Art Attack! #46: Deer in the Moonlight 🌘

in OnChainArt3 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So last week, I shared a second attempt at silhouette art based on another level from the Donkey Kong Country Returns series; specifically the second game - Tropical Freeze!

image.png

It was cool (heh pun intended) but I felt like the first one I did of Sunset Shore was better. Still, it was a decent attempt at water reflection though.

image.png

Anyway, here's yet another silhouette piece, but this time with a different medium!
So back at the start of the pandemic, way before lockdown in Singapore, I met up with a couple of friends for an Art Jam session, where we basically just sat down and did art together irl! We decided to work on a piece together since two of us are artists. Our third friend wasn't and she was lamenting how we had all sorts of art supplies but the only things she had were a small pack of crayola crayons.

I've only ever used crayons when I was in primary school, and my only memories of using them were pretty messy. Literally. But then my fellow artist friend video compilation of simple oil pastel pieces on Facebook:

It actually looked really good and I was pretty interested to try it out since I love experimenting with colours! But then the lockdown happened, and we didn't get to meet up for another art jam session to try it out, unfortunately. And the stores were all closed so I couldn't buy them to try it at home on my own either.

So you can probably guess the first thing I did post-lockdown was to go to the bookstore and get a whole slew of art supplies, including a pack of 24 oil pastels for only 5 bucks! What a steal!

Anyway, since I'm really new to this medium and technique, I followed a couple of youtube tutorials for this. I really liked these 2 by Art klvDraw Studio and The Canvas respectively, so I decided to mesh them together.

Unfortunately, I didn't really take progress pics for this one because I got caught up in following the video that I completely forgot. So these are just screenshots from the first video:

image.png

image.png

My progress was exactly the same since I followed the video to the letter, but the paper I used was subpar so it didn't end up blending as well as this one:

image.png

And because of that, I had some trouble drawing in the silhouettes as well, since my black markers were mingling with the oil pastel residue quite a bit. The ink wasn't coming out smooth and dark so I had to draw over the tree multiple times.

image.png

I think overall it came out quite nicely! Even though the marker streaks are fairly obvious and the blending of my oil pastels wasn't as smooth as I wanted. It still looked pretty good for a first attempt imo. And I was surprised at how easy it was! The video looked deceptively easy, so I was kinda skeptical, but this piece only took me about 10 minutes!

It made me really excited to try out more and I have done a few since then! I can't wait to share those soon!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
Art Attack! #45: Reflections in Busted Bayou 🌴

Sort:  

It is a beautiful landscape and making that blur with those colors was very good, everything is very beautiful

aw thank you so much!!

Very beautiful work with pretty mix of colour 💕

hehehe yay thank youuu 😘

I am very happy and grateful for your evaluations and motivations. Thank you, dear, you develop an excellent publication and curation work. Thanks to you I have learned a lot about gastronomy. Hugs from Venezuela. Successes God bless you.

oh wow what a lovely comment! Thanks so much!!