Sort:  

That is very cool! Since I'm not a mushroom eater I may start looking for edible plants to gather, I know a few and they are always in the onion and garlic families.

There are lots of good medicinals too like dandelion and burdock root. Beware the poisonous lookalikes though. There are wild onions here but there is a deadly lookalike called death camas.

Thanks! I'll check out the video.

Deadly Camas is fairly easy to distinguish as it doesn't have the powerful smell of wild onions or garlic.

That's kind of what I gathered from the video, and I'm pretty sure I know wild onions I've picked them since I was a kid and the smell is so good when your out in the woods.

There was some old museum I went to on native Americans in in Utah trading these poisonous death camas to the settlers as a sort of revenge. We have discovered the mild tasting onion lol.

Oh boy that was harsh, but in their minds it was what they thought needed to be done. I guess that was a tricky way of getting rid of the enemy without repercussions.