"Sentiments of a Judged Soul" | OIL PASTEL PORTRAIT (Final)

in OnChainArt3 years ago (edited)


IMG_20210205_173206.jpg

Hey hivers! Today's post is a continuation of my previous post which is about the oil pastel portrait entitled the "Sentiments of a Judged Soul". It took me a lot of time contemplating if I'll finish it or not. It's because I am worried what if it will look different from my digital art and the reference photo. But of course, I also want to get it done so that I got to see the finish product. So without a further ado, dive in and I'll show you.

dividers-04.png


20201115_170607_0002.png

Oslo Paper

It is a rough 9′ x 12′ piece of thick white paper, commonly used by elementary students for arts and crafts. It is the usual choice for art project because of its sturdiness and thickness – perfect for water-based paint and felt-tip markers.

Cray-pas Junior Artist Student Quality Oil Pastels

Easy to use, fun and safe, these student-quality oil pastels help to build basic art skills in classrooms worldwide. Children can achieve oil painting effects without the mess of paint.

Junior Artist Oil Pastels produce bright, intense colors. They contain pigments that blend easily and last without fading. Ideal for texture rubbing, blending, scratch art, almost any coloring project.

Individual pastels are round, measuring 2-3/8" × 5/16" (60 mm × 8 mm), and have paper sleeves. Non-toxic, they conform to ASTM D 4236.

COLORS
#19 Red
#07 Pale Orange
#12 Brown
#49 Black
#-- Silver
#50 White

20201115_170607_0000.png

*Title:* "Sentiments of Judged Soul" *Dimension:* 9x12' *Medium:* Oil Pastel *Year Created:* 2020


20201115_163706_0000.png


IMG_20210202_195725.jpg

I started emphasizing the shadow of his face using a black color while I add more brown color in his forehead, neck and even in his side face. Then, I applied a gray color to his hoodie.

IMG_20210202_200719.jpg

Afterwhich, I used yellow as the color of his collar and add a grey and little hint of black to emphasize the shadow which has been casted by his hoodie and also filled the necessary colors to his neck.

IMG_20210202_205258.jpg

I applied a black oil pastel to his hoodie and blend it using white to give a little darker color than the previous one. I filled his face's color including the little drip in his forehead using red, yellow and black. Then, I darken his eyebrows and draw the outline of his eyes again using black.


IMG_20210205_173206.jpg

Lastly, I used a white ink in some parts of his face and let it dry in a bit and add a little black in some areas which the shadow has been casted. Viola, there it is! Hope you like it.

P.S. I am happy on how it turned out but I also feel sad because it's done.

Note: Don't compare your works to the works of others. Compare your work of today from your work of yesterday.

dividers-04.png

MILLION THANKS FOR REACHING THIS FAR!
dividers-04.png

7ohP4GDMGPrU6KTuuW27Tq6en5JYHcVeXL6fAJ1RujUw3NULjf8Ndi8hgZ9Y3yqKvzwM8zYzR6m3Sao5Cgemx1GCri9YFVVMvehT.gif

Hello once again! Heads up hivers! Jenny Mauring here who lives in Mandaue, Cebu City Philippines, 19 years old and soon will be no longer a teenager! I am a self taught artist, if you consider me as one. I am the only daughter of my loving and little uptight parents. Plus, the one and only sister of my naughty, messy and nasty three brothers. I am a student in Cebu Normal University- Main Campus who wishes to complete the program of Bachelor of Secondary Education Major in Science, to cut it short, I want to be a teacher someday. I am a friend to some and strangers to many. I am a lady with light in her eyes, love in her bones and a sucker of artsy and creatives. Come and visit my blog @jmauring to check out my content. You can also connect with me through my Instagram account, that's @jmauring, Jenny Mauring in Facebook and YouTube Channel as well. Stay happy, healthy and crazy.