Inktober: Hideyoshi (Hide) Nagachika from Tokyo Ghoul

in OnChainArt3 years ago

Hideyoshi Hide Scarecrow Nagachika from Tokyo Ghoul was what came to mind thinking of the Inktober theme Hide. Reference images from anime: 1; 2

My brother accused me of being a weeb after hearing that I am working on an anime drawing xD I have seen only a few and Tokyo Ghoul remains my favorite. I have also seen some of Mirai Nikki, but somehow I could not connect with the characters in that one fully. Death Note was fantastic, but I stopped watching it not far from the end as I someone spoiled the plot for me, which I am still quite upset about, but plan to finish watching it soon since I recently also saw the film Death Note that was awful. Never, ever waste your life on that one! xD Knights of Sidonia was pretty great and reminded me of the anime version of Battlestar Galactica. And last but not least, Ghost in the Shell as the topics there is something I relate to a lot and generally interests me. There are a few others, but I do not think they are worth any mentioning because they were not that great.


Without too many spoilers all I can say about Hide is that he is the most positive character from Tokyo Ghoul and remains that way despite the story getting increasingly darker and darker over time. The level of darkness of Tokyo Ghoul, however, I would describe as the right amount. Hide is one of the bringers of the balance. This character also made me cry a couple of times.

Pretty much the same tools as the last one except for Sakura’s white gelly roll pen 08 that helped with some features in the eyes

I was starting with a light sketch from the reference images with a Faber-Castell 2B pencil. Let me tell you that it only appears to be easy to draw an anime character. It is not easy at all

I did the outlines with Pigma ink brush, and of course, they still turned out rigged and uneven, and needed fixing with Pigma Micron ink rapidograph 04. The linework in manga and anime drawings is like bread and butter, and I suck at it. Though there is a bit of improvement. There is also quite an improvement since the last time I painted the anime character, I think.

The drawing is quite big and takes up most of the 310 g/m² 24x32 cm sheet, which also meant a lot of bigger areas that needed painting with ink. That was tricky. I did not have bigger brushes that would be suitable for the job, which is something I would recommend for bigger works and areas when working with fast-drying ink leaving little room for error and playing around with the cool “ink effects”.

Another lesson learned about ink. Once you have applied the first layer and want to go back in to make the area more interesting, it doesn’t always work. Because once the first layer dries, that area is now a lot smoother than the paper originally was and any ink you add on top will not latch on the spots you want and will just even out on the entire surface and flatter and less interesting. So the effects must be done in one go. That is how it goes, at least with this particular acrylic finish ink (Diamine in Jet Black).

Hide hiding behind the mask seemed to be suitable for the world we living in at the moment

Boo! Happy Spooky to you if you are into celebrating something like that! ^^

Song of the day: AmaLee - Glassy Sky

Sort:  

Nice one!
I never got into anime myself, despite trying to a few times for a friend of mine who really likes it. Actually that is a bit of a lie, I really liked sailor moon when I was younger and the original Pokemon (which is sort of a mainstream anime) hahaha. I've heard that there are a lot of good series though that are dark (like you mentioned and which I typically like) and also very philosophical - which I also like. I want to like anime so bad but I just can't get into it lol.
Great drawing though. I like the close up photos.

Pokemon! Ahaha! I still remember how when I was in school and in the last lesson we begged the teacher to let us go home sooner so we could watch pokemon! xD And we ran home and actually watched pokemon xD Good old, careless days of being a kid!

I know what you mean, it is part of the reason why I began watching it so late myself. Only a few years ago due to Ghost in the Shell, because people kept telling that the older animes are greater than the new movie and then people talked me into watching other stuff too :)

Thank you, hehe :)

Pokemon was the shit back then.
No regrets!

I've only watched a bit of Tokyo Ghoul so far but I've seen enough to recognise Hide and that's him. I think you did a good job. Really clean-looking and I like how you did the shading on his hair, and the watercolour-style splotchy-ness on the mask is a nice touch.

I remember my weeb phase about 10 years ago. The term is so loosely used these days; back then it had real meaning... and I fit the description, too. Talk about... going to anime club, a couple of posters on the wall, ecchi desktop backgrounds, theme songs for ringtones, listening to soundtracks on repeat, speaking Japanese phrases randomly, bowing to everyone, horribly failing a Japanese course... also the immoderate consumption of hentai, lol. xD

At some point I grew out of it or something, but I still appreciate anime and stuff, and I'd love to visit Japan (assuming it's ever going to be possible)... but it's no longer some sort of otaku-Mecca to which I'll be making some kind of sacred weeaboo pilgrimage.

Nice spooky bat pumpkin! And, good work accomplishing your Inktober goals this year! ^_^

Aww yay! I am glad he is recognizable xD Yep, I think working a few years with watercolor really affects my style when it comes to paints. No matter what paints or ink I pick I want to make them watercolory.

Ahaha! Yea, for me it is no way near as "bad". Plus, I don't think I just like whatever kinds of anime. I prefer dark kind, philosophical kind.

Thank you! Ah, I missed the correct date for Hide, but is ok. At least I finished what I had planned and did not give up. Winning! Lol

Song of the Grey:

Reincarnation - Kenji Kawai

Absolute perfection! I first discovered and heard the newer version of this song that is called Utai IV: Reawakening from the newest film which is how I learned about Ghost in the Shell. I enjoyed it a lot, but people kept telling me that the older versions are a lot more deeper and that a lot has been cut from the new film so I got curious and began watching older stuff and love it all :) Still don't get all the hate for Scarlet though, as I thought she was perfect Major other than the fact that she is not Japanese which resulted for next films to be canceled. I would have watched them despite the so called whitewashing. Also when people in Japan were interviewed and asked about what they thought about her playing the Major, they did not seem to be opposed to the idea and talked about how they found her really beautiful. Why don't all the critics come together then and make the film they believe would do the justice for the Ghost. Instead we are left with slightly cringey shows and films on Netflix xD

@tipu curate :)

Thank you :) Take that as a compliment.

of course! 💚

"after fork,
tipu sometimes
doesn't work" 😥
Rozku)

me gusto tu dibujo de hideyoshi quedo genial.

Muchas gracias. Disfruté trabajando en eso :)

Of course that something about it reminded me of my dear Sailor Moon hahaha. Anime looks cute

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment