Post Promotion and Advertising in OCA

in OnChainArt4 years ago (edited)

OCA_PostPromo.jpg

One of the lesser known features on PeakD is the ability to promote a post directly within a community. It has to be unlocked by the community owner and I've just unlocked it for OCA. There will be two types of promoted posts that we'll allow in OCA.

1. An Artist Promoting Their Post

As the community grows, if you are new or don't have much of a follower base yet, it will get harder and harder to break in and get noticed. If you think that your work is up to par, and that a lack of top of the community access is hurting you, you'll now have the option of spending a few Hive to give your post a little boost.

Promoted posts only show up every 8 posts or so, so there is no possibility of the entire feed getting overrun with promoted posts a la the days of bidbots.

2. An ART related Advertisement

So I've had some people ask me if it's okay to promote a contest or something along those lines in OCA. Before the answer was actually no because one of the rules in OCA is only art posts are allowed. This will be the only exception. If you post an ad, that is not promoted it will be muted. Also, the ads need to be relevant to this community. Some good examples would be...

  • Creative Contests
  • Applications that perhaps have a good UX for posting art
  • NFT marketplace ads
  • Etc.

Some examples of things that would NOT be a good fit...

  • A gambling dapp
  • An Exchange
  • Check out this awesome crypto trading group!
  • Etc

If you're not sure if your ad is appropriate, feel free to reach out on Discord BEFORE spending any Hive.

Promoting a post is really easy. You just go to the 3 dots on your post and in the dropdown menu, go to promote...

Screenshot_18.png

Then you'll arrive at this screen where you'll need to specify that you indeed want to promote this post within a specific community, then you'll need to pick OnChainArt as the community. You have to be following the community in order to promote a post within the community.

Screenshot_19.png

The way that post promotion works you designate a certain amount you want to spend on your promotion and a time length you want your promotion to run on. The balance of these two variable is what will determine the priority of your promotion.

For example...

Jimmy spends 10 Hive to promote his post for one day and Suzy spends 50 Hive to promote her post for 5 days. These posts would have the same priority, but if Jimmy instead paid 11 Hive for 1 day and Suzy still paid 50 Hive for 5 days, for the 1 day that Jimmy's post was actively being promoted, it would have a higher priority than Suzy's.

So you have to compete with everyone else that is promoting in the community to determine where in the stack your promotion will show up. If there's not much competition, you can promote your post for very cheap. If there is more competition, you'd have to pay more for a top spot.

The promoted funds are split 40% to OCA, 40% to PeakD, and 20% to @null(burned). So promoting your post, supports the community, PeakD, and Hive. Not too shabby.

As with the rest of the income of OCA, 20% of all income will go back to the community in the form of tips, rewards, and eventually buying art from NFT Showroom.

Let me know in the comments if you all have any questions. Hopefully this will be a fun addition and make the community that much more interesting. Have fun!

Sort:  

Wow, this is great! I think I'll promote my art from @nftshowroom and maybe in the future an art guide for illustrators ... I'm glad to hear this!

Sounds interesting @midlet, the truth was I did not know about promotions through Peak. I have joined the community because I like art and drawing and the content that one observes in OCA is an inspiration.

Awesome😊, looking forward to see how it goes

HI @mindlet! Thank you so much for verifying me as an artist - I appreciate it hugely!
10407936_10152701073886986_5825563275072113994_n.jpg

 4 years ago (edited) 

Hello @midlet,
I wonder what it would take to get recognized as a "verified artist". On Hivebuzz I submitted my website and social links. But that is a separate thing, I understand. To proof that I am "real", my website link is on my profile header. On the website, there are all my other links. 😎
I posted comments on PeakD, but there were glitches - things seem to work on Hive though, so here is a bit more (from duplicate comments I deleted):
don't want to be a nuisance, but I ran into glitches - my comments or posts did not register, nor my upvotes. ... and now, all of a sudden, everything works again - and I got 2 almost identical posts (my latest), since I did post again after it didn't work the first time!