"I Am One of Them" | DIGITAL ART USING MEDIBANG

in OnChainArt3 years ago



Wazzup hivers! It's me jmauring! I'm back with another art post from my long hiatus. I have been resting for a very long time by just watching tv or playing video games or just do nothing.
This digital art has been made many months ago. I haven't made any most recent works yet because I'm being lazy. Unproductive for short. But I guess I'll create some next year or this year because we have this upcoming subject about arts and gotta work it out to pass. Pertaining back to this work, dive in and I'll show you.

dividers-04.png

This artwork is entitled as "I am one of them" which is a portrait of young man that signifies his identity as part of the minority.

According to IWGIA (2020), the country’s Indigenous population thus continues to be estimated at between 10% and 20% of the national population of 100,981,437, based on the 2015 population census.
For a very long time, I wanted to draw something (portrait) that has something behind it not just a model which strikes a pose or someone who is famous. Then, it lead me to this. A portrait which symbolizes a certain group of people. A portrait which screams for their presence, identity and acknowledgement. Such portrait is this, or that's how I see it at least.

Title: I am one of them
Dimension: 1000 x 1200px
Medium: Watercolor
Year Created: 2020

Medibang Paint app

Medibang Paint is a FREE digital painting and comic creation software. It's available for Android phones in Google play store. Even though it's free it comes loaded with features.

MediBang Paint includes everything you need to illustrate or make comics. They also have various brushes for you to use like the GPen, pencil and more for inking, and the Watercolor brush for coloring. Each brush has various settings so they can be customized to your liking.

BRUSHES
Watercolor wet

I tried my best to draw this without any photo reference to see if it would result to something beautiful. I do have a very hard time in starting this painting, thinking that I might messed up along the way. But I guess, it only takes a little courage to start and rest of it will be flowy. This has been quite challenging to me too because I didn't draw any outline. I went straight in putting colors coz why not?



I added some dangling earrings and started to make his hair. I had a difficulty in forming his face and properly placing the right of the color of his skin tone but thankfully it looks fine.



Afterwhich, I jumped into filling the background even if I haven't finish the main subject. I do work in this way a lot like I jump to different areas because I get so excited how it looks like or if I have a fear in finishing the previous part. At this point, I decided to make a fine outline of his eyes because it was too difficult to identify the sections or parts of the eyes and designate the colors.
Moving on, I blended the colors of his skin and earrings and tried to add some streaks of hair and eyebrows.
I decided to make it more darker to really set the mood of the whole painting. I picked black as the eye color of the subject. Then, I made his lips too. I redo this part for multiple times because I find it weird as to how it looks like.
I made sure that all the colors are blended. But then, I still think that it is incomplete so I added some face paint. Red, blue and yellow are the colors present in the Philippine flag. Viola! This is the final piece. I hope ya'll like it.

Note: Don't compare your works to the works of others. Compare your work of today from your work of yesterday.

dividers-04.png

MILLION THANKS FOR REACHING THIS FAR

dividers-04.png
Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here who lives in Mandaue, Cebu City Philippines, 20 years old. I am a self taught artist, if you consider me as one. I am the only daughter of my loving and little uptight parents. Plus, the one and only sister of my naughty, messy and nasty three brothers. I am a friend to some and strangers to many. I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me through my Instagram account, that's @jmauring, Jenny Mauring in Facebook and YouTube Channel as well. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.

Sort:  

The illustration is good. The blur effect fits well. !discovery 20

Glad you liked it!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @jmauring! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP