Wednesday walk: Oh so green with a splash of color

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

Today was a beautiful blue sky day. It was the perfect day for a walk in a park. There are many parks in the city but I chose to visit Beatrixpark which is named after the previous queen of the Netherlands.
The park was originally created in the 1930's and renamed after the war. Despite its wartime origins, it has a romantic feel to it.

There is a small lake with a fountain,
img_7215.heic
and nearby are colorful rhododendroms.
img_7212.heic

This open landscape area is perfect for picnics
img_7221.heic

or these areas under the trees.
img_7228.heic

img_7232.heic

My favourite spots are any grassy areas under the numerous weeping willows.
img_7226.heic

The park is always clean and quiet except on days like this when families take their children to the small swimming pool by the pavilion. Photos are not allow unless you are with your children. Here is a glimpse of the pavilion by the "ice-cream and snack place."
img_7247.heic

Look at these majestic trees - they have claimed there spots and do not go unnoticed.
img_7224.heic

I also love this area which is left a bit more wild. It looks like the grass is dusted with something yellow - yes - they are creeping buttercups.
img_7217.heic

It is a great place to visit by foot or bicycle on these well defined cycling paths
img_7233.heic

or by boat on the bordering canal.
img_7250.heic

If you would like to truly have peace and quiet - walk through these arches-
img_7239.heic

there is also a spot for you - in the medicinal herbal garden.
img_7236.heic

I hope you enjoyed my walk to one of my favorite places !!

Sort:  

what a delightful park, the greens so fresh and lush

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I am happy you dropped by and that you enjoyed the visit. Thanks for your comment.
You just journeyed to Amsterdam. I know exactly how you feel with foreign blogs - that is the beauty of our global reach.

one thing I love about hosting the Wednesday Walk is seeing walks from all around the globe, sometimes places I havent been, and sometimes places I have

I visited Amsterdam a few times, but dont think I ever made it tot hat park

This park like many others are not as popular as the park near the center called Vondelpark - Beatrixpark in the south of the city.

I know I visited one park there but honestly dont know which one

Aww that is ok. I will certainly visit more parks and share them with Wednesday walk.

I will look forward to seeing them :)

Congratulations @momogrow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 2000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Oh my, that's a beautiful place to be! I love that it is mostly green! The lake is so serene too.

Hello @ifarmgirl - it is a beautiful green space and there is always a quiet spot.

Hello too :) Yes, It seems mostly quiet there. It's nice to spend more time in places like that.

Nice park to escape from the crowded city!

Indeed - it is an escape and there is always a quiet spot if needed.

Thanks for the wonderful photos. Momo.

You are welcome @sayee. Amsterdam is full of little oases like this one - but I especially like this park.

SWEET. Can you do the Vondelpark Next time I miss those places..have not been back for years
!CTP

Haha - absolutely - I was just there for a drink a few days ago. I love that park too but I visit for a different experience. Next walk - Vondelpark - to help your nostalgia!!! By the way, I have a few photos here of Vondelpark . I am sure you will recognise which ones are from there.

What a lovely place! !CTP !BBH

Thanks - it is indeed. What I love about it as well is how it canges with each season.

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

Many thanks

Awesome looking park @momogrow. It looks very peaceful.

Yes it is. One of the oases in the city. Truly a place to escape to.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

What beautiful pictures. Reminds me of how much I love Spring. We don't get much Springtime where I live. So thanks for sharing these. That park looks so peaceful.
!CTP

Many thanks. It is very peaceful - seems like the trees buffer it from any city noise. Yes spring is lovely- everything burst into being. Love it too.

You're very welcome, @momogrow! That is a good thing. Enjoy your weekend. 😀
!CTP

Same to you

Thank you, @momogrow! Happy Wednesday. 😀

Hey! another Dutchie!
Even as a compatriot I never heard of this park before. But it looks very nice!
Those rhododendrons are huge. Very beautiful.

Haha yes - a transplant really but been here long enough to say I AMsterdam. Yes it is a lovely small park which I never get tired of walking around. The rhododendrons are indeed huge and gorgeous.

What a wonderful walk -- thanks for taking us along!

Thank you for sharing your beautiful day in the park. Great photos showing how nice the park is. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you - it was my pleasure to share one of my favourite places.