Showcase Sunday: A Few Digital Sketches

in OnChainArt4 years ago

forest.jpg

forestDetail_02.jpg

Seems like these Sunday posts creep up on me pretty quickly. Since I'm between semesters for work and because of Covid, the days start to blur together.

Anyway for this weeks #showcase-sunday I dug down deep in the old blog and pulled out a few digital sketches from back in the day. 2016 I think.

Tank.jpg

Considering I recently changed the rules in OCA to post the references for images you directly reference I'm seeing that for a lot of my work that I did directly reference I no longer have the references lol. So I'm limited to things either done completely from imagination or only lightly referenced. TBH I don't remember how heavily I referenced that first forest painting, but I remember it's definitely not a study. I think I was looking at a lot of forest images and came up w that one, but honestly I'm not 100% sure.

The tank and garage one(obviously) are from my imagination.

garage.jpg

I remember back in the day I ran a contest with this garage image to have people create a story based on the artwork. It was pretty fun, but it was kinda expensive with the whole paying people the prize money and having to read all those stories.

Hope you all like the weekly trip in the way back machine. I'm off to roast marshmallows and hope I don't get devoured my mosquitos. See you all in the next post.

Sort:  

I remember the garage, and the stories, well some of them. I have always loved the story from an image concept. That top pic is fantastic by the way. I love the morning misty feel to it.

Thanks @bashadow, maybe I'll do it again. It was pretty fun.

I really like how it came out. There is something mysterious and almost ethereal in the first image. Hmm the last picture... Could that be the last person alive on Earth? Haha apocalyptic vibes.

Thanks @creativemary! Yea, either the last person or, someone not living their best life rotting away in their old garage :p

Hahaha that is a way to took at things. At least he is definetely respecting social distancing😂 he's too far, but I bet he has a mask hidden somewhere😂

Truly amazing and I should to do these #showcase-sunday any bit of push is always good especially in the new Timelessness we all experience in our various states of lock down, eh? Really lovely, @midlet

Thanks @donnadavisart :) Yes please do. All the awesome work you've posted over the years isn't doing any good buried in the old blocks of the blockchain. Sundays should be full of awesome work as people post their old favorites.

I'm slightly confused by that forest structure so either you've referenced a type of forest I'm completely unfamiliar with (not hard as there's only a handful of environments I've been in) or I think you can get away with calling it lightly referenced ;D

Really amazing stuff, and if only I saw your artwork back in 2016! I guess it just shows the depth and the variety of incredible illustrations and artwork that still remains undiscovered out there. Cheers for sharing, and a lot of love coming your way 😘

 4 years ago  

These are all beautiful

I love the forest part. How those layers were placed.

 4 years ago  

Amazing works, I specially love the last one, great use of light.

@midlet it's looking like when earth is hit by massive astroid and all the ashes are in the air. And in last images we human are preparing for the survival and needing more oxygen. 🙂 Nice work.

Congratulations @midlet! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 47000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 48000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!