Smog- 30 min Sketch, Day 14

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

smog.gif

I love the daily spitpaints challenge. As more time passes, the more I'm having fun doing these. I'm basically drawing everything I've wanted to draw but was afraid of "messing up" before.

3.jpg

I try to use contrast more, since that catches attention much better than flat colors. The final lights glow is a color dodge layer set to very low opacity.
The smog is a layer set to screen, then I masked some areas to blend it better.

I've posted a little extra these couple of days, but from tomorrow I'm back to making 1 post per day :)
I don't like postponing posts, because then I'm always "catching up".

5.jpg

The best way to paint fast is to get good reference in the first 5min. Then Use 100% opacity brush to pain shapes. The overall composition has to catch the eye, concentrate on foreground, midground and background layers. Use atmospheric perspective to your advantage. Everything gets lighter and softer the further away it is. Remember where the light sources are, preferably use more than 1 source for a dynamic scene.

Ref: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/22588435605318174/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/439241769900878400/

7.jpg
The overall scene is blurrier than my other drawings, but as the theme is smog and blurriness fits for the theme. I try to look at the thumbnail of the drawing to see if it looks interesting. All of these sketches are useful for practice and I can potentially use them in the future to make more detailed paintings.

It has been 3 days since the last sketch:

image.png

I recommend checking it out if you'd like to see more of my process, since I use similar process for all of these quick sketches. Reference>Shapes>Colors>Lights>Details

A Giant Frog- Art Process+ Short Story

My last post is to help increase comment engagement :)
You don't need to upvote or share to participate in that post. You just comment what you'd like me to sketch for fun.

image.png

I Draw You a Doodle - Chance to win a Portrait

Sort:  

Art's a no rules fight (unless you want to pander to the art industry in which case you need to follow their nonsensical rules XD) so no real way to do anything "wrong" ;D

Love how the buildings look like buildings with stuff in them even in such a relatively quick piece :)

I'm thoroughly guilty of using really strong lights or reflections to avoid drawing stuff inside buildings XD

 4 years ago  

Thank you!! :D Yeah the industry can be stressful. Which is why I try to do some art just for fun as well. It helps ^_^
Haha xD Well I'm trying to stick to 30min limit, I'm not that fast at drawing deatisl xD

Very well done and interesting interpretation of the ref ;) You somehow managed to both keep and change the atmosphere. Aspects of both is what I can see, I mean.

I admire the skill of painting in a loose and yet precise way. So thanks for showing us the early stages, too! That's at least half a tutorial there.

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D I try not to be too repetitive with my tutorials, since I've made more detailed explanations for similar art including that frog art post ^^

I certainly try to not copy the reference, I look for shapes and colors and just inspiration in general. I've done a lot of photo studies, so many that I feel I need to move on to more creative art.

The trick of making it look precise is the 100% opacity brush with no transparency. Additional layers for light and glow can have some transparency.

@tipu curate

 4 years ago  

Thank you!! :D

You're welcome!

Very nice, I like it! I love the blue💙 and the purple💜

 4 years ago  

Thank you :D It's my favorite color combo

Congratulations @kristyglas! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts. Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow, this is just incredible! Beautiful details all over! 🤗

 4 years ago  

Thank you! ^-^

You're good! I'm getting some dark eerie vibes from the houses

 4 years ago  

Thank you!! :D

Your drawings really make me wish I could draw. I messed around with some tutorials today, but I really don't have any direction or an understanding of where to even start. The problem is that I tend to give up easily on things that don't come as second nature to me. Drawing would be one of those things.


Hugs and Coffee,
~Josie~


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
 4 years ago  

Thank you! :)

so beautiful! I love this, specially the contrast and the color compositions!

 4 years ago  

Than you very much :D

Hi friend @kristyglas

I love your work. It is beautiful, elegant and delicate

What program or application do you use to make these drawings?

Have a great day