Special Commission: Creating 20 Stones for a 20th Anniversary

in OnChainArt2 years ago

We have no shortage of "familial nepotism" around here, and one of my current stone painting commissions is to create 20 stones to commemorate the 20th anniversary of The White Light Express, my wife's non-profit organization.

AS074-WLEFinal.jpg
One of the finished stones. Pretty happy with the final result

The purpose in doing so was both to commemorate the Anniversary, as well as to have the organization sell those stones as a fundraiser.

I thought it would be a good opportunity to share part of the process behind the occasional (quite rare, actually) special commission I take on.

Since I don't actually do "figurative" work, my starting point tends to be the use of color in a client's web presence or logos.

AS074-WLE-Website.JPG
Screen shot of the White Light Express' web site, showing one set of colors

AS074-WLE-HiveHeader.JPG
Screen shot of White Light Express' Hive header

Since the 8-petaled stylized lotus is a central part of all White Light Express "livery," starting with an 8-pointed star-like design seemed like the best approach.

The photo below shows a partially painted "prototype" stone, just playing with the colors. Yes, a lot of time goes into this!

AS074-RawWLEPartial.jpg
Early experiments with using this color set

Since that seemed to be working fairly well on this smaller stone, I went back and strengthened the colors, and finished off the design with the outermost ring being in white, something I felt I should keep consistent for the entire 20 stones.

There were a couple of "flubs" that I am not going to share here, but the below was the first successfully finished stone for the project.
AS074-RawWLE.JPG
First finished "prototype" stone

The request was to be able to offer stones for sale in several different sizes, corresponding to different levels of donations.

The next part of the task becomes to create *"variations" on the design for different scales, keeping certain elements and the colors consistent, while still making each stone quite unique.

In time, the first six stones were completed, ranging in sizes from about 2 1/4" (55mm) to about 3 1/2" (85mm) in diameter.

AS074-RawSix.jpg
The first six finished stones ready to get their finish coat

Ideally, these would correspond to being gifts for a $20-$50 donation (small stone), a $50-$100 donation (medium stone) and a $100+ donation (large stone, which I have not yet made).

Below, you can see those same six stones, with their finish coats applied.

AS074-FinishedSix.jpg
...And the first six stones all ready to deliver!

Now I just need to paint 14 more stones along roughly the same lines, with the intention of ultimately ending up with maybe 12 "small," 5 "medium" and 3 "large" stones.

The project will actually finish with a 21st stone, in a very large size that will end up permanently on the White Light Express altar.

For the most part, I don't like doing "custom" orders due to time pressures and the number of clients needing literally dozens of prototypes before they are happy. This this one is an "inside job," I don't mind too much!

Thanks for stopping by!

AS-0000-Spacer.jpg

Because I am trying to make some semblance of income — a part time living, even — I now add this footer to all my posts, in the hope that someone, somewhere, might decide to take a further look at my work, and perhaps consider supporting independent art.

Thank you, in advance, for your consideration and support!

My Alchemy Stones Patreon appeal

Alchemy Stones web site and blog

Alchemy Stones on eBay

Alchemy Stones on Etsy

Alchemy Stones on Facebook

Regardless, your upvotes and comments are always appreciated!

Thank you for supporting independent art!

2021.12.17 AS-TXT-074/040

Sort:  

Hey man I am looking over your stuff as I find it intriguing! May I suggest editing your introduction post to exclude Steem and insert Hive in order to add to your bottom of post links? It is a great introduction post! I love your energy and honest love you put on display for this age old craft you partake in! Thanks for being a community leader on Hive, helping communities and showing love! Keep up the amazing designs on the rocks!❤️

https://peakd.com/introduceyourself/@alchemystones/introduction-alchemy-stones-joins-the-steemit-art-and-creative-community

Thank you for the suggestion @dynamichivers, I shall probably just write a completely fresh introduction post for Hive, since a fair bit has happened since that original post; I do different things and would like to have current work in a post to add to the end of my posts.

Still getting the hang of the community thing... I was not the one who started Hive Rocks, but it was more or less punted into my corner, so I'm taking the challenge to see what can be done with it.

I understand all of all of this but you are great Hivian for taking up community leadership role to help further great content and art on Hive! I appreciate your efforts! I look forward to your new intro post!

This is really lovely, I admire artwork a lot even if I cannot claim to be skilled with artworks.

Thank you! As an artist friend once remarked: "Both the creator of the art and the observer/appreciator of the art have equally important roles."