From " Kharkiv, Ukraine " to " Warsaw, Poland " - War Story

in Life Stories2 years ago (edited)

It's been around 4-5 days I have been staying in Poland, trying to figure things out. My mind is still not in shape, I am confused and I can't think properly nowadays. Because of so much confusion and sudden changes, I feel devastated and I am completely blank.

My journey from Kharkiv, Ukraine to Warsaw Poland was not so easy. Although, many people, my relatives, and friends flooded my social media asking why I was still in Kharkiv, why I hadn't left my house to be safe. It's very easy to discuss or to explain to someone but I bet many of them had no idea what I was going through. Even my dad also lost faith in me at some point. I am really grateful to this hive community, some Hive people are so special and I guess my thanks are not enough for them. Not only did they worry about me or tried to stay connected to me always, but also they tried every possible way to rescue me from Kharkiv. Should I mention their name? Later... That will be another story...


20220305_064145.jpg

20220305_075236.jpg

20220305_075301.jpg


4th March:


After considering a lot of pros and cons, I had decided that I can't live in the city anymore. Kharkiv is the second-largest city of Ukraine which is located northeastern part of the country. The Russian border is very close to my place which was 41km away, basically the border of Belgorod city, Russia. So, to make a journey from northeast to the west was not so easy. And in this war condition, the entire journey was impossible. I also waited for my embassy team or red-cross team for the rescue process but there was nothing. The Northeast part of Ukraine stayed abandoned for a while until now during this war situation and evacuation was almost impossible until you catch the train of your own if you are lucky. On the other hand, half of the city was already destroyed at that moment, a lot of civilians got killed, schools, residential buildings were under attack; so I finally decided to start my journey to the west, Lviv no matter what...

It was 4th March, early morning, the sun was about to rise and the curfew was about to finish. Around 6.00 am, I have ordered a taxi to VOKZAL (railway station) but the taxi came so late. During war situations, it's not so easy to get a taxi and the price of the taxi was very high (still very expensive). From Kharkiv to Lviv, the evacuation train was the only available transportation (only women, children, and old people allowed). So, around 7.00 pm I went to the railway station with Gigi and I was shocked.

There were thousands of people trying to enter the station (basically entrance) and the platform was far away from the entrance. It was overcrowded and huge noise and rush. People were pulling each other, pushing each other just to enter the station. I was so nervous because I have never seen such a crowd in my life. Somehow I have managed to reach the entrance of the station but the security guard, volunteers didn't let me in. They said, your dog is not allowed on the train and you have to leave your dog here. On the other hand, Gigi was so afraid that she started jumping around. I was holding her in one hand and the other hand was holding my bag. Well, I said I can't leave my dog here but they said, no matter what, your dog is not allowed on the train, go alone to the platform by leaving your dog or go home with your dog.

I started crying a lot and the whole people were starring at me, I only remember one thing, I just said, if I go, I will take my dog with me otherwise no...

Another fact, because of so many phone calls, my phone battery died and I lost all the connection with the world. No internet, no phone. I asked a lot of people to help me somehow charge my phone but nobody cared even I saw some foreigners around me, when I asked them for help, they just said, leave your fucking dog here. Your life is more important. After hearing such negativity and seeing such a station environment, I decided to go back home.


Well, there was no taxi available at the station who was ready to take me home. Most of the drivers were saying, oh you have a dog, we can't let you in our car, bla bla. After spending 5 hours at the station, I returned home like a failure.

After reaching home, I have found a number of a volunteer so I decided to connect with her. I told her my situation and she promised me that she will help me to get out of Kharkiv with my dog. Without her help, I wouldn't be able to make it to Poland today, even I will never ever take my dog with me on this journey.


20220305_064147.jpg


5th March:


The night of 4th March was scary, an air attack happened but I was determined. I rearranged my backpack and decided to keep it low weight so that I can easily jump onto the train. I also charged my phone so that I don't lose any connection and also kept in contact with the volunteer as well.

