Wednesday Walk - Spring Wild Flowers and No Mushrooms :-(

Here are some views of early spring for #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay

20210321_141821.jpg
They spring days have been bright around here lately.

20210404_154805.jpg
Sunshine is a nice change from the dark winter we had here in Illinois. However it is nice to get plenty of rain in April so all the plants and fungi can grow.

20210321_142232.jpg
These snowdrop wildflowers seem to be getting moisture from around the tree.

20210321_142244.jpg
These little guys are some of the first to come out in spring.

20210405_174554.jpg
Bloodroots are also starting to unfurl and bloom.

20210405_180925.jpg
Bloodroots are all over the place in the shade of hills and kind of remind me of miniature tulips.

20210405_174838.jpg
Trilliums are starting to leaf out as well. Soon they will be forming little red petals in the middle.

20210405_174935.jpg
I have no idea what this little blue wildflower is called. My best guess is Common Grape Hyacinth.

20210405_182506.jpg
This might be a bloomed out version of the previous but it is probably Glory-of-the-Snow aka Chionodoxa luciliae.

20210405_180833.jpg
This looks like a type of Winter Aconite but I'm not certain...

20210321_142749.jpg
I know this early spring plant well. This is garlic mustard that is an ok tasting edible if you harvest it early enough. It kind of tastes like a garlic spinach when young like this, but if you wait too long to harvest, it tastes really bitter as it ages.

20210405_175353.jpg
On my walk I also came across a tiny little skull.

20210405_175330.jpg
I'm guessing its probably a possum with the nose and eye sockets broken off. Or possibly a baby raccoon who knows. Whatever it is it's kind of a mystery. On these nature walks you always end up finding something that winter killed off and the snow leaves behind.

That's all for this #wednesdaywalk :-) hopefully it rains soon so I can find some morels.

Sort:  

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

You have a lot of knowledge on spring plants, I know a few but I'm impressed, I enjoyed your spring walk it was refreshing.

I try and learn edible plants when I can find no mushrooms out. So far I've made a pesto pizza with the garlic mustard. Turned out pretty good just needs lemon to balance out the tiny bit of bitterness.

That is very cool! Since I'm not a mushroom eater I may start looking for edible plants to gather, I know a few and they are always in the onion and garlic families.

There are lots of good medicinals too like dandelion and burdock root. Beware the poisonous lookalikes though. There are wild onions here but there is a deadly lookalike called death camas.

Thanks! I'll check out the video.

Deadly Camas is fairly easy to distinguish as it doesn't have the powerful smell of wild onions or garlic.

That's kind of what I gathered from the video, and I'm pretty sure I know wild onions I've picked them since I was a kid and the smell is so good when your out in the woods.

Nice blue sky! The snowdrops are very dainty. It’s a nice warm day for your walk!

It finally started raining today so hopefully more flowers will be out as well as mushrooms.

Oh! I’ll tell the mushrooms to migrate somewhere else! LoL

Haha they have to watch out for me their ultimate predator.

Ya! Very scary! Hahaha.

Spring walks are the best so refreshing and colorful with all them flowers sprouting out.

The only problem is my sneezing allergies lol.

Oh..damn that would be annoying.

Perfect picture guess.
I love looking at your pictures of the sky and pretty flowers.

Thanks, spring is the best time of year for everything.

Yeah.
We should be able to enjoy the best of that time ....

Very beautiful photos! I'm also waiting for snowdrops, but the weather is abnormally cold this year ... (

You must be much farther north than me. The spring rain has finally started so lets hope the morels start growing around here.

This year is anomalous for us, the snowdrops should have already disappeared, but are just beginning, and morels should also grow, but alas ...

Your first guess is right, grape hyacinths. But your second is off, not chiondoxa but siberian squill. Mine are just opening today.

I'll have to remember that it's all over the place right now. I found a ton of mushrooms today just not the prime morel kind, need a couple more rains for them to start coming out.