Our Night Walk at the Scrabo Hill

in Wednesday Walk2 years ago

It felt like walking in Jurrasic Park. With the ferns surrounding the hill, I thought there will be a dinosaur that will be showing up and chasing us.

It's me and my husband's night walk. This is our bonding moment. Just 5 kilometres at night at least 5000 steps and that will make up my 10, 000 steps a day. We started early around 6:30 pm as I have to be home to get the school stuff ready for tomorrow.

20220830_194to5.jpg

This time we are going at the Scrabo. Like we always go here for a stroll most of the time at the Tower or at the Killynether Woods. We enjoy the panoramic view at the top but this time we went on a different way. I never knew there's another nice walking grounds here at the Scrabo Hill.

This would be exciting!

20220830_191232_01.jpg

If losing some calories is not enough motivation may be a stunning view up here will make you walk more.

You got a lovely view of the fields and the Strangford Lough.

20220830_190641_01.jpg

There are many couples, some families with their dogs are out here this time of night.

20220830_200421.jpg

Some path are narrow. Everywhere you look is nature. Plants trees and the Scrabo stones all over the place. Speaking of plants, ferns are everywhere. Ferns are one of the oldest plants on earth. Stegosaurus and triceratops favourites!

20220830_235926.jpg

And on some paths, I will be scared walking if it gets dark. Some trees look enchanting that if I don't hurry up walking I will be left behind.

20220830_195616.jpg

20220830_194259.jpg

Also plenty of blackberries everywhere. Some people come just to pick some berries to make it a jam.

20220830_202343.jpg

The South Quarry

20220830_191722.jpg

My husband knows that there are quarries here but didn't remember being in them. So now, we explore it together.

20220830_192514.jpg

This is interesting let me tell you about the Scrabo Hill. This is a very unique place in Ireland as this hill is formed from the sandstone of a kind nowhere else in Northern Ireland. It's capped by a very hard volcanic rock called 'dolerite'.

You can imagine the noise in this place on those days because for 800 years Scrabo Stone was quarried in this hill.

You know the Albert Memorial Clock that I shared from yesterday's blog? That is made from Scrabo Stones. Our Newtownards Town Hall and the Scrabo Tower are all made from Scrabo stones.

This is now a haven to wildlife. Birds made this their new home.

IMG-20220830-WA0011.jpg

The North Quarry

20220830_195505.jpg

20220830_195410.jpg

20220830_200049.jpg

So at the Scrabo Hill, we have North and South Quarry. As you can see these quarries display mud cracks, ripple marks, current bedding and volcanic intrusions which is fascinating to see.

At the end of our walk I can say I made my 10000 walk for the day!

Screenshot_20220830-231428_Samsung Health.jpg

What an absolutely wonderful time we had! The place is unreal and walking is such a pleasure. The Scrabo Country Park is one of the beautiful places that you should visit here in Northern Ireland.

png_20220831_005652_0000.png

Sort:  

Beautiful bonding sis. The photos were like those that I can only see in magazines. You're living the best life. Thanks for sharing us the beauty of the world for your perspective.

Congratulations @tiredmomma! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 9th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hopefully I can Power up every month! 😊 Thank you so much.

Happy Hive PUD @tiredmomma 💪🐝

What a beautiful Walk, you thought of Jurassic Park, in contrast for me some of your photos made me think of the Sound of Music, or the Song the Hills are alive with the sound of Music

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I can see what you seeing 😊 But lol whenever we walking at the darker part only ferns and tall trees around made us and I started imagining crazy stuff but glad there's no snakes here. 😁

Thank you, dear.

NO snakes there is indeed a good think, the last walk on a trail my wife went with me, she saw a snake, hasnt been for a trail walk since LOL

What an interesting walk!... That's the great thing about looking at pictures on #Hive, it's helped me to learn about some beautiful places... And today I learned that in Northern Ireland there can be hills full of ferns!... (I love ferns, here in Venezuela are easy to grow this because of the climate ;-) )

You take very nice pictures, it's a lovely article, thanks for sharing!....

!discovery 30

Thank you and I appreciate and glad that you like it!

And wow you also got loads of ferns in Venezuela, awesome!

A beautiful walking path :) ... I'm guessing you will be doing a lot of exploring there 🙌 Are you using Actifit?

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project - to get the maximum benefit, please consider using the VYB and Proofofbrain tags

Hello, my dear! Lovely to see you. 😊 And no Im not using actifit yet. Will check that out as many told me about that as well.

I'll be sharing a lot. 😁 Thank you!

I'm glad you are here :) Have you heard about Leo Threads?

!PIZZA !ALIVE

It looks majestic in the daytime, I wonder what it looks like at night?
Walking and picking blackberries is a nice routine for those who come for the jam. Free food along the way.

That's nightime dear. :) And lol yes I eat them along the way too!

Wahhh I thought it's daytime ate 'cause it's not yet dark. 6:30pm surely looks an afternoon for me based on the pictures haha

I understand @cthings as it started to get dark here by 9 but during summer the sky is clear till 11 at night. 😊

I love this kind of walk, walking around nature feels like connecting to it deeply.
Did you pick and eat the blueberries? Love it!
Walking on a narrow path is quite dangerous; you don't know if a snake is coming.
Just kidding!

Thank you, Denn! Yes we eat those blackberries too! 😁 And ilyou may not believe it but there's no snakes here.

Congratulations @tiredmomma! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yieehhha! 😍

Wow this is stunning!! I had to google it. What a special landscape. And so nice to go for a walk with the hubs as well to spend that time together!

We've got loads of amazing places here. Thank you and I'm glad that you appreciate it. 😊


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(13/15) tipped @tiredmomma (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations @tiredmomma! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Be ready for the 9th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!