Judith's Dinner Party - An original Oil made NFT

in OnChainArt2 years ago

My painting, "Judith's Dinner Party" was finished just before the world changed.

witchbaphometsmallHEADdetial.jpg

This is a section of the finished piece here.

I had intention of going in an a long series in this idea of an imagined world of "witches in defense of the human race" playing heavily with allegory and the like.

Besides Many Sketches made for the piece I also did a final piece in my Black and White ink style, I so love, where in I give myself only one tone of black and the white of the page to express a story in image.

witchbaphometINK3.jpg

Here you can see a closer detail of the inked head and owl, I had not as yet decided on the burning manse in the background (tho I had sketched it a few times in studies)

witchbaphometINK1.jpg

And here we have at the feet of our main character more detail with allegory of the falseness of Baphomet and the true place he is held in the world of the real witch (in my story line)

witchbaphometINK2.jpg

I did many layers to build up the work and here we see the main characters face and her 'offered dinner' in her own version of "Spirit cooking" again allegory in tongue and cheek. I had build up first in dark tones before moving onto the lighter airy clouds I wanted to have for the final piece.
witchbaphometHEADSTUDY.jpg

The Final piece rather pleased me:

witchbaphometsmall.jpg

My goal with this series was to create them as original 1/1 NFT. And in fact this piece IS indeed an NFT on MakersPlace and the original remains with me and will most likely stay in my 'own collection of my work'.

I set aside this series as when the world changed in March 2020 I lost the passion for it and have moved on. I may, one day, go back to this storyline. I love to use artwork to tell stories in single images or in a series of works in a sort of fine art approach to the Graphic Novel in fewer images but with the viewer writing their own dialogue.

I hope all of you have a lovely day and remember Stay Creative!


IF you'd like to follow my Work Here are some Links:
NFTshowroom
MAKERSPLACE
My Website
My Youtube Channel Vlog

Sort:  

Oh my that is very nice. I always like those high contrast ink style ones you do as well. They are top notch!

Thank you so much @meesterboom :) I hope you are well today.

I am smashing and I hope you are too milady!

I recognize Marina Abramovic, but who is Judith? It's not Judy Garland is it?! hahaha
Looks like Thelema is on the wrong side of this foot... but i could be very wrong. Interesting piece none the less for sure.

Lol is a play on biblical Judith some have said an important 'witch' in history...again just heavy allegory :)

I do enjoy me some good symbolism and allegory. I will have to read up on Judith. I know the Bible pretty well... but i don't know much of Judith. So, thanks for sending me on the hunt! =)