Foxy lady watercolor art. Pointillism, ink and watercolor intertwined

in OnChainArt3 years ago

In this drawing I have used the finest watercolors known on the market: Daniel Smith. Appreciated worldwide, they provide you with the best pigment. Although they are expensive, there is nothing on the market for painters just as these colors. Combined with the Arches paper, they are perfect for any artist.
This a drawing of a fox in watercolor and with a bit of a touch of my Faber Castel pencils. I also wanted a bit of dots so I could not stay away from my stippling technique with my 0.1 mm isograph. There is also some ink work involved. Here is a short video I have made for this fox drawing


As always, I start with a freehand sketch. To be honest with you, until I finish the drawing I have no idea of what I’m going to do next haha. I just go with the flow and let my creative juices lead the way.

foxsketch.jpg

I started with my purple as I felt I want to focus on the background first.

foxsketch1.jpg

Then I have changed my mind haha and started to work on the fox. I always thought that capturing animal portraits is one of the toughest thing to do as an artist.

foxsketch2.jpg

foxsketch3.jpg

foxsketch4.jpg

I continued with (lots of) some stippling. When I do pointillism on an artwork it allows me to take a break from the composition and just relax. I know it might sound weird, but pointillism is like fresh air when I also decide to do color. Maybe just because it was my comfort zone it must be the reason why it feels rewarding and relaxing to do this in almost all of my artworks

foxsketch5.jpg

Time for a bath foxy! I like how coloured blobs of ink mixed with water look on paper. So I decided to give it a go and make my background stand out with my typical soft add of ink. You have to let these sit a day or two until the paper fully absorbs them.

foxsketch6.jpg

I have listed this on @nftshowroom as one single unique edition for sale
https://nftshowroom.com/creativemary/gallery/creativemary_watercolor-foxy_foxy-lady

FINAL PICTURES OF THIS ARTWORK

DSCF2956.jpg

DSCF2958.jpg

DSCF2961.jpg

DSCF2964.jpg

DSCF2966.jpg

DSCF2969.jpg

DSCF2970.jpg

DSCF2971.jpg

DSCF2980.jpg

foxynormal.jpg

I enjoyed very much creating this and as usual it was a healing experience to let myself be the artist that I am : me, colors and brushes.
Have a great day and toodle loo!

DSCF2944.jpg

Sort:  

I like this small fox work 🍷🤗👌👌👌 uh... I hope you make more them. And if you want I have one cool fox photo what you can use to make next art 👀🍷👌👌👌👌

Thanks a lot! You photograph foxes? Really? That's so cool! Show me some pictures

I hope you can use them in next art work 👌🍷

img_0.5808970546606058.jpg

img_0.3640244355426223.jpg

Stunning photos! You have captured it so beautifully! Thank you!

Thank you 😅👌 I have snakes also 👀👌👌👌

She is so cute, your little fox lady. And I can see you're enjoying your new Albrecht Dürers 😀 Great job! And there I was, thinking I was crazy for putting all those little texture doodads over my watercolors. So glad I'm not alone in this. 🤣

Thanks so much! I think we can agree that doodads on watercolor can be considered the cherry on the top. It makes it unique as leaving it just plain is something everybody can do lol. So you are not alone, actually you are unique and so am I. I like to try new stuff outside the comfort zone, it doesn't have to follow the textbook as long as I feel alright doing it.

Mary, I'm in my sixties now and painting only since 2019, a total of only about 120 pictures. EVERYTHING is still out of my comfort zone 🤣

I know you will ask, so I save you the typing. Why so late in life? Because I had a real asshole of an art teacher as a child who told me I would never amount to anything in art. And it stuck!

What a great age to start stuff! The mind is ripe, the self confidence is way better! I think that we grow so much and that aging should be seen as a treasure as we all know how our mind worked in our teens lol.
Mean stuff teachers said almost always stick because we are so young and we have no awareness of our potential and own value. So we tend to believe what others say. I also had some teachers like these. I congratulate you for overcoming that. Your story reminds me of Steve Harvey. the TV guy. He had a serious stuttering problem and one of his teachers laughed and mocked him for wanting to become a TV anchor. Now that he is a millionaire and successful he confessed that he sends a TV every year to that particular teacher to allow her to watch him on TV every time. Hahaha imagine the suffering of that teacher's ego. She deserved it for mocking a child's dream. Who knows where that teacher is now, but that mocked child is now a millionaire. So from that story and yours I learn that we should always follow our dreams no matter what the naysayers say.

That was a great story about that TV guy. For me it wasn't about overcoming, it was much more mundane than that. My wife @caro-art started with her painting, and all of a sudden we had supplies galore in the house. Got me curious, and it looked so relaxing. She encouraged me, so I tried, and it was fun. Developed into a new hobby from there because it relaxed me, too.

The teacher thing occurred to me much later. During my years in the U.S. there were big box art supply stores all over the place, Michaels, Pearl's, etc.. which I used to go to for my model railroading hobby. I was always quite intrigued by all the colors and materials, but I shied away from investing a few bucks, because it would be a waste of money. Hey, I "knew" I was no good at it.

German schools in my childhood were pretty stern and strict. At least the discipline got me a headstart in STEM and languages. (I'm an engineer.) That I'm also convinced of and I'm grateful for it.

Looking at today's German kids, they have it too easy, and we're turning out mostly snowflakes w/o well rounded basic skills. College students who cant spell worth a sh. and are overwhelmed by the simplest arithmetic. That's statistically proven and the country is falling behind for it. No better artists either, 'cause they mostly skip the classic craft of light, shadow, perspective, ... and head straight for the experimental paint splashing.

I have no idea how to solve this dilemma and how to better teach the teachers.

Germans are known for their very strict to the rules policy. They have a good reputation for following rules. With the VW scandal though we can agree that every nation has mistakes, no one is perfect. I checked your wife's profile, she is super talented, congrats!
Who should teach the teachers? Other teachers....Who should teach them? Dilemma. I guess life will evolve in the natural way and change happens when people are ready for it

Well, he's a lovely little fellow, this fox. I have to say I'm rather partial to drawing animals, they always illicit joy in the process and end result.

I've not tried this brand of watercolours @creativemary I'll have to check them out. I do much digitally now, but I always have some watercolour and pencils with me as I stop and sketch or go out on the shore and water colour fairly often, it's easier with the sun (the screen not a happy companion to the sunshine)

Thanks for sharing this :)

Hey!Thanks so much for stopping by! Well I admire you because you can do digital art, it is on my bucket list to get an Ipad and start doing some of that too. I tried on a phone with a drawing app but my eyes were so tired and I stopped. But what I think it's amazing about the digital is the infinite amount of colors haha, so so many
To paint on the go is kinda awesome, I have not tried it yet. Are there any watercolor portable palettes that you can use?

 3 years ago  

I agree with you about pointillism is like relaxing! You don't have to think much or plan, you just do repetitive dots and let your hand do your thing so it's like breathing haha. I agree with the animals' portrait being harder than a human's. I could say they have their own shit that you need to capture and you'll need to connect to them to be really able to get their 'vibes' ya know.

Nice work! :D

Thanks girl! Yup, repetitive dots makes me just go on autopilot and it helps me slow down my mind. In some moments I even forget to think...which is so cool because it feels like a long mental nap. I always think of something so having a switch off buton through art/pointillism is very needed. I am fascinated by animals and I find realistic portrait art to be quite a challenge for any artist

Well I have no knowledge of water colours but you must be right because this fox is brilliant!

Thanks so much!

I love the way you blurred the purple color and it seems to be a pointillism technique, I congratulate you, you have an enormous talent...😃
I take this opportunity to give love to your post 🙂

MALOMI LOVE ❤️

Hello! Thanks so much! I actually loved to do the blurring as well as I thought that leaving it plain purple wouldn't have matched my style. Your compliments are so sweet, thanks so much. Hugs and love to you too!

This is absolutely stunning @creativemary! So impressive with all the tiniest details! You are a master and a true inspiration! Congratulations on an amazing artwork! Woah!!!

Hey girl! Thanks so so much, coming from you it is a really awesome compliment! I know, details details! I channel my perfectionism into my art so it would leak less in my personal hahaha. Hugs and love!

What a great picture! I love how calming it is for you. My brother drew and genes are funny things. Out of 9 kids, three have exceptional talent in the art, and the rest of us struggle to see who can make the best stick figure. :)

I love watching your step by step. I need to come back over here. I just realize this week you were back! Hugs!

Artistic genes definetely help for sure! I guess that we all have unique talents and painting was one of mine. Hugs to you too Denise and thank you for stopping by!


Hello @creativemary… I have chosen your post about “-Foxy lady watercolor art. Pointillism, ink and watercolor intertwined-” for my daily initiative to re-blog - vote and comment…
26.jpg
Let's keep working and supporting each other to grow at Hive!...

Thank you very much! Hugs!

Beautiful foxy! I love them so, though they try to steal my rabbits....

Hahaha thank you! They are really smart. I saw some videos of them playing and being super friendly with people, they are actually cute!

Congratulations @creativemary! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 7750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP