Art Attack #162: Party Animals on an Island 🎉

in OnChainArt10 months ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So I've been sharing how I give art as gifts to my friends (both online from Twitch and irl) but I think this is the first time I've ever done an art gift where I didn't even know the recipient! This was a request by one of the bigger contributors of my community, Rakun, whom I've gifted art to previously. But the twist is he requested an art to be done for another one of his artist friends instead!

I gifted him this piece for Christmas last time:

image.png

Anyway, for this one he asked if I could draw something for one of his friends', who had a birthday last month and I gladly agreed since I felt like owed him after all the support he's given me. The friend in question goes by Teikki on Twitch who is mainly an artist. Thankfully he has a whole profile for his OC so that helped in giving me some ideas on what to draw for him exactly since Rakun didn't really have any specific ideas.

He did send me some references which helped. But I figured I'd play to Teikki's favourite animals and try to include a bear, a shark and a ferret as well as his favourite colours. The only way I thought I could include all those animals was on an island so the premise was pretty simple - Teikki and his favourite animals all partying on an island.

These were the references I used:

image.png

I loved the shark vector I found and thought it was goofy so I had to include it. He even came with a floatie already which was so cute. From there I just traced the other vectors and drew Teikki according to the chibi body I wanted, all sat on an island. Rakun also asked me to draw a small beetle somewhere so I drew that in a little later.

Here's my sketch:

image.png

I didn't know where else to put the ferret but on his lap and it worked with his pose anyway so it was perfect.

From there the outline was pretty simple. I worked on the animals one at a time, colouring and shading them, starting with shark of course.

image.png

I wanted the animals to each be holding things so I drew a sparkler for the bear and he looks so happy!

image.png

Of course Teikki's OC took the longest since I wanted to make sure I got it right. Thankfully his outfit was fairly simple but I tried to include details to make it as accurate as possible.

image.png

The colours were pretty simple and I tried to draw and colour his hair as he did. I did have to change the shade of colours a little bit so they would pop more here.

image.png

After all the characters were outlined, coloured and shaded where necessary it was mostly done! I didn't want an outline for the background since it would be smoother without so I just coloured it in, referenced the vector I had. I added some shading with a speckle brush I had, drew some mountains in the back and clouds in the sky. Eventually we get this:

image.png

I thought it was pretty perfect already and Rakun really liked it too! Granted, I'm sure it's nothing compared to what Teikki can draw since he does way more art than me, but I thought it was cute and that he'd like it nonetheless. Rakun did tell me he loved it when he showed it to him for his birthday which made me smile. 😊

Here's the 30 second timelapse:

If you're interested, I do draw on stream sometimes and you can even claim free artwork if you get enough channel points! We also play lots of interactive games so come hang out with us on my Twitch channel!

Thanks for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!

Art Attack #161: A Cake over the Moon for a Taurus 🐮🎂

Sort:  

Happy Birthday, Teikki! I love the vibe and the color!

!PIZZA

aw thanks so much! ^-^