Infinite Corridor Art Process+ Visualization meditation

in OnChainArt3 years ago

Corridors Preview2.jpg

Hi guys! It's been a while since my last post like this, but to make up for it, here is a huge post xD I'll try to do at least one post per month <3

Please check out the animated version here!!!!! https://superrare.co/artwork-v2/infinite-corridor-15107

I tried compressing the gif, but I can't compress 50mb under 10mb The blog's limit is around 7mb.

Art Process

1.jpg
About the corridor

The corridor represents the path of life. I wanted it to feel infinite and a little tight at the same time. Personally I'm not claustrophobic and smaller spaces can be more comforting to me than big environments. I've been trying to organize my time better with medium success, so I can get more done. Working on things in an order, in a straight line, has been really helpful and less stressful than deciding exact priorities. I love doing silly, fun art as much as detailed meaningful paintings. I still feel behind on all of the things I want and have promised to do, but I try to remind myself of everything I have done so far.

2.jpg

The graffiti on the walls is messy, chaotic, beautiful and colorful, it displays well my current state of mind with too many thoughts at the same time. I try to write my thoughts down more, to clear my head and I'm happy that that works. I'm curious how the graffiti would look like if my ideas were better organized. If I could hide some cool meanings in them, but for now I'm happy to mostly scribble for fun whatever first comes to my mind. It's surprisingly relaxing, and I'm considering ways I could make interesting, only "graffiti" drawings or doodles. However, for now it's just another idea that I've added to my ever growing to do list.

3.jpg

The hardest 2 parts about this painting was making details easily readable and the "looping" animation. My pc couldn't handle the animation file, I had to work with over 3 files to create the final frames for the animation. I hope to upgrade my pc sometime soon, but my point is I don't let it limit my creativity and I figure ways to work around that <3

The best way to check whether the painting is easy to "read" is by seeing it black and white. I use a black layer set to color to quickly check contrast.

BW.jpg

Visualization meditation

I know from personal experience that even inconsistent practice has benefited me greatly. I get easily bored of anything too repetitive, so trying out various kinds of meditations is more fun. One of more interesting and useful ones is Visualization practice. You begin by observing the room you're in and then closing your eyes and trying to see the room and details. After some practice, you can try it in different settings, different speeds and different detail levels. A lot of this is spacial awareness, but it's more than that.

Even though I paint a lot and have very vivid dreams, visualizing details with closed eyes used to be incredibly hard for me. Now I do it for fun regularly, no matter when. When I see something interesting, I try to imagine a 360 view of it, from above, below and so on. I also try to pay a lot more attention to seemingly unimportant details around me.

Corridors Preview.jpg

The most challenging exercise version of this I tried is visualizing a movie I liked and watched previously that day. Start to finish, organizing scenes in right order, remembering facial expressions and various environments and effects.

Thank you for checking out!!! <3 ^_^

Don't forget you can read more of the story here: https://superrare.co/artwork-v2/infinite-corridor-15107

Sort:  

WoW!!
!discovery 50

 3 years ago  

Thank you!!! <33


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Awesome work, love seeing art breakdowns and this one doesn't fail to engage :D
Liking the animated version too.

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much!!! And for checking out the animated version : <3 :D

just awesome, i have no words <3

 3 years ago  

Thank you!!! :D

Congratulations @kristyglas! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month

i love the color palette you use on every art you do is soooo pretty!!!! my fav colors

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much! <333 I really love blue/pink/purple combination!!! :D

What a cool and trippy corridor! Great work, Kristy! 🤗

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much!! :D

Love the colours! Looks like someone spilt the glowy paint while painting the corridors xD

If it's any consolation I constantly feel like I'm behind but I'm pretty sure that I will never ever be able to catch up because literally the only way that has even the slightest chance of happening is if I don't have to waste so much time on housework XD

 3 years ago  

Thank you very much! Sorry for late reply <333
First of all I agree housework takes sooo much time (don't even have kids) D: I've been lagging behind on that and ordering more.
It's tricky to balance things, I never balance well xD Oh well, at least everything is good, so who cares haha. Hope you've been well :D

I love your work!

 3 years ago  

Thank you :)

Amazing as usual. The mix of sharp man made angles with the organic shapes really set it off. Looking forward to the next one.