Art Attack! #92: View from the Skeld ඞ

in OnChainArt2 years ago

image.png

Hey Hive!

We're back again with another Art Attack! If you're new to the series, this is where I share my drawings and the process behind them. A behind-the-scenes look at my artwork, if you will. This is not to say that I'm very good at art, or that I'm a professional in any way. In fact this is the opposite, and serves as a reminder to how I first started, and lets me track my progress too!

So if you caught the previous post, I wrote about how I was learning how to use a new drawing app on my iPad called Procreate! If you're a digital artist you've definitely heard of it before I think. Since my Clip Studio Paint trial was going to expire, and it would be pretty expensive to renew since it's a monthly subscription, I needed an alternative. So I decided to try Procreate after reading a bunch of good reviews! And I think I prefer the UI of Procreate so much better too!

image.png

And while looking for some youtube tutorials to teach me the basics of Procreate, I found one of the best Art tutorial channels out there (in my opinion of course) - Art with Flo! Her videos are very easy to follow and understand and she has a series called You Can Draw This with a variety of different beautiful drawings!

I tested out one of her You Can Draw This videos and it turned out so well! This was the piece I drew along with her that I wrote about last week. And the shape actually reminded me of an airplane window a little bit, which inspired me to do another piece!

image.png

I thought it'd be cool if I did a series of different pieces using this airplane window shape and draw different views in the window! And one thing I always wanted to try was doing a galaxy background, and since Procreate has a Nebula brush this would be the perfect time! And since I was doing a space-themed piece, naturally I thought of Among Us.

I also got inspired after seeing MalMakes' (one of my favourite youtube artists) canvas paintings of Among Us!

It looked so lovely but I couldn't possibly draw like that. But I tried my best! I did a sketch similar to Mals as I wanted the ship in the background too, but then after I couldn't get the angle right I decided against it and make it look like we were looking out from inside the Skeld instead and I think that was a lot better.

I looked up some videos on how to draw galaxies to help with my background since it looked like it was missing something, and turns out it was just a lot of tiny stars! After struggling for quite a while with the ship not looking right, I just gave up and drew some of the astral bodies you can see from the map Polus in Among Us. If you played the game before you'd know there is a task there where you have to look through a telescope and you can see other planets and spaceships through it that look like this:

image.png

Source: reddit

So I thought it'd be cool to put some of these in instead of the Skeld in the background! They actually look a little complicated to draw so I just traced it, and eventually we get this!

image.png

And here's the full timelapse! I decided to put Yellow in the back too and make it look like he's getting sucked into that nebula in the back just to give the piece more depth. I think it works!

Overall, this piece while challenging, turned out really well and I loved the background! And since the last Among Us piece I shared on the subreddit turned out really well, I thought I'd share this one too! And I did not expect the response I got; it was insane! I'm so glad there were mostly wholesome comments on this one and it even got a tag for Quality Content! Not that I'm doing this for upvotes or anything, because I'm really just trying to practise, but it's a pretty good confidence booster and I'm so glad so many people liked my art!

image.png

I haven't done these airplane window pieces in a while but writing these makes me want to try again sometime. I definitely have an idea in the works but I want to make it a set of 3 (for instagram purposes) so we'll see. If you have any ideas do let me know!

Thanks so much for reading!

To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Check out my previous post in this series!
Art Attack! #91: Sunset Landscape 🌄

Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by the Stick Up Boys Curation team!
Because we love your content we've upvoted and reblogged it!
Keep on creating great quality content!


Follow @stickupcurator for great music and art content!
Have some !PIZZA because...

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@stickupcurator(10/10) tipped @taco.cat (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Congratulations @taco.cat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 1750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21