Doctor Strange | Vector Art Drawing with Inkscape | Jason DigiArts

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

COVERDS.png

Good day my fellow hivers and to the hive community. I have been a bit inactive to hive and to the discord because I got busy with my classes lately. I have to comply this and that so I really have to manage my time and make use of every free time that I got. Whenever it's vacant time, I spend that time for keeping up with my ocd friends, make my assignments and of course, entertain myself through art making or playing games.

And this day was really stressful for me. I only had few hours of sleep and I got to listen to the zoom discussion of my teacher for several hours. And I have to fight for my sleepiness because if not, I would really miss the lecture and learnings.

So much for that. Regarding the art, in my vacant time yesterday, I thought of making some art, another style. And I decided to make vector art. I really like hopping from one style to another. It's like I am still finding the kind of art that I like the most. I love making different styles but people say that it's better to focus on one and improve your skills on that.

Anyway,I choose making an art for Benedict Cumberbatch. I was really not a die hard fan of him but I somehow idolized him when I saw Sherlock Holmes played by him. The role really fits him and he really portrayed it well. I also am a fan of Marvel and I have remembered that Benedict was also the one who portrayed Doctor Strange and yes, he never failed his fans. He really is a great actor. So I decided to draw a vector art of Doctor Strange. I started to search for reference and I chose this image as my reference.

I started drawing this vector yesterday and I finished it this day. I spent about 6 hours yesterday and 5 hours today. I spent a total of 11 hours. What makes it longer to be finished is that, my laptop is really laggy.

Process


I had a hard time clipping objects in Inkscape because unlike in MediBang Paint, Inkscape does not have a layer clipping (as far as I know) . It was like the shadows and highlights were just included in a single layer. I prefer to have the shadows and highlights on other layers but it is very tidious clipping the art and moving that to another layer.

20200825_223814_0000.png
In making this vector art, as you can observe, you can not see any sort of sketches because I put the reference on the bottom most layer and like draw over my reference. It saves time not to sketch for this kind of art and it would be more accurate with regards to the figures.

Initially, I focused on the face first. I drew the parts of the faces first. You can observe in the lips that it already has shadows even in the first step but actually I applied the shadow after some time. As I said earlier, I just like compressed the base tone and shadows into a single layer to save some time.
20200825_223814_0001.png

After, I then made the face details. It is really important to identify the source of light so you can know where the shadows take place and where you could put the highlights. By the way, actually the face is already done yesterday but this day, when I finished the art, I felt like the face details are a bit messy and I don't feel like it. So, I then changed some and had a hard time because when there is too many figures in the app, my laptop lags or the worst, it crashes.

20200825_223814_0002.png
20200825_223814_0004.png

Anyway, following this step is the making of the inner coat with the collar and followed by the outer coat. I had many color experiments here because when I see that it seems a bit oversaturated or unsaturated compared to the other figures, I revise it again and pick a new color shade. I also then put the hair details using the bezier tool with the "triangle out" option.

20200825_223814_0005.png
After, I then made the background. I made the base figure with a gradient dark and light orange. This is to compliment the color of the next figure that I am gonna be drawing which is Doctor Strange's power effect

20200825_223814_0006.png

20200825_223814_0007.png
In making the circle figure when Doctor Strange casts his power, I used the arc tool. After, I removed its fill color and put a stroke line or the edge color. I first had a base yellow color for the main outline of the figure and duplicated it two times. The first duplicate is colored orange and the second one, has a bigger size than the first, is colored red. I then blurred these duplicates to make it look like a smoky or shining effect. Lastly, I then put a smoky blurred lines using the freehand tool.

A8.png

Here is a GIF on how the process were done.

20200826_000719.gif

Materials

  • Inkscape
  • Main Tools Used:
    • Bezier tool
    • Freehand tool
    • Arc tool
    • Rectangle tool

Notes


This art wasa bit tiring though. What makes me more tired is because of my laggy laptop but who cares about lags and delays when you wanted to do a thing that you love, right? I have not spend some time lately in the OCD discord because I got busy though. It was truly fun there and the people were amazing. Sometimes, I just backread some messages in the OCD and HivePH discord server and the messages were really enjoying and funny. I just remembered about my Pokedex and I do not know yet when I can make another one again.

Wow. You reached this far? Thank you! That's it for today's blog. Hope you enjoyed it and had fun :)

profilepic.png

Spread Positivity and Keep the Vibes Up!

What's up Hivers ! Give me a Hive Five.......................Nice! This is Chris Jason A. Oswa, your boy @jason04. I am a Computer Engineering student. I am proud to be a hiver and assures to give quality content as I can. I am a "jack of all trades, master of none" which means I can do a bit of poetry, a bit of travel blog, daily experiences and a bit of graphic designs. Hope you enjoyed reading my blog and don't forget to upvote, comment your suggestions and reblog. Lastly, follow me to be updated with my random blogs.

Again, this is @jason04 and " HIVE a nice day"!

Sort:  

Impressive oi, ganahan kos color niya. Ah, so start na ang klase, well unahon jud na nimo sad. If naa lang kay time unya feel sad nmo..Pero nindot man kaayo sad imong paghimo oi.

Salamat bai:) Nakalugar ra kog buhat kay wa pay activity ato, karon kay murag busy na kaayo:)

Congratulations @jason04! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 90 posts. Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup

this is super wow
Love the movie as well.
re-hived as well.

Thanks man:)

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #41.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph on your tags.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our discord channel.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.

CONGRATULATIONS!

Your post has been curated and was included in the featured posts in Hive PH Curation post #41.

Please continue to create distinctive and informative write-ups and don't forget to include #hiveph on your tags.

Kindly subscribe also to the Hive PH community where you can co-exist with fellow Filipino authors and discover more of your passion in writing.

Chat and interact with our fellow Filipinos in our discord channel.

You can also follow us on Twitter and Facebook for more community and blockchain updates.

I'm a fan of Benedict Cumberbatch too, I saw him first as Sherlock. Then, Imitation Game and as Doctor Strange. Utterly impressed at him as an actor and your art! Nailed it 💯

Love Imitation Game too😍😍 Hoping for a next season of Sherlock. There was a post that in 2022 there would be another season. Hoping it's true.

There is??? I haven't heard haha! The TV series was really something to look forward to because there were only 3 episodes per season. Then, it takes years in between seasons. Haha! But it's all worth it. I hope that season renewal is true. If not, well, there's Enola 💯

oh wow, i love love love dr strange character. i like your art but i think the mouth part looks a little too cartoonish...
great job

Thanks man:) I happened to view your blogs. You're art were awesome!

thank you so much...