A Day as a Chess Exhibitor

Hey guys,

A couple of days back I got a voice call from the principal of one of the schools my chess academy handles. The principal informed me about the school's plan to organize an exhibition class setup for the newcomers in the school also known as the school newbies, telling them about the extracurricular activities the school has installed for them for this new session, and luckily chess was a major part of it. Then, this got me thinking about how will I handle it at the same time give the kids premium quality in order to get them hooked and interested in learning chess. And as there is a wrong information circulation in which my chess academy is trying to eradicate, that chess is boring. So, In other words, I had to figure out the best possible way to sell chess and not just to adults, but to kids who are really smart.

IMG_20220909_115721_918.jpg

IMG_20220909_122651_211.jpg

NEXT

I had to do what any good manager in my position would do, pass the message across to your team. So I reached out to @blackavalon @samostically @wildthoughts and @crazychess, informing them about the upcoming exhibition class being organized by one of our schools. Then, I sourced their opinion on things and how best we could deliver. This wasn't much of a stress for my teammates since they are all chess players filled with smart minds.

As I anticipated we were able to come up with a brilliant way to sell our services to the new students of the school. The team came up with the idea that we give them a spice of how chess can change their life for good by playing a documentary of how chess changed a young boy's life and not just any young boy but a boy with cerebral palsy.

The D-day arrived and we were all excited because chess has always been something we find amusing and easy to teach. Everybody got kitted up in our branded company outfit, looking sharp and ready to deliver, although @samostically was unable to attend due to his recent tournament, his heartfelt presence was missed by all.

We were given a total of fifteen minutes to deliver, five minutes to set up and the remaining ten minutes talking to the kids. After setting up, I took the floor as my teammates played the documentary in the background

IMG_20220909_122417_027.jpg

IMG_20220909_122228_723.jpg

IMG_20220909_122359_117.jpg

IMG_20220909_122137_564.jpg

IMG_20220909_122239_663.jpg

It was so much fun as we spoke about the benefit of chess, and how it helps to boost

  • Self-confidence within oneself.
  • Encourages good sportsmanship and healthy compettion amongst
    opponents.
  • Gives the opportunity to meet smart people and like minds.
  • Creates the avenue to showcase your talent and smartness.
  • And most importantly gives you the chance to change your life for good.

The best part about having an awesome team like the one I have, is the fact that I don't have to rely on only my strength in delivering every thing. After five minutes of talking to the kids and another three minutes of watching the documentary, my teammate @crazychess came in to round it up and I most admit, he did a fantabulous job.

IMG_20220909_122940_932.jpg

IMG_20220909_122939_113.jpg

In the end, I'm proud to see the exhibition was a success and thanks to all the hands that came onboard. As expected we took a group picture and teased one another about our chess strength.

IMG_20220909_124217_490.jpg

IMG_20220909_124219_124.jpg

IMG_20220909_124213_465.jpg

Sort:  

How nice that you had the opportunity to hold this presentation in the school, and bring chess closer to the students. Well done! 👍

Thank you so much. It's my job and I'm happy to share it here on Hive

It was an amazing experience and I am glad I got to experience it with you guys.

As usual brother.

Congratulations @iammanythings1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I hope to join you guys soon. Good job!

Come on bro

congratulations to you and all your team that support you in this beautiful activity, what you comment on in your post is a real challenge.

Make people see chess fun, at first it seems boring to many, but when they manage to find the true meaning of the game and everything that being a chess player contemplates, the way they see chess will be different, they get excited to learn every day .

I congratulate you again because with this activity the chess family grows.

Thanks Tony and that's the idea to sell the fun part of chess.