Wednesday Walk in Forestry Academy Park

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago (edited)

PXL_20220531_134640139.jpg
Forestry Academy, main building

This morning I didn't know what to expect from the weather. It was overcast outside, and the forecast said "sometimes rain, sometimes sun". Not a good forecast for a trip out of town, is it? But that's no reason to sit at home all day.

PXL_20220531_134745021.jpg
Jensen park vase in the park of the Forestry Academy

So, I decided to go for a walk in one of the city parks. I wanted to go somewhere I didn't know too well. All the parks near my house are well known to me, and all the paths in them have been walked many times. These parks remain just as beautiful, but I wanted a new experience.

PXL_20220531_140944102.jpg
Pond in the park near the main building

I rarely go to the northern parts of the city. Getting to these areas is not very convenient for me, it is easy to get into traffic jams when using the ground method of travel. Therefore, the route is built as follows: "go to the subway - a few subway stops - go from the subway to the park"... in other words, it is faster and easier to get to some suburban parks than to the parks in the northern areas of the city.

PXL_20220531_151304546.jpg
Hospital building with pharmacy, 1880s

I chose a park to walk to almost at random; I looked at a map and chose the green space that seemed more easily accessible. There were only a couple of stops from the subway to the entrance to this park that I could walk to, and plenty of public transportation nearby.

PXL_20220531_133922873.jpg
Faculty block

My choice was Forestry Academy Park. I formed my expectations based on the location of the institute and its name. I expected to see modern academic buildings - something of glass and concrete, and a park of exotic tree species around it. How wrong I was!

PXL_20220531_135055578.jpg
Faculty block

PXL_20220531_135156311.jpg
Faculty block

The Forest Institute, aka Forestry Academy, was founded at the very beginning of the 19th century. The Institute occupied the wooden buildings of an old farm on the outskirts of St. Petersburg. In 1820's - in 1830's for the Institute was built a large stone academic building, but the old wooden buildings also continued to be used. Moreover, some of these wooden buildings have survived to this day.

PXL_20220531_132701534.jpg
A large wooden professor's wing, the 1830s

PXL_20220531_132917515.PORTRAIT.jpg

PXL_20220531_132920885.PORTRAIT.jpg
Forget-me-not flowers near the professor's wing

As for the park, it grows the most common trees for the average strip. Exotic plants you can also find, but not in the park, but nearby, in the educational Botanical Garden. Unlike the park, this Botanical Garden is not freely accessible, and I could not find any information about tours.

PXL_20220531_142259570.jpg
Fence of a long pond

The weather remained overcast at the beginning of my walk, but gradually the blue gaps in the sky grew larger and larger, and finally the sun peeked out. I had already traversed the park from east to west, and then I found myself near its border, on Bolshoi Sampsonievsky Prospect.

PXL_20220531_142903813.jpg

PXL_20220531_143621947.jpg
Bolshoi Sampsonievsky Prospekt

There were a few old houses there, but the main part of the houses was modern. But I took one picture in which the new buildings are almost invisible, and it may seem that you are in the last century: the old houses and the old railroad bridge.

PXL_20220531_144406876.jpg

My idea was to take the streetcar to go towards home. It was miserable to leave - the weather had just gotten better, but I was going to stick to my plan. The streetcar came to the stop, and I was ready to go inside - but it turned out that the streetcar had finished its work day and was going to the streetcar depot! I was involuntarily glad that I didn't have to leave right away... so I thought it was a sign and went back to the park to walk around some more.

PXL_20220531_145054804.jpg
An academic building in the northern part of the park

I hadn't been to the north end of the park yet, so that's where I headed. I saw some more nice old buildings. I was intrigued by a mysterious structure on the wall of one of the buildings. What was it? Judging by its chimney, it was an oven of some kind, but why was it so strangely located? This construction attracted not only my attention, a group of young people taking selfies on its background.

PXL_20220531_145304637.jpg
Bam! Autumn is here

Farther along I came across an unexpected warning "Bam! Autumn is here" the inscription on the wall of a transformer booth informed me. Indeed, summer in our latitudes is so short that before you know it, it will be autumn. Not a single hour should be missed! But for now it's still June, and we can walk through the parks and rejoice in the blossoms of bird cherry and apple trees.

PXL_20220531_145340070.jpg
Janitor's cottage

PXL_20220531_145348260.jpg

PXL_20220531_145921523.jpg

SmartphoneGoogle Pixel 3a
LocationSaint Petersburg, Russia

This is my entry for the #WednesdayWalk challenge by @tattoodjay.

Sort:  

What a gorgeous park, cool buildings, waterways and beautiful flowers,
that vase is awesome

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

This park turned out to be much more interesting than I thought it would be! Thank you!

OHh yes well worth the subway ride and adventuring somewhere new

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I’m glad you walked this walk and showed us your pretty photographs.
The weather can sometimes be changing quickly.
What a great park. I love the architecture of the buildings you show us. They are stunning.
I truly enjoyed walking along 😁👋🏻 Enjoy your Wednesday further ☀️

I didn't expect to find a preserve of ancient wooden architecture:) Thank you so much!

Always great when that happens. It looked stunning 🤩
You are welcome 👋🏻☀️

Oh, the last pictures says it all @tatdt!

The park was so peaceful and the buildings are just another hidden gen within the hidden gem of St. Petersburg. I am so happy that you have such an appreciation for architecture and old buildings, the use of such things as the fireplaces, and people in general.

It is always a wonderful day to go along with you! Thank you!

I really love architecture and I really enjoy these walks! Especially when I get to see something unusual. Thank you very much!

Congratulations @tatdt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 850 posts.
Your next target is to reach 900 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-05 - Winners List
Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day

Beautiful. Never knew this institute is so old and never knew they have all these nice historical buildings in the park.

I didn't know either :) there's plenty more to see there, I can safely recommend this park for a walk!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1581.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much!

Hi @tatdt, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you so much!

Great walk! Another proof not to judge by the cover 😁 The park feels romantic just like everything else in Saint Petersburg.

This park was not at all what I expected - but it turned out even more interesting! Thank you so much!