The mammoth

in OnChainArt4 years ago

Dear friends,
Here is another board game card for Western Shores. This time I got more challenge of painting the mammoth frozen in the ice berg. For this new adventure I had to find iceberg which is enough suitable and transparent. Also I thought I would not have enough space to paint other two ice bergs but it turned out I was wrong. I could compose every object. I received support from @manoldonchev who is a manager of this project. He gave me some advice which was useful for me. We decided to involve humans. I think it went well and you can see the size of mammoth against the small group of humans. So this is for now. I do not want to count the illustrations which I have painted till this moment because they have to be about 70 and even more.

Best regards,
Silviya

20200426_154303.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @silver.art, your post has been manually chosen by Hive Supporter and upvoted with 100%.

Keep up the good work and you'll have a lot of success here on Hive for sure. To find out more about the Hive Supporter project check out this post.

Gosh this is so beautiful! There's so much to appreciate, in the detail of the glacier, to the color tones. The people work so well in it, I just love this picture! I do love art of wild early man, there feels so much story behind this.

Four brave men set out to attempt the mountain pass, each year the treacherous path melts and refreezes, forcing even the most seasoned guide to find the way anew. Beyond the frozen mountains, they have heard rumors of better hunting grounds, pasture, shelter. Yet none who set out before them have returned. One older - or younger - lags behind, while wonder and a stream of sunlight, strikes his companions. Do they know the mammoth, or is it a creature forgot? Is this the final resting place of a group who set out to cross the pass another year - better equipped with a mammoth and still not making it, or is this a wild creature frozen in time?

I would describe this as the ideal waiting room painting, because it is so beautiful, I could stare at this for hours and get lost in it, thinking up stories behind it and forgetting to worry about whatever I was waiting for.

I am a huge fan of the West of Eden book series, and although their mammoths are very much alive and not frozen, this reminds me over the characters, trekking out over snow laden passes. I would adore this for my wall, so please let me know if you ever sell prints of it! <3

Thank you so much! Your words mean a lot to me. I'm really excited that you like this artwork. It touches me in a similar way. Your text written about the story of the mammoth sounds like a part of a story of a book.I like it.

This is a creature frozen in time. And the people are a Viking explorers. That is what the project is about.

Yes, I can send you a print. The original artwork is watercolor on paper,size A4. It will have a collector's price of 200$. A4 prints are 35$. The price of a scan only is 15$.

Best regards,
Silviya