Thoughtfulness & Kindness from Aunt / Cooked and Packed Food

in Life Stories2 years ago

After my husband's Grandmother's sudden death, followed by wake service and funeral, and then followed by staycation which my friends and I planned earlier for the kids, I needed to rest from blogging for one week. I gave myself time to just be being there at real life, for home and family, also to process my own thoughts. Everything happened one after another, and I just needed to go slow for awhile. I still did my curation work here but I couldn't bring myself to blog.

I am feeling better today and wanted to blog on my Aunt's thoughfulness and kindness during the tough times when my husband was infected by Covid19 and being quarantined. It was not easy when husband was not around for a couple of days. So basically, I needed to cook and to pack food for him everyday. Sometimes once a day, sometimes twice a day. That time, I did not feel tiredness because when a responsibility came with commitment, you somehow had new-found strength.

I went to visit my Aunt that time on usual Saturday and she told me not to waste much time. Normally, I would sit down, had lunch with her while chitchatting with her, helped her pay bills or read letters if there were any, but for that particular Saturday, she advised me to pack the food and to eat at home with boys. She knew I needed to pack food and send to husband too, so in a way she was rushing me to pack for him so that he could eat on time before medication.

So she started packing the food into tiffin carriers and stainless containers for us. She cooked so much that surely enough for my side for lunch and dinner as well as for husband's quarantine side. She said then I did not need to cook that day and could rest. I felt so touched.

She even prepared a special lunch box to pack for my husband, ease him from scooping this and that, just opened the lunchbox and ate everything. A small container for healthy soup for him as well. My Aunt was so thoughtful.

Then, everything was arranged nicely into a big bag for me to carry home. I forgot to take photo of the big bag because I was carried away by her gestures of kindness.

Her Meal Spread

She cooked these for us, this round all Chinese cuisine. Super healthy and delicious.

Firstly, it was a huge amount of stewed chicken. This was always her signature dish, when we had this, everyone could eat big plate of rice. She bought whole chicken, deboned the chicken, cut them into pieces, also slightly smacked the meat to make it tender. And cooked the chicken under slow fire over stove, properly seasoned with soy sauce, oyster sauce, salt and pepper as well as using her chicken broth to make the gravy super flavourful.

Secondly, her stir-fry mixed vegetables. It had cauliflower, broccoli, capsicum, cherry tomatoes, peas, carrots and mushrooms in it. Very tasty and delicious meal. So colorful and packed with nutrients.

Lastly, her signature herbal pork ribs soup boiled with Chinese herbs, dried longan, red dates and other healthy ingredients, which this round, she also added wonton in, because she said we needed to eat more, especially the husband to regain strength to recover. Very refreshing soup. (I remembered to take this photo when I poured the soup all into a bowl at home.)


After arranged nicely all the tiffin carriers and containers, she quickly sent me away, saying I needed to quickly send the food to husband, and then I could go home and eat with the boys. She did not want us to go hungry and mentioned to me that I could chat with her next week. What would I do without you, Aunty. I reallyyyy felt so blessed and comforted by her gesture of love. Such thoughfulness and kindness and loving. We all ate our lunch and dinner, feeling satisfied. Always blessing and praying for my Aunty to live long, she said hopefully she gets to see my eldest son got married.


.
.
.
.
.
📷📷📷
All images are mine unless stated otherwise, photos are taken using my phone Hua Wei P20.

img_0.8886483932437368
img_0.3064244915296772Hello there, I am the lady behind this little space of my blog in this awesome vast Hive blockchain. Often, when I blog, read, curate and get to know new people, I feel that I am no longer stucked inside the four-wall of my apartment, but rather, I am travelling all across the world, just like a little heaven-on-earth experience. Hope you enjoy reading this snippet of my life as I enjoy exploring yours. Thank you for swinging by.

img_0.6393366722164829

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I love your posts about your generous Auntie and her wonderful cooking. Wish I could taste it, too, rather than just admire the pictures.

Welcome to lifestories!