An almost surreal walk in the town of Chirpan

in Wednesday Walk8 months ago

IMG_20231009_203645.jpg

There's no better way to start your day, right? A person sometimes forgets about the impact of symbols on his psyche, as well as on his life itself.
But let me clarify. Here, in my post for this Wednesday Walk, I start my day in a specific Bulgarian town called Chirpan.

IMG_20231009_203818.jpg

I've written about it another time, describing its architectural and other specifics, but today's post will just be a few shots of a walk starting at a cafe with a heart early in the morning.

IMG_20231009_203736.jpg

I don't even remember the name of this cafe. We got this far after previously eating Bulgarian patties sitting on a bench in the city park. I have been visiting this city once a year for the past few years to meet up with acquaintances and I am really interested in how this city is developing.

IMG_20231009_203801.jpg

Caffè Vergnano - just recently and completely by chance I read that Coca Cola is a distributor of this brand for Bulgaria.
1882 - really? In fact, I must admit that I think I have never come across this brand of coffee anywhere else in Bulgaria.

IMG_20231009_203852.jpg

After the coffee I actually went into a very hidden shop, so hidden I'm sure only the locals know how to get there and a really local guy took me there. To buy a bathing suit. I bought it there. Indeed. This was extremely surprising after a month or so of trying unsuccessfully to buy among all the various types of Chinese swimsuits flooding the shops that either weren't my size or didn't fit me well. Therefore, this incident was another proof that this city is as strange as it is exceptional in my eyes.

IMG_20231009_203906.jpg

But what I'm already showing you is the exhibition hall building, part of the city's historical museum. It is a building with exceptional architecture and facade decoration, preserved for at least 100 years in my opinion, about which unfortunately I could not find any information on the Internet. And when I say preserved, this is a rather relative definition of a historical building in the country, where it is rare and very difficult for the state to take care of such an object. Too bad.

IMG_20231009_203928.jpg

The funny thing about this is that as you can see the poor condition of this lovely building, it was actually closed for renovations inside, so I couldn't go in and see the interior.

But as I admired the facade, I noticed this:

IMG_20231009_203954.jpg

I love the way inventive and enterprising people come up with even endlessly interesting names for their brands or businesses, I love this play on words and meaning that makes you stare, think and finally smile.

IMG_20231009_204027.jpg

This brand, or this cafe, is only from this year. Congratulations!

IMG_20231009_204059.jpg

Modern buildings are not abundant in Chirpan, but there are still quite a few old buildings, some really well maintained.
Here is one such.
I could guess that there are elements of Art Nouveau or Art Nouveau Revival style here, but these are just guesses. The most important thing in this case is that these buildings continue to please the eye and preserve and carry a special spirit of the city, a spirit that clearly comes from a time of prosperity that has nothing to do with the current time and situation.

IMG_20231009_204126.jpg

Then there are the street specifics and I have to tell you that I didn't take many pictures that day, I just didn't feel like taking pictures. And street specificities abound in this city.

IMG_20231009_204148.jpg

Here, for example, is the Bulgarian flag, along with two of its national heroes from the liberation of the country from Turkish slavery at the end of the 19th century, placed next to the images of several scary animals - street art on a garage that deals in car parts.

IMG_20231009_204212.jpg

A little further down the street I came across this rather scary looking machine whose name I don't know. Parked in front of door number 13, lol. Quite symbolic, don't you think?

IMG_20231009_204527.jpg

Then I gave up taking pictures until I sat down to lunch at a restaurant that had signs posted in the yard with the history of the Rotary Club - globally and locally. Apparently this restaurant is somehow connected to this organization, but I didn't really understand how.

So with this Wednesday walk, this town showed once again how many and varied faces it has. Almost surreally incongruous, almost unreal, almost as if from some other world.

Happy #WednesdayWalk to you all!


Copyright: @soulsdetour


Hive.jpgSoul's Detour is a project started by me years ago when I had a blog about historical and not so popular tourist destinations in Eastern Belgium, West Germany and Luxembourg. Nowadays, this blog no longer exists, but I'm still here - passionate about architecture, art and mysteries and eager to share my discoveries and point of view with you.
Sort:  

I can tell it was a lovely walk, nice weather, quite interesting architecture and perfectly looking beverage! :)
Absolutely gorgeous post, thank you!