5th March, 4.30 am. I woke up early, prepared myself for the hard and rushed, uncertain travel destination knowing that anything can happen anytime. I have never been to another city of Kharkiv so I had no idea what I was doing. At 5.45 am, the volunteer came to pick me and my dog up and she took us to the railway station. The station was empty, not many people were not there so she showed me a place and told me to stay there until she comes back.

We waited for an hour and finally, she came back and took us to the platform. Meanwhile, I was looking at the station and was trying to say goodbye... I was sad, upset but also wanted to find a safe place for my dog and for myself. I had enough devastating nightmares and life when I was in Kharkiv...

Finally, the train arrived and the volunteer helped me and Gigi to get on the train. The last word she said, goodbye and I will be waiting for you. I cried hard, trust me I cried seeing my city for the last time and was dishearted leaving the city.


20220305_075309.jpg

20220305_064150.jpg


Finally, the train had started moving, way to Lviv...

To be continued...

All the photos used are owned by the author, they were taken on march 5th, 2022.

Sort:  

Are you already safe in Poland? Do you have any place to stay in Warsaw or your further way figured out? Do you need any kind of assistance by Polish person? I live in southern Poland but maybe there are any ways I could help you?

Please note Polish telecommunication company Plus helps Ukrainian people with almost free mobile phones given when the passport is shown to them.

Currently, I have a place in warsaw but I have to leave it on the 13th of march morning. I am looking for a new place in Warsaw or near Warsaw... I have got Simcard today...How can I contact you?

Please find and text me on Discord at @deepresearch#3235 or at twitter @deepresearch_ or at Telegram if that works for you at @Przemyslawo please leave me hint here when you'll text me, just in case I'd miss it.

I'll give you my phone number and possibly I might be able to help you.

Awesome, nice. Ppl like u are needed short term.

img_0.8670760489758723.jpg

Wow. They demanded you to leave your dog.... That's mean.... Just heartless. I get it. But still

And you got sadly out. With your dog...

img_0.4417143152492385.jpg

Thank you very much for your blog and letting us know that you are safe.

Me and my puppy dog are hoping the best for you and your dog.

And we're also hoping that peace comes again soon.

I never thought, that the WW2 painful stories I've heard from my parrents would ever come true with my children and grandchildren! I'm very greatful to all in EU, those who kindly hosted our victims of war. They are real friends in need! I stay in Odessa. And as it's in very old song:" We will all be free!... We will overcome someday!!!"

That volunteer is an angel. I hope you do get to meet up with them again in better times. Keep looking after yourself. It was so good to hear from you. ❤❤❤

Yes, without her, I couldn't even get out of the city, she helped me a lot like an angel. Thank you so much for all of your support...

No problem and I'm so glad she did!

Those people may not understand how much you love Gigi. I had a pet when I was a kid. It was a parrot. Glad to know your dog is with you even in this terrible situation. From the bottom of my heart, I thank that angel volunteer. God bless her and her entire family!

Thank God you were able to leave the city where you were, it has not been easy and probably will be for a while, but the important thing is that you and your doggy son are fine.

So happy to hear that you're in Poland now. Glad that you and Gigi Made it 🧡🧡🧡

I understand your love for Gigi. They are pure love. I have a cat, but I also like dogs. I'm glad you're both safe!

I wish I could do more than send hugs and hope. I am so glad that you and Gigi are safe.

Reading all the things that had to happen to be able to get out of that hell with Gigi, I have to thank the heavens for that volunteer, she was an angel who provided the necessary help at the necessary time.

Must have been terrible but it was also the only choice to stay alive. Good thing you got help to take your dog with you.

I hope you can sort things out somehow and try to put your life in order slowly. Going back to Kharkiv is not an option unfortunately. Stay strong!

I saw some foreigners around me, when I asked them for help, they just said, leave your fucking dog here. Your life is more important.

Wow, those people are heartless.

I'm glad you are safe now. If you plan to start from scratch in Poland, I would suggest Krakow. It's a lovely city and probably a better place to live than Warsaw. 😉

you strong hive sister , really you are very strong , inshah Allah you will soon see your city again, and stay happy, stay strong,,, inshah Allah

Be safe, @priyanarc.
God bless you!

Thanks dear, I hope you are doing great...

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Glad you are out of Ukraine. You're safer there now. Keep faith and stay in faith. And stay strong. Don't be afraid to ask for any help. Hopefully, things will get better for you soon. Take care and be safe.

Congratulations @priyanarc! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 420000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 430000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP


~~~ embed:1502560912024260609 twitter metadata:S2VubnlDcmFuZXx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS9LZW5ueUNyYW5lL3N0YXR1cy8xNTAyNTYwOTEyMDI0MjYwNjA5fA== ~~~

~~~ embed:1502925860432760832 twitter metadata:ZGhhZml6MzR8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vZGhhZml6MzQvc3RhdHVzLzE1MDI5MjU4NjA0MzI3NjA4MzJ8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I'm glad you made it out of Kharkiv safely. I hope you find a place where you can take a breather to gather your thoughts.

Happy to hear you are in Poland with Gigi! I hope you will have a little less stress now and you can make plans for your next step. Always wishing you all the best!

Oh dear, what you are going through is living hell. But now you are safe. And you have Gigi.
So glad you have the help from that volunteer.
Big hug❤❤❤

Dude holp up there, we are all with you! With Ukraine!

Of course you would never leave Gigi behind, how cruel are they to try to make you do it 😥 How did the rescuer arrange for her travel? I'm glad you are both safe - never give up hope that you will be able to go home one day.

I hope someday there will be exemplary punishment for all of this. I pray for you and for all those who are suffering in this and in all the wars of the world. I pray for the world.
Stay safe, stay strong.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

I wish many blessings to you and to that wonderful volunteer who helped you! We need more people like her in the world! Thank you for telling us the story of how you & Gigi made it to safety! 💜

Glad to hear that you are in a better situation with Gigi. Having a dog is an extra layer of difficulty but there are people who understand this and will help you out. Stay safe and keep yourself healthy. There are still many good people in the world.

I am speechless ... I realized that you had to leave Ukraine. I am immensely sorry

A terrible journey nobody wants to go through! It is good to see that at least you got out from that war zone.

Stay safe and alive!

Today is the 13th, so I am guessing that you are leaving Warsaw today. I missed you and this post, but, have been thinking of you. The details are devastating, especially with everything going on around you.

As terrible as life is right now, I feel like you are safe. It is so nice to see people stepping up to help you, it never fails to amaze me the kindness of strangers. (then again, I have to forgive those that were a little rude, they were probably scared also, but, that certainly wasn't helpful)

You have been very brave and I hope you were able to talk to your father and family. I am not sure where you are going from here, but, hopefully, I will hear from you soon. Please take care today and know you and Gigi are in my thoughts and prayers.

My prayers for everyone on the Blockchain suffering such dire circumstances! I pray that calm will return and people can be at home and in peace.

It might still be difficult but you are a strong woman. And now at least you are in a safer place! That is the most important.

I'm so sorry you went through all this nightmare. I feel you, my dear... Hope it's all quiet now around you. Try to find a reason, and live on, day by day. My love and hugs, dear Priyan 🤗🤗🤗

I feel your pain. I'm an American expat who was living in Kharkiv and my journey to Warsaw from 28 Feb to 3 Mar was... well, "interesting."

Glad you made it out of there safely.

Every detail is very touching, thank God you counted on that kind volunteer who relieved your devastated part by the attitude of those who were indifferent, well they were also in a vulnerable situation in Kharkiv and maybe they still are if they have not left Ukraine. For them, too, we must pray, everyone is important. Thank God things have turned out well for you and Gigi in the midst of the tragedy that plagues that side of the world. You are still on my mind, I look forward to hearing from you. Hugs and blessings my friend.

Hi! Much Love & Strength to you, follow your heart. I am so happy for you you cared so much about taking your dog. You are both on this journey together, she will be the best team you have.
Peace & Find the stillness in yourself, you are home anywhere on this beautiful planet.
The world is changing, and we are all going to meet in the new Earth.
<3

I can only pray and hope help is there on the 13th, but I am proud of your stong character