You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to beat an IM. / Wie man einen IM schlägt.

in The Chess Communitylast year

Thanks!

That must feel really good.

Yes, of course! But - believe it or not - what matters most for me is to play good and aesthetic chess (that's why I like the immaculacy of chess problems).
In blitz games anyhow it feels most of the time like a fight against myself: I know I can play well, but I also know that most of the time I just don't do it.
Getting older, slower and less able to keep concentration high in a long blitz competition doesn't make things better, and the result is that as much as I like some blitz games now and then, at the same time it leads to some frustration quite often, if I cannot meet the standards set by myself (it's not always easy to be a perfectionist). :-)

96% accuracy, damn, are you human?

Haha, the main trait being a human is to play less constantly than a machine, so in single games it is possible to play rather well, but if you consider a large amount of games we humans are making simply way too many mistakes, especially when it comes to blitz games.

Sort:  

Yeah, I know what you mean with blitz games. I haven't played a tournament in a while but I definitely make a lot more mistakes in 3-2 and 5-0 styles, especially in tournaments, lol. I'm also getting older and slower and sometimes get trashed talked once in a while by ten year olds from around the world. Lots of great Indian players on Lichess too these days, I feel like I mostly play people from India.