!DHEDGE
!PIMP
!PGM

That is right !LUV And I have to admit that I was a little suspicious of this city, but after I managed to buy a swimsuit there, everything changed !LOL Every city has its secret ways of attracting people, right? 😃

@lightcaptured, @soulsdetour(3/4) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Right!
Also, I know around that city there are a few great wineries too :)

!PGM
!LOLZ

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


We all need to learn to live with our mistakes.
Which is why I still live with my parents.

Credit: reddit
@soulsdetour, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of lightcaptured

(2/4)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ


You must be killin' it out here!
@lightcaptured just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @soulsdetour.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS - 0.01 WOO - 0.005 SCRAP tokens

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @lightcaptured! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.neoxag
- @dhedge.waiv
- @dhedge.alive

@lightcaptured has 10 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

I love the name of the coffee shop too. Same here I like the play of words. That's one scary bike 😱. Heheh!

Haha, I'm glad these things managed to caught your attention 😊
!PIZZA

What a beautiful place to meet with friends and acquaintances, eating empadas on a bench in the square seems like a great experience to me, I love the decoration of the cafe, as gratifying as the infusion itself
It doesn't surprise me that you visit the city every year, it looks very beautiful and busy. beautiful photographs, thank you very much for sharing this experience
Have a great day

I already knew that this city was very specific, but it was as if this time, in this last visit, I was able to feel it completely. The sun was shining, eating a pie on the park bench allowed me to eavesdrop on the conversations of the locals, which is always useful when you want to get to know a place.
I'm glad you liked it too. 😊
Have an awesome day!
!PIZZA

Such vibrant colors!

Glad you liked them 😊 !PIZZA

looks like a nice day and a beautiful walk such cool buildings they have style

I always love seeing the patterns some do on coffee, but since I cant stand coffee or hot drinks for that matter i will never try one

Thanks for joining the Wednesday Walk :)

They really have style. There is a period of the country's development when people built with taste and money - the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century. This period has no analogue in history so far.
I'm always interested in how the patterns are made on the coffee. It seems difficult, but maybe it isn't. I also can't stand hot drinks, so I don't drink tea for example, but the coffee I drink is never hot and everything is fine with it.

MOstly I drink water these day s

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much for the support! 😊

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
soulsdetour tipped bluepark
@tydynrain(3/5) tipped @soulsdetour
soulsdetour tipped tydynrain
soulsdetour tipped jlufer
soulsdetour tipped danigada18

Fascinating place you shared. First off, mmm the coffee looks yummy. It's interesting how old architecture co-exists with new buildings. Nice looking coffee shop too. I would have loved the chance to explore and visit new coffee shops. Thank you for sharing your story and photos. Happy #thankfulThursday!


Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #aliveandthriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving, plus @youarealive is following our Curation Trail.

This place is a colorful mixture of everything - old and new, poor and rich, and there are many interesting things in between. I would have gone into the second cafe too, but there was simply more to see from the city than just going from one cafe to another 😊.
Have a great weekend ahead!
!LUV

@aliveandthriving, @soulsdetour(1/4) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

I see why you return there every year! Very cool place indeed! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙



Made in Canva

!LOLZ

- @tydynrain - Comment Moderator

What did the icicle say to the other icicle?
Nothing, they just hung out and chilled.

Credit: reddit
@soulsdetour, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of aliveandthriving

(1/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

@soulsdetour! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ aliveandthriving. (5/40)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

What a cool and fascinating town! Those are some pretty amazing older buildings there! Your story and perspective about it is also very interesting! Thanks much for sharing this gem! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

It's interesting how with just a few pictures one can convey things that could normally only be felt on the spot. Glad you like it! 😊
!LUV
!PIZZA

@tydynrain, @soulsdetour(1/4) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Indeed, I agree, that's very true! Yes, very much! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

!LUV
!PIZZA

@soulsdetour, @tydynrain(3/5) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx