A Walk in the Woods

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

First things first, for all of the folks out there who are afraid of snakes, there will be two snake photos at the end of this post. You have been warned.

20221023_131852~2.jpg

My wife and I go for walks regularly to try and stay active and to entertain our dog.

20221023_132441~2.jpg

We usually stick around our house because it's easy, but it can get pretty boring walking the same residential streets day in and day out.

20221023_132924~2.jpg

I like to find new areas and new places to explore close to our home. This spot is a short 10 minute drive from where we live.

20221023_133336~2.jpg

It's a wooded space with a wide cement path running through its center with several wooded paths that make their way through the trees on either side.

20221023_132732~2.jpg

The path that we followed went along a small stream and there were way less people on it, so that was an added bonus for us.

20221023_133858~2.jpg

By the way did I mention that there will be a snake in this post?

Consider that your second warning.

20221023_132657~2.jpg

The weather has been quite nice here lately so many people had the same idea to get out of the house and into some fresh air.

20221023_135858~2.jpg

The leaves around here have mostly changed colors already and fallen from the trees

20221023_132959~2.jpg

but there are still a few hanging on, which made the space a little prettier, in an autumn-fall kind of way.

20221023_135057~2.jpg

Winter is almost upon us so we are looking at no color for many months ahead. We have to enjoy the color while it lasts I suppose.

20221023_140908~2.jpg

Speaking of winter, I've been trying to think of a good outdoor activity for my wife and I to stay active during the winter months.

20221023_133736~2.jpg

Two ideas that come to mind are snowshoeing and cross country skiing.

20221023_140848~2.jpg

I'm leaning towards cross country skiing at the moment because snowshoeing is pointless if you cant find ungroomed trails with really deep snow and that isn't so common around where we live. I'd have to drive up north to make the activity worth it I think.

20221023_140841~2.jpg

Ideally I wouldn't want to drive too far to find interesting places to snowshoe. I probably wouldn't do it at all if it was too much hassle to make it happen. On the other hand, there are skiing trails all around where we live, including the one in this post so that does seem like a viable option.

20221023_135032~2.jpg

Downhill skiing would be an option as well but it's way more expensive to buy the equipment and generally to make a single day out of it given how expensive lift passes tend to be. The drive is always an issue as well, because there are only a few hills in our area and they are still about a 2+ hour drive away.

20221023_140822~2.jpg

I'm not a huge fan of downhill skiing anyway and often find it to be a hassle with how busy hills get, not to mention the traffic, the parking and the lines waiting for lifts up the mountain.

By the way the snake will be appearing after this photo. There, I've warned you 3 times now, so don't complain to me later.

20221023_140857~2.jpg

Anyway, that is where I'm at with our winter activity plans. If anyone has any other suggestions feel free to let me know in the comments.

Okay here comes the snake!!!


20221023_134957~2.jpg

We saw this little guy on our walk. It was only about 12 inches long, so nothing to be afraid of. The hype was way more than it needed to be but I tell you, it had to be done for all of the people who are afraid of them.

20221023_134947~2.jpg

Well thats it for now. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

Thanks for the warning. 👍
I will give you a full vote in appreciation of the warning, and I will only assume that it's a great post since it's a walk in the woods:)

Haha thanks, I appreciate it. I have 4 warnings in total throughout so no one can give me a hard time over no preparing them.

What the funk!??! Why didn't you warn us about the snakes!!! ;OD

A splendid looking autumnal walk. I always love a straight tree of three!

Haha I had to throw a lot of warnings in there just to make sure it was seen 😅

Tis the season for autumnal walks. Actually is pretty much over. The leaves have almost entirely fell already

I was quite impressed with the snakes. Although I don't know if I would be so happy seeing them in real life. I probably would but as we don't really get them here who knows. I might flip!

These ones are harmless and it was quite small, so you'd probably be okay. They mostly just scurry away from you lol

I would catch em and make myself a belt then!

Haha that could work 😆

Hahaha I don’t like snakes, but I still continued even after all of your warnings. But they are fine on-line… just in real life… nope. !LOL

How wonderful to have this walk close by. It is definitely a nice change than walking around your house.
Beautiful fall colours. And your dog is for sure entertained 🤩😊
Thanks for taking us along on your walk @leaky20 😊
Enjoy your evening!

Why did the farmer dress his pig in an apron?
Pretty soon he would be bacon.

Credit: reddit
@leaky20, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @littlebee4

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(1/4)

Yeah some people are afraid to even look at them so it's best to give a warning anyway. Yeah, having the walk close by is quite nice. New scenery is always good. Spice it up a bit lol

Yep, I fully understand…
Exactly, a change of scenery does spice things up once in a while hehehe 🤭
Have a good evening!

That's a mighty big warning for one little garter snake :-) For your winter outdoor activity, have you considered camping? (In a tent, not an RV.) It needs a bit of equipment, but from what I understand there is a lot of crown land around you to spend time and enjoy nature.

I know, right haha.
I've been camping and like it, but my wife isn't into it. It would be enjoyable as a summer activity but not so much (for us) as a winter one. It gets way too cold here to be enjoyable for us. Ice fishing for the day would be as close to winter camping as I could do I think. I like the suggestion though.

Happy wife, happy life. And vice versa. 😀

Haha that's true. Most people don't say and vice versa though lol

Your warning only made me curious that I scrolled all the way down, disappointed... it's like a size of a toothpick 🤣😁 but Ok, I'm scared no matter what the size is.

Haha I know. I thought the same thing. It had to be done though. The people who are afraid of them will see it and envision it as a 30 foot long snake wrapped around them squeezing the life out them... lol

Looks like a lovely place for a walk ! And I really liked the pics of the snake !

Glad you liked it. 👍
It was a cute little guy.

I am scared to walk in woods. Black and white stripe having snakes is dangerous for me. Autumn had shed many leaves in your friend. You can enjoy the company of little German Shepherd.

The snakes we have in Canada are harmless. Mostly just small garter snakes like this one. Many people are still afraid of them though.

Even I was afraid after first glimpse.

If I had a hive for everytime you snake warned us, I would be a freaking whale! :D

Jokes aside though, if those warnings weren't there, those last two photos would have made hell of a jump scare!

Wait a minute, isn't downhill skiing just the same thing as regular skiing?

Haha yeah a jump scare for people who are afraid of them for sure.

I was referring to cross-country skiing which is different but maybe I forgot the "cross country" in the portion you were referring to 😆
Generally I would say that the term "skiing" applies to downhill/alpine skiing

Oh... I see. That makes a lot sense now😅

Cool!

To walk around the same place all the times can really be boring, you make a good choice to see a new environment Nice, I can see the dog was enjoying itself in the walk, it demonstration in the picture speak of that, snake make some people frightened, I remember I used to felt it some times ago, but never again, nice Walk.

Yeah it's a nice spot and the dog really enjoyed himself. The snake was harmless. We don't have any poisonous or dangerous snakes where I live - luckily

Wow! I haven't heard of that before, why is it so, like snake are not dangerous, is there anything done to them to stop them from being dangerous?

They aren't poisonous, they avoid humans, they don't attack and probably wouldn't bite unless you tried to pick them up, and these ones have small teeth so I dont think it would do much damage if it did bite aside from a freak accident. It would be like being bit by a mouse, unpleasant but likely not deadly -
so not really dangerous

Thank you for sharing, those areas are very good.

You're welcome 😊

Snakes are fine they are just big worms really. Just do not mention spiders and moths!

Hmm moths huh. That's a new one. You don't hear about moth fears very often

I think I have already said it.....

we walk amongst you!

Haha that's true. You're two for two in oddities haha. You must be an interesting person. That definitely beats being boring

I hope so, life is too short to be mundane !!

So true. 😁