Knights of the round table - sand sculpture

in OnChainArt4 years ago



King Arthur and his knights have spawned many a story and movie and now it is time to get its sand sculpture treatment.

It was a fitting location in the grounds of Heonbrock Castle, The Netherregions. I was tasked with three others to make this strange composition. It was strange because it was a round sculpture where most of the action took place within and the viewer only had one clear viewing angle.



Like is always the case some heavy sand moving was needed to bring the composition more in line with how us sculptors thought it should be. Luckily we were able to use a digger to add sand to the outer wall to further hide the view except from the one sweet spot. I really liked the idea that we would be carving many details which would be lost to the public but we knew were there.



On the team we had one sculptor who had no experience with sand. Unfortunately, I can't remember his name but what he lacked in experience he made up for in being a jolly fun guy to be around and he really did try his best to make a nice sculpture.

Having four people of very different styles and experience levels needing to make 12 different figures called for a novel approach. I decided that I would try and carve my figures in three different styles to try and further mix things up. If everyone did the same then every statue would look like the work of a different sculptor.

I started with King Arthur, he was bigger than the rest as we wanted to have a fish-eye effect going from one side of the table to the other. This would make everything look much bigger. For him, I made his face by just cutting straight lines into the sand until I had the texture and form I wanted.



For one of the knights, I used a rougher more textured approach. Already these were looking quite different from each other. I know, I know! his hand is quite big but, with the lack of me giving him a beard, it forced me to do it to support his big head.



My final one was different again. Much younger and delicate. This image was taken before he was finished.



While the other three finished their sculptures I jumped to the outside and finished all the wall scroll and logos. From my previous project of making the Colosseum, I had started to enjoy working fast and so I didn't mind doing all the big picture stuff to try and tie the rest of the sculpture together.



Once I was done the others were also finishing up in the centre and we created all the swords laying on the table.

In all, it was a pretty simple piece, just quite big with a lot of sand to carve. As projects go there wasn't much scandal for me to impart and we all had a jolly good time.
I did like the way it was an area to discover hidden right at the centre of all the other sculptures and quite enticing for you to enter but, from the view you did get it was like you had a seat at the table of these knights of old.




Here's the gang smiling like idiots. From the left Rodrigo César, Edith Van Der Wetering, meself and sorry I can't remember his name. Let call him Sir laughsalot.




Here is a panorama from the center of the table, The Globe image at the start of the post was taken by Maxim Gazendam. Thanks Maxim.




Ps

Thanks for reading. I use PeakD to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, amongst other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Hive Blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Colosseum - sand sculpture

Kolmården Zoo - cement sculpture (Part 2)

Kolmården Zoo - cement sculpture (Part 1) 2011

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

If you would like to support me

Bitcoin: bc1qp4lfg0ttz66nesgff8fd5unglg9y0l2jy53j36
Ethereum: 0x6abaE039b9BDFB67495A0588cb90F9EAF5f7556c
Eos: ammonitearts

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #939.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much.

You're welcome @ammonite

maybe you are too focused on work, and it makes you forget your own new friend.
I can't imagine if you meet him again, and don't know what his name is ..... it will definitely be confusing.

mungkin Anda terlalu fokus pada pekerjaan, dan itu membuat Anda melupakan teman baru Anda sendiri.
Aku tidak bisa membayangkan jika bertemu dengannya lagi, dan tidak tahu siapa namanya ..... pasti akan membingungkan.

 4 years ago  

Hi @dedigobelz, Yes work has been pretty busy lately. So my time online has been short. I am glad to see you still here posting away. Are you also busy with building or has the pandemic meant a hard time for you?
!ENGAGE20

At the time of this pandemic, I am still grateful that many people have trusted me for building work.
I also rarely do other things, there is little time that I can spend in my resting at night. actually I want to read all of his writings, but it really takes my time to rest. and seen from my writing, everything looks brief. How about you friends, with this pandemic?

 4 years ago  

I have been doing a few jobs here and there and trying to balance it with family life during the lockdown. It has been difficult. lately, things are starting to get very busy again as I try to secure new jobs for later in the year. I think it has been hard for everyone all around the world but the most important thing is to keep you and your loved ones safe.
!ENGAGE20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wow, these are really beautiful sculptures. Their large sizes also make them look spectacular. Kudos to you and your team.👍👍👍

 4 years ago  

Thank you very much. Sand is a great material because it is so scaleable. I have been very fortunate to be able to work with some great people over the years.
!ENGAGE20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @ammonite! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 450 posts. Your next target is to reach 500 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

So many beautiful sculpture, thanks for sharing

 4 years ago  

Thank you @motun, Many more sculptures to come.
!EGAGE15

I forgot to say, your work is very beautiful, I am very impressed.

Lovely work!

 4 years ago  

Cheers @creative Mary, Hope you had some nice time off.

Cheers! It was much needed for sure!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

 4 years ago  

Getting out there on Twitter.