decision to walk at the Chora of Serifos in the heat of the noon was rather controversial but the light breeze made it bearable! The blue sky, the reddish earth and the white buildings, under the brilliant sunlight of the Mediterranean summer, made a striking combination and I was just a few seconds away from the best view on the island!

_MG_5788.jpg

_MG_5792.jpg

_MG_5798.jpg

_MG_5802.jpg

Someone asked me when I was in high school:

if you could get paid to do anything….what would you do?

Taking pictures I answered, without any hesitation!

The reality of the professional life made me loose my confidence about the correctness of that enthusiastic reply but I have to admit that there were some truly remarkable moments during my career, that I look back in a fulfilling contemplation!

_MG_5790.jpg

_MG_5780.jpg

_MG_5852.jpg

Especially the years that I worked for a travel magazine, filled me with the excitement of traveling and led me to places that I would have never visited otherwise, at least not all of them!

_MG_5848.jpg

_MG_5833.jpg



_MG_5839.jpg

_MG_5844.jpg

One of the places that I feel very fortunate that I have visited, is this small village, climbed on a steep hillside overlooking the Aegean sea. A place that you need to walk in order to get to know it and sweat doing so, if it is summer :)

_MG_5759.jpg



_MG_5763.jpg

I am not talking about accommodation, night life or even the dozens mesmerising beaches of the island, which by the way are all great and tasteful. I was mostly captivated by the place itself. The vibe, the energy, the feeling that it gave me as I was wandering through the narrow streets and the rough landscape. Hard to explain it properly, especially in a language that is not mine but I hope you got my point.

_MG_5809.jpg

_MG_5810.jpg

_MG_5825.jpg

_MG_5826.jpg

_MG_5827.jpg

As it happens often, I don't have a more recent walk to share, so I traveled through my archive to the time that I was a photographer for a travel magazine and remembered that special walk for my #wednesdaywalk post, a great challenge, hosted by @tattoodjay!

Happy Wednesday, happy walks, to all of you :)

_MG_5742.jpg

The first picture of the post is my contribution to @qurator's Photo Quest. The theme this week is Minimalist.


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

a few seconds away from the best view on the island!

This is not 100% correct. This is not the place whit the best views on the island.

...

This is a place with the best views on our whole planet!! Not just on the island!

How can something be this beautiful? HOW?

Haha, I don't know about the whole planet, I am sure that there are many breathtaking places that I haven't visited but it is definitely on the top of the list of the ones that I have seen myself and absolutely mesmerising :)

its so beautiful there I love the blues and whites of the buildings it just has such a charm to it

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

It is extremely beautiful indeed, one of my favourite islands :)

Thank you for your support!

beautiful place, trust u put sunscreen

Haha, I don't remember if I put sunscreen but it is definitely beautiful :)

Thank you for stopping by!

"Beautiful in white" village.🥰 The reddish mountain and the sky made this place even more charming. It maybe too hot but I think the view was all worth it for a walk. 🚶

It was definitely worth it!

Thank you for stopping by :)

What a clean white and blues place to look around in the middle of the desert? 😍 Glad you didn't get sunburn and you took great photos 🤩

Thanks, I am glad you like them :)

Is this Mediterranean style or not? I really like this architecture. In particular, I really like the photo from above @fotostef

I don't know if it is Mediterranean style. It is considered though as a Greek traditional style although the white colour was only imposed in 1938. Some say that it was a sanitary measure against cholera (they used a solution of lime at the time, not paint), some others that it was a political measure, to emphasise the power of the dictatorship that ruled Greece. Either way they still paint the houses and the edges of the streets white as part of the Greek folklore!

Thanks for stopping by :)

Congratulations @fotostef! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 170000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 180000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2023
Announcing the Travel Reimbursement Fund for HiveFest⁸

Wow - that a place is amazing. The blue of sky is so mesmerising against the white and blue of the buildings. Plus the pink flowers - stunning !
Great pics !
!LUV
!ALIVE

@fotostef! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power and Alive Power delegations and Ecency Points in our chat every day.

@fotostef, @hoosie(5/5) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | <>< daily

Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Thank you very much @hoosie :)
I am glad you like them!

I really like it when flowers grow on balconies. It's so cozy. And the stairs are like going to heaven.

Glad you like them!
Than you for stopping by @deliberate :)

White paradise! I like the feeling and the vibes these houses have. It talks so much of art and culture. Indeed, this is a spectacular place.😊

It is, isn't it? 😀

Thank you for stopping by @netswriting :)