You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to beat an IM. / Wie man einen IM schlägt.

in The Chess Community11 months ago

Wow congrats! You defeated an IM 300 rating points above you, that's amazing! That must feel really good. Great game too, Nd2 was a sick move to set up the bishop skewer of the two Rooks. 96% accuracy, damn, are you human?

Sort:  
 11 months ago  

Thanks!

That must feel really good.

Yes, of course! But - believe it or not - what matters most for me is to play good and aesthetic chess (that's why I like the immaculacy of chess problems).
In blitz games anyhow it feels most of the time like a fight against myself: I know I can play well, but I also know that most of the time I just don't do it.
Getting older, slower and less able to keep concentration high in a long blitz competition doesn't make things better, and the result is that as much as I like some blitz games now and then, at the same time it leads to some frustration quite often, if I cannot meet the standards set by myself (it's not always easy to be a perfectionist). :-)

96% accuracy, damn, are you human?

Haha, the main trait being a human is to play less constantly than a machine, so in single games it is possible to play rather well, but if you consider a large amount of games we humans are making simply way too many mistakes, especially when it comes to blitz games.

Yeah, I know what you mean with blitz games. I haven't played a tournament in a while but I definitely make a lot more mistakes in 3-2 and 5-0 styles, especially in tournaments, lol. I'm also getting older and slower and sometimes get trashed talked once in a while by ten year olds from around the world. Lots of great Indian players on Lichess too these days, I feel like I mostly play people from India.