You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foxy lady watercolor art. Pointillism, ink and watercolor intertwined

in OnChainArt3 years ago

That was a great story about that TV guy. For me it wasn't about overcoming, it was much more mundane than that. My wife @caro-art started with her painting, and all of a sudden we had supplies galore in the house. Got me curious, and it looked so relaxing. She encouraged me, so I tried, and it was fun. Developed into a new hobby from there because it relaxed me, too.

The teacher thing occurred to me much later. During my years in the U.S. there were big box art supply stores all over the place, Michaels, Pearl's, etc.. which I used to go to for my model railroading hobby. I was always quite intrigued by all the colors and materials, but I shied away from investing a few bucks, because it would be a waste of money. Hey, I "knew" I was no good at it.

German schools in my childhood were pretty stern and strict. At least the discipline got me a headstart in STEM and languages. (I'm an engineer.) That I'm also convinced of and I'm grateful for it.

Looking at today's German kids, they have it too easy, and we're turning out mostly snowflakes w/o well rounded basic skills. College students who cant spell worth a sh. and are overwhelmed by the simplest arithmetic. That's statistically proven and the country is falling behind for it. No better artists either, 'cause they mostly skip the classic craft of light, shadow, perspective, ... and head straight for the experimental paint splashing.

I have no idea how to solve this dilemma and how to better teach the teachers.

Sort:  

Germans are known for their very strict to the rules policy. They have a good reputation for following rules. With the VW scandal though we can agree that every nation has mistakes, no one is perfect. I checked your wife's profile, she is super talented, congrats!
Who should teach the teachers? Other teachers....Who should teach them? Dilemma. I guess life will evolve in the natural way and change happens when people are ready for it