The Book Thief | Drawing with the Note 10+

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

I crossed 1k HP!

I wasn't supposed to post anything today, but I remembered that I have something to celebrate.

I now have more than 1k HP attached to my name here in HIVE.

Why was 1k HP anything to celebrate about? I joined the platform in the old blockchain June 2017. I'd been pretty much active — I uploaded drawings and curated posts for Curie and Bayanihan (then Philippines curation team). And then I stopped.

May 11 of this year, my big sister @arrliinn managed to pull me back into what is now HIVE. To her chagrin, I only had a measly 9 HP remaining to my account after I liquefied and withdrew everything I had (just around 700 units) in 2018.

But I posted anyway... then posted again... and now, I just crossed more than 1,100 HP! And this is the first time I ever crossed 1K. Not even 2 or 3 years ago!

Hooray!

The Book Thief

To celebrate, I pulled up my Pinterest yet again and searched for something simple and interesting to draw — for a really quick drawing. What I found was an elegant portrait photography of a woman carrying books with her. Unfortunately, there wasn't any information provided to pertain to the photographer or model.

Why The Book Thief? I'm not sure if you've been reading my posts, but I always make sure to leave something about myself in each, along with my drawings.

Easter eggs, let's say. Today, one thing I'd like to tell about myself is my immense love for books, and pretty much any reading material. I love reading! If I leave a comment to your post or upvote them manually, then rest assured that I actually read the entirety of your work.

I can finish a book in under a day — something my parents or then academics weren't particularly happy about. My most favorite book ever, that to this day I still keep rereading, is entitled The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. It is thick af, but I'll definitely drop everything just to read it.

I want to tell you something about the book; but I want you to find out yourself what it is all about. :) And perhaps why I'm in love with it.

Drawing The Book Thief

Lately, I had been having so much troubles with MediBang. It would suddenly crash and any progress I had at any point would vanish. I intended to try another app, and I chose ArtFlow. Users said it has the same feels as iOS Procreate, but I hadn't any personal comparison to go by.

I ended up doing the sketch on ArtFlow and then coloring on MediBang. I still wasn't used to ArtFlow and was taking so much time just locating stuff.

I particularly enjoyed drawing the face. Actually, I always enjoy drawing faces! Perhaps that's why I like looking for portraits that have interesting expressions. More than anything, expressions are always what draw me in.

I also liked drawing the hair. For the hair, I once again fully utilized the pencil tool at 100% opacity and varying sizes. The random strands were drawn in using watercolor brush.

Finally, I was supposed to draw the background, but I promised myself I will be doing my own studies of backgrounds. Until I improve, I don't think I will attempt any more.

Details

  • Device: Samsung Galaxy Note 10+
  • Apps:
  • Brushes: watercolor (at varying opacity settings); pencil (100% opacity); smudge; blur

Notes

Of course, the 1k HP is possible through the support of a lot of Hiveans. I would name them all, and I bet 100% you're one of them, and I'm leaving this little love note for them (you):

Thank you so much!

The 1k HP makes me want to curate to the best of my abilities. During my first year here, I met many awesome people who posted things I always devour in my head because they were that interesting. Most of them are now generally inactive, but they're the ones who set an example to me. I learned to tell something about my new drawing, or something about my day, or just generally anything interesting I came across to.

They're stories, and like in The Book Thief, there will always be people out there who are bound to read listen to them. If you are reading this, move the glass to...

Kidding. xD



ko-fi | deviantart | twitter | instagram | creary | youtube

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Yun oh! 1k HP. 🥂

 4 years ago  

Did you move the glass!? 😂 Anywayyy, yey! I'll definitely work harder for the next 1,000.

Didn't you hear it clink?

 4 years ago  

😂😂😂

Very nice work I will definitely be back to check out more of your work 👍🏾

 4 years ago  

Thank you so much! That will mean a lot to me. 😊

No problem 👍🏾 and I will definitely stop by again 🤝

Congratulations @erangvee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Love it, is amazing <3

 4 years ago  

Thanks so much! 💗

Thanks to you for sharing, i wish to draw like you ,i am cosplayer and youtuber, in you want you are
welcome to see my posts ;)

 4 years ago  

Thank you!! 😊