MY (RE) INTRODUCTORY POST TO HIVE - INCLUDING STEP BY STEP PROCEDURES ON HOW I MADE THE PORTRAIT OF LOISA ANDALIO

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

Hello guys!

My name is Tim and this is my re-introduction to the HIVE Community. First off, I wanna thank @mers who introduced me to this platform. She´s a blogger, a crafter and crypto enthusiast who also does artworks and other contents like living, gardening, travelling and many more. She was the one who convinced me to join the platform and when she said that so many artistic people are here, that made me curious!

IMG_20180514_0001.jpg
A @gremayo original pencil portrait of Philippine actress Loisa Andalio, step by step procedures of which I have written below on how I made this using colored pencils.

* * * * * * * * *

Today, I am joining HIVE because I want to share with everyone my knowledge about the art I know and also help beginners and convince or influence others to explore and show their hidden talents to the world. Art is a very interesting subject and no matter what your motivations could be, when you are hardworking, your effort and design will show-off in your work.

Re intro Hive.jpg
this is me ...@gremayo

My Work....

I'm an artist and digital animator working as a freelancer for a studio here in the Philippines. My job is difficult because it requires the know-how, patience, and talent as prescribed by the studio I am working with. Also one has to have a strong determination and endurance in completing tasks.

Many of my co-workers left their jobs because of the hard work. One of the benefits of this kind of art is the continuous learning in this field. I was hired as a digital animator and I specialize in cartoons and designs. I met a lot of wonderful people during my six years stay in this studio which is far away from home and commuting daily was very hard because of the travel time as well as the stress being on the road daily confronted with too much traffic. The salary was ok, but later on I have requested from the management whether I could work from home. They gave their go signal and since then, I work anytime I want and there is no more pressure in commuting to the studio.

My perspective....

Art is my life´s perspective especially to draw, I knew it because at a young age I was doing this already. I could not explain it but every time I see the work of others, I feel happy because those work gave me the inspirations to continue what I begun. Some people may not appreciate art or illustrations, but for me, art has a very deep meaning in my heart. I'm so grateful to have signed-up on the Steemit three years ago... and now that I am here on the Hive platform , I hope I could contribute to the community by posting tutorials as my future contents.

Note: For the benefit of the art beginners here on Hive, I am sharing my step by step procedures of the above portrait I made two years ago. The original tutorial had been posted here.

* * * * * * * *

Step by step procedures on Loisa Andalio´s portrait

Colored pencil is a very slow medium. Expect a slow progress from your work. Don't lose patience because the more you invest your time to it, the more it will look better and you get a good results. although colored pencil will consume most of your time it is also the best medium to use in making realistic artworks.

Materials

Materials

Prisma colored pencil (set of 36)
Prisma coloreless blender
Hardmuth pencil eraser
Signo white pen
Staedler graphite pencil

a.jpg

Time spent...

It took me 4 days to finish. I spent 4 to 5 hours drawing everyday. Taking breaks help me improved my drawing from time to time. I suggest you to do this as it will help you a lot... improving your drawing and seeing your mistakes.

Like what I always said, learn how to blend and choose the proper color that you need to achieve that realistic look. Always remember that a plain color will always never be plain all the time. You must add some different colors to get that realism approach.

The procedures applied...

b.jpg

First, make the sketch and finish the outline. Use a lighter graphite pencil so you can erase it easily once you apply color to it.

c.jpg

d.jpg

e.jpg

When the outline is done, start to color it using colored pencils and start with the base tone

f.jpg

Just be careful because the blending is quite tricky. Here, I used peach, light peach, cream, sienna brown, darkbrown and pink for the skintone. And after applying color use colorless blender to blend those colors and to make it smooth and glowy. Same goes with the hair.

g.jpg

Please see the above pictures. The first one is rough, I haven't applied colorless blender yet. The second will tell how it changes from rough to smooth. You can really tell the importance of colorless blender and what it can do.

h.jpg

I tried working her face down to her neck and almost finished it. But later, I went back to it and refined it for the final touch. Working her hair, strand is the most important to make it look like realistic. Make a path of strands flowing in different directions but not to much.

i.jpg

Always sharpen your colored pencils so you can add thin lines and strokes.

j.jpg

Pencil eraser will also add thin light lines making it look like a strands.

k.jpg

l.jpg

Always make sure to protect the outer areas of the portrait so that it remains clean, one tip is to cover those areas with a white bond paper every time you do the shading since a small dirt might just damage the whole work, and trust me you will be damning it if that would be the case!

Hope you got some ideas from this tutorial.
Good Luck!
Thank you for reading.
@gremayo
Sort:  

Wowowee! pogi ni tim at mas pogi lalo ang talent...
Ang galing mo tim @gremayo
Proud of you who made my footers
Keep it up . I would like to let hivers know that you are the nephew of our great blogger @mers.

@otom @fycee @mermaidvampire @sarimanok and @jurich60 try to check this

Thank you @olivia08..

Welcome dear.

magaling talaga ito pogi nga lang lol...

Oo nga mas pogi ang talent , pero artistahin lahi nila @mers

wahahaha... sigi may bonus ka na...salamat!

Salamat po otom hehe

Thank you so much po ehehe. Thanks for appreciating my art godbless po

Salamat po sa appreciation nyo . I wish u all the best in life ingat po abroad. Godbless you

Salamuch Tim.

@tipu curate 2

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 28/42)

Thank you @tipu.

Thank you so much for the tip and thanks for visiting, appreciate you liking my art.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much sir... I am honored and appreciate it!

Congratulations @gremayo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Revolution! Revolution!
Vote for us as a witness to get one more badge and upvotes from us with more power!

Many thanks for the badge.... that is motivating, thank you.

You're welcome @gremayo! This is the goal 😉 Hive on and stay safe

Excellent artwork, thanks for sharing.

Thank your for comment. Have a nice day!

When I see paintings like yours I always ask myself if you guys understand how talented you are. I think this is a great gift because not many people can do this. Great work! 👍

Thanks for your complimment. I just practice and do more sketches but I assure you can do the same thing like me or maybe better than me if you practice and workhard.

But I guess in case of drawing or painting it needs more than practice. It needs talent and passion. I´ve got that when it comes to surfing for example but not drawing. But you got lots of talent and passion. 👍

Thank you... I would like to learn surfing one day.... you must be so good in balancing. I envy you. Keep up this passion.

Wow. You've got an amazing talent. I wish you the best of luck in your field

Yes thanks . I hope you too wish you all the best.

Beautiful portrait :)

Thank you. Take care

Amazing talent! The details are insane.

Thanks. It took some time for me to be able to do that. Thanks for your appreciation.

MAN! This is awesome! Respect

Thanks man. Big respect to you too.

Amaaaaaaaaaazinggggggggg

Thank you!

Wow es impresionante el nivel de detalle, pense que era digital antes de ver el post. 👍

Thanks man :D

Pffff maaaaan this is amazing, i love it. You have tremendous talent, that technique and level of art is brutal, friend. I also illustrate and I know that this level is quite complex. Much success menu continues to create more illustrations like this.

Pffff maaaaan this is amazing, i love it. You have tremendous talent, that technique and level of art is brutal, friend. I also illustrate and I know that this level is quite complex. Much success menu continues to create more illustrations like this.

I will try my very best ... thank you for visiting and for the nice comments.

Thank you so much for the nice words... and thanks for visiting.

a great quality job, your technique is excellent you are very talented, I invite you to my blogs I have also dedicated a large part to drawing here in hive I wait for you to share ideas about art greetings

Thank you... I would love to check that , that is something I haven´t covered yet.