My gender expression / Mi expresión de género

in Life Stories2 years ago

COVER-Gender-expression.jpg

Gender expression is a recurring theme in our times. No longer should it be assumed that because a person looks somewhat feminine they are a woman, or because they look somewhat masculine they are a man. No longer should the treatment of "she" or "he" be used lightly, but ideally we should ask each individual which gender they like to be treated as.

La expresión de género es un tema recurrente en nuestra actualidad. Ya no se debe suponer que porque una persona se vea un tanto femenina es una mujer, o al verse un tanto masculina es un hombre. Ya no se debe usar a la ligera el trato de “ella” o “él”, sino que idealmente debemos preguntar a cada individuo con cual género le gusta ser tratado.

CRW_0586 copia.jpg

I am very conscious of this in my daily life, and I find myself constantly asking for pronouns to offer respect to everyone around me. Even so, I have also inadvertently screwed up a lot of times and have had to offer my heartfelt apologies.

Yo soy muy consciente de ello en mi cotidianidad, y me encuentro constantemente preguntando pronombres para ofrecer respeto a todos los que me rodean. Aun así, sin querer, también he metido la pata montones de veces y me ha tocado ofrecer mis disculpas muy apenada.

P_20200207_150645_BF-(2).jpg

The good thing is that these people whose gender I have confused have always been very understanding of me. My apologies have been enough for them to overcome the awkward moment and we have progressed in our friendship as if nothing had happened. I dare say that on this planet there are a majority of us who are aware that recognizing gender is not an easy task, and that humanity is still very novice in differentiating sex from gender.

Lo bueno es que estas personas cuyo género he confundido siempre han sido muy comprensivas conmigo. Mis disculpas les han bastado para superar el momento incómodo y hemos progresado en nuestra amistad como si nada hubiera pasado. Me atrevo a decir que en este planeta somos una mayoría los que estamos conscientes de que reconocer el género no es una tarea fácil, y que todavía la humanidad es muy novata en diferenciar el sexo del género.

P_20180922_200643_1_BF_p.jpg

As long as there is respect and a willingness to learn, there are no misunderstandings.

Now, I started this topic because, as for myself, I take the matter extremely lightly.

Mientras haya respeto y ganas de aprender, no hay malentendidos.

Ahora, comencé este tema porque, en cuanto a mí misma, me tomo el asunto extremadamente a la ligera.

Niobe-60.jpg

I like to think that, regardless of gender, we are all equally valuable. I think it's just as beautiful and important to be a woman as it is to be a man or to be trans or to be a non-binary person. I think that all human beings, regardless of our gender, have virtues and flaws, and in the long run we should not care which gender we are recognized by.

Me gusta pensar que, sin importar el género, todos somos igual de valiosos. Me parece tan bonito e importante ser mujer como ser hombre o ser trans o ser una persona no binaria. Pienso que todos los seres humanos, sin importar nuestro género, tenemos virtudes y defectos, y a la larga debería darnos igual por cual género nos reconocen.

IMG_5183.jpg

At the end of the day, when really getting to know someone, there is no label that counts. If we want to develop a physical or affective relationship with someone, a term like "man" or "woman" is little that will tell us about that person, you'll have to see them to find out how they like to dress, or check their instagram to find out if they usually wear makeup, or talk on the phone for a while to find out if they use a high-pitched or low-pitched voice timbre.

A fin de cuentas, al conocer realmente a alguien, no hay etiqueta que valga. Si queremos desarrollar una relación física o afectiva con alguien, un término como “hombre” o “mujer” es poco lo que nos dirá de esa persona, tendrás que verle para saber cómo le gusta vestirse, o revisar su instagram para saber si acostumbra a maquillarse, o hablar un rato por teléfono para descubrir si usa un timbre de voz agudo o grave.

Niobe-1.JPG

Each person is a complex and unrepeatable combination of factors! Because of this, my use of gender for myself is all the same to me. No gender makes me feel more comfortable than any other, nor does any offend me. I would lovingly accept the use of the pronoun "he", or "she", or "they" with me, without complication. In fact, one day I was joking that they could even use the pronoun "it" because I'm an alien.

Cada persona es una compleja e irrepetible combinación de factores! Debido a esto, mi uso del género para mí misma me da soberanamente igual. Ningún género me hace sentir más cómodo que otro, ni ninguno me ofende. Aceptaría con cariño que usen conmigo el pronombre “él”, o “ella”, o “elle”, sin complicación alguna. De hecho, un día estaba bromeando con que hasta podían utilizar el promombre “eso” porque soy un alien.

IMG_20180131_104039.jpg

I admit that throughout my life there are more times that I have identified with the " she/women" gender, but I am happy to admit that from time to time I have my opportunities where I feel like a man, or where I prefer to express an androgynous appearance and attitude.

Admito que a lo largo de mi vida son más las veces que me he identificado con el género “mujer/ella”, pero me alegra reconocer que de vez en cuando tengo mis oportunidades en que me siento un hombre, o en que prefiero expresar una apariencia y actitud andróginas.

IMG_20200727_120339_811.jpg

So, to conclude, I tell you that my genre is: whatever you like the most! I leave it to the imagination and creativity of those who want to interact with me. Whatever pronoun you use, whatever term you use, whatever label you use, what I am cannot be defined with certainty, because all living beings are in constant change.

Entonces, para concluir, les cuento que mi género es: el que más les guste! Se lo dejo a la imaginación y creatividad de los que quieran interactuar conmigo. Usen el pronombre que usen, el término que usen, la etiqueta que usen, de cualquier forma lo que soy no puede definirse con certeza, porque todos los seres vivos estamos en constante cambio.

Galipán-12.jpg

P_20190520_215547_1_BF_p.jpg

Niobe-28.jpg

Tell-tale-heart-2.jpg

Witchy-divider-1.png

If you found this post entertaining or interesting please don't forget to Vote and Reblog 💞

Si te pareció entretenido o interesante este post por favor no olvides Votar y hacer Reblog 💞

Thanks for visiting Ni de Cabeza! Come back soon!

¡Gracias por visitar Ni de Cabeza! ¡Vuelve pronto!

🍀🦄🎢


Firma-nidecabeza.jpg

Social-Media-1080.jpg


Créditos - Credits

FIRMA y MARCA / SIGNATURE and BRANDING
Escobita voladora / Flying broom - Vector de Dibujos animados creado por brgfx - www.freepik.es
Sombrero con cuaderno / Witch hat with book - Vector de Libro creado por brgfx - www.freepik.es
Castillo volador / Flying castle - by my best in collections - see and press 👍🔖 en Pixabay
APLICACIONES / APPS USED
Snow
Adobe photoshop
DeepL free version

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, you are a brave person, we are interested in reading and we will be waiting for your next life stories.

Thank you very much!